We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Grove Lodging
Save
You added Cedar Grove Lodging to your Saves list
19555 State Route 664 South, Logan, OH 43138 (Formerly Cabins at Cedar Grove)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Logan
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in the Maplewood Cabin. It might be the nicest since it is at the end of the property and we didn't have any headlights or traffic interfering with our stay. When I entered the cabin and it had music playing from the Dish TV, which was the perfect, welcoming touch. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the entire cabin. The hot tub was very secluded and had easy access into the cabin. We enjoyed the fire pit with an amazing supply of wood that we foraged from the surrounding woods.

The location was nice and close to Old Man's cave. It was a little difficult locating in the dark, but that was the worst thing I can say about the place.

Room Tip: Get Maplewood since the other cabin's fire rings were right by the road and they had to deal wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolivar, Ohio
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here on a spur of the moment weekend getaway with another couple. It was last minute and we were only able to stay one night so we had a hard time finding a place to stay on a weekend, on such short notice and for one night (most of the cabins in hocking at a two night policy on the weekends)I called around for rates with other cabins and there were cheaper cabins available but could not accommodate for one night. I called and spoke with Kevin and he was very nice and was more than willing to let us stay for one night . it ended up being $255 w/taxes for the night for the four of us to stay. ( I thought this was a bit high) We stayed at Oldfields which is a very clean two bedroom,one bath which was perfect for us. Everything was very clean and organized, my only two things were even though I am staying in the woods in a cabin I wish the furnishings were a little more modern (just me personally) and I think the chemicals in the hot tub may be off because some of us had chemical rashes the next day. The biggest positive is this place has a great location right by old mans cave and a very quick drive to all the other parks.
We are planning another trip this August to get away just me and my husband and were going to stay here again, but they do not accept pets.... a big bummer and we are bringing our dog along. A suggestion to Kevin and Julie would be to make atleast one of there smaller cabins pet friendly for us pet loving guests.( the two very large cabins do take pets if you have a big group) I wish we could have stayed longer there was so much to do here.

Room Tip: oldfields was a great location with two bedrooms and one bath, was in a good location on the propert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

My husband and I have been going to these cabins for years, and they are under new management as of late summer 2011 (after the "disappointment" review - that was a previous owner). We just stayed here, now called Cedar Grove Lodging, from February 10-12, 2012, and are happy to see they are nice again! We noticed many new upgrades - a new water system (no stinky water), keyless entry, and several new things in the cabin (hot tub, mattress, bedding, towels, kitchen utencils, etc.). The new owners, Julie and Kevin Claus, are very friendly and really care about your stay. They called us the day we arrived to make sure that everything was ok.

We will definitely stay with Cedar Grove Lodging again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had been going there for years and our last stay there was a dissappointment. It started out that the manager called us that morning we were leaving (thank goodness she got a hold of us before we left) to let us know it had change management and the key was in a locked box and gave us the combination. Whe we arrive which was on a Saturday the key was not in the box and we were unable to get in our cabin. We finally got a hold of the manager which she had to get a hold of the housekeeper to give us the key. She was a bit put out because she had plans to go somewhere. I notice we only had towels for 2 night which we were staying 3 nights, so when I ask for towels she snapped at me and said if you would have read the policy, you only get towels for the night your staying , which then I had to say but we are staying 3 nights not 2. The next night we thought we would use the hot tub, and it was not working so once again the housekeeper had to come and look at it. (not a happy camper once again), She says it working now. We go out and the tub smell like a septic tank!!! We couldn't even sit back there on the porch because of the smell. We left a day earlier, and was not even offered one night stay refund. The manager says we will give you 10 percent off the next time, we always got 10 percent off for staying three nights! There are so many nice places to stay at Hocking Hills, so unfortunately we will have to look elsewhere. If the manager could have been a little more understanding and would have compensated us for our misfourtune, I would have probably continued to stay at cedar grove.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigPineLodge, Owner at Cedar Grove Lodging, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
My wife and I recently purchased the Cabins at Cedar Grove property and saw your recent review regarding your stay prior to our ownership. I wanted to provide you an update on the improvements we've made in the short few weeks of ownership.

1. All water treatment systems used on the property have been replaced. The previous owner had failed to perform even basic water treatment maintenance for over 4 years. This ruined all the systems and resulted in untreated water being provided to the cabins.

2. Bees: Several of the units have significant carpenter Bee damage. All units have been sprayed for the bees (something the prior owner failed to do) and the damaged exterior wood will be replaced w/in the next few weeks. All the units will also receive a coat of stain (something the prior owner failed to do over the past 8+ years).

3. Phones: All cabin units now have private phones. The phones were removed by the prior owner in order to save monthly expenses. We have also provided unlimited long distance service as well as internet access on the property.

4. The use of diluted soap has been stopped!!! This made absolutely no sense and again was an attempt to save on expenses.

There are many other improvement that have been made to the furniture, all new linens and towels, new media/TV's, repaired driveways and maintenance of the grounds. We will continue to make improvements over the winter months and plan to have all units upgraded to our much higher standards by the spring of 2012. We have plans to build community areas, trails and expansions into new portions of the property. We replaced the previous cleaning and maintenance staff with people we have trusted in assisting with our other properties for years.

The previous "Cabins at Cedar Grove" property is being merged with other properties we have personally managed for almost 10 years (under the name of "Cedar Grove Lodging"). We believe in actively managing our prosperities vs. having guests dealing with property managers/employees.

As you can see, we are very serious about turning around this beautiful property and sincerely hope you will give us consideration during your next visit to the Hocking Hills areas.

Thanks,

Kevin and Julie Claus
Owners and Managers of Cedar Grove Lodging
(not affiliated with any stays at the Cedar Grove property while is was operating under the name "Cabins at Cedar Grove".)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Grove Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodging

Address: 19555 State Route 664 South, Logan, OH 43138 (Formerly Cabins at Cedar Grove)
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cedar Grove Lodging! Whether you are looking to have a romantic getaway for two or create family memories, we have the perfect Hocking Hills cabin for you! Our cabins offer a variety of amenities such as: breathtaking views of Hocking Hills, hot tubs, HD TVs with satellite and DVD player, wireless internet and much more. Our Hocking Hills cabins are fully equipped and waiting for you! We offer six cabins and three lodges located on two premier properties in the heart of the Hocking Hills region. Our Cedar Grove Retreat property is located just 1/2 mile from Old Man's Cave with over 65 scenic acres. This property has 6 cabins and two lodges accommodating 2 to 79 guests. Big Pine Lodge is a spectacular luxury lodge located on Big Pine Road that comfortably sleeps up to 21 guests. All units are professionally cleaned and have outdoor fire pits, gas grills, hot tubs and free internet and long distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Lodging Ohio/Logan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Grove Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.