We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant Valley Cabins

Pleasant Valley Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pleasant Valley Cabins
14119 Pleasant Valley Rd., Logan, OH 43138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty lodging in Logan
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have been going to the Hocking Hills for over 10 years. We stayed at different places every year for the first 7 years but have had no desire to go anywhere other than Pleasant Valley Cabins for the past 3 years. This year confirmed we will be back again. The cabins are clean and cozy and the setting is peaceful and relaxing. Our kids always say, Let's go home, after a long day of hiking, and they mean, let's go back to the cabin. Thanks so much Peggy and Tom for another great getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PleasantValleyCabins, Owner at Pleasant Valley Cabins, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us multiple times. We certainly appreciate your business and always look forward to your stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked this cabin out of a travel brochure for an anniversary trip. We scoured the brochure but ultimately decided that this would be the perfect place and it was. We were greeted by Peggy, the owner, who was bubbly and friendly and answered all our questions. We do have an SUV so the hill climb wasn't an issue and what awaited us at the top of the hill was more than I had hoped for! It was private and so quiet except for the wind in the trees and the birds. When we stepped in the cabin, we could still smell the wood and the place was sparkling clean. To be safe, we brought a bunch of things we thought we would need, but the cabin is pretty well-stocked and it seems that previous visitors leave things behind for others to use such as dishsoap, plastic bags, paper plates, etc. It was hot the time we were there, but the A/C worked just fine. It was hot upstairs in the loft however. Just an FYI if there are more than two of you.

As another reviewer had mentioned, the bed downstairs was quite uncomfortable but we managed. We mentioned it to Peggy on checkout and she emailed us back that the day we left they went up to investigate and discovered the box spring was broken. A replacement was bought and brought in the same day. The hot tub was immaculate, we had no unwelcome critters in the house, and we actually enjoyed just staying in, relaxing and hanging out. We love Peggy and Pleasant Valley Cabins and I have told my friends and family how wonderful it is there. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PleasantValleyCabins, Owner at Pleasant Valley Cabins, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thanks so much for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My husband and I and our friends spent 4 days in this Hocking Hills cabin. The hot tub was sparkling clean and so relaxing after a day of hiking. The owners were so helpful and friendly. We plan on making this a yearly tradition and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PleasantValleyCabins, Owner at Pleasant Valley Cabins, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we too hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We searched and searched to find a cabin in the Hocking Hills and feel so lucky that we found Pleasant Valley Cabins. The cabin was clean and cozy and felt just like home. We enjoyed sitting on the deck and watching the birds. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PleasantValleyCabins, Owner at Pleasant Valley Cabins, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The hummingbirds and goldfinches are definitely entertaining and beautiful to watch. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Park, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

This was my second stay at Pleasant Valley Cabins, but after this I won't be returning again. The secluded nature of the cabin, fully furnished kitchen, spacious balcony and hot tub are all very nice. We were finishing up day 3 of a four-night stay by relaxing by the fireplace in the evening, when we heard noises in the kitchen. Upon investigation, there were a handful of mice coming up the back of the oven and running over the countertops!! A few even ran onto the stovetop and crawled down under the burners.

When we informed the owners, we were told "Well, you are out in nature and these things happen sometimes." When I voiced concern that I could not share a cabin with mice overnight, she asked whether we lived close enough to just drive home that night (we do not), or whether we'd like them to go to Wal-Mart to buy traps, although they probably couldn't catch all the mice in one night.

In the end, we went to the nearby Holidy Inn Express for the night. The owners did refund our money for the 4th night since we decided to cut our trip short after this experience....but did not refund anything for the 3rd night even though I had to pay $100 for the hotel room. It was very disappointing.

As a lifelong scout, I have done much outdoor camping, backpacking, etc....but when I am paying for indoor accomodations there are certain expectations -- one of which is that it is free of rodents. While I understand it is not a problem that can be instantly cured, I should not have had to pay twice -- once for the cabin and once for the hotel.

As an aside, the bed in the downstairs room is not very supportive or comfortable, and if you have the gas fireplace on the upstairs loft fills up with noxious gas fumes. The loft is fairly uninhabitable unless you open the window.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PleasantValleyCabins, Owner at Pleasant Valley Cabins, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
We're so sorry that your return visit wasn't as enjoyable as your first visit. We can certainly understand that the mice weren't welcome visitors and we worked as fast as we could to get them removed from cabin. We haven't had any issues since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

The cabin is newer and still gives off the "new wood smell" which I find wonderful. I do not have many complaints given the cost of the cabin however, I would say that even though the cabin is nice due to it's newness it did not seem very clean. We found many dead bugs throughout the cabin that could have easley been swept up with a broom or vacuum but instead seemed like they were left there for weeks. The cabin is very secluded atop a tall hill but what anything advertising the cabins fails to mention is how steep the hill is. It was a pain driving a two wheel drive sedan up and down the gravel hill which we had to do many times a day.

Other than my petty complaints the cabin and the stay was wonderful. The owners are very friendly and accommodating and the cabin is nice for the price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PleasantValleyCabins, Owner at Pleasant Valley Cabins, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
We were sorry to hear about the uncomfortable bed but glad that you seemed to enjoy the cabin otherwise. We did just replace the mattress and box springs in the cabin on 6/24/11.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pleasant Valley Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Valley Cabins

Address: 14119 Pleasant Valley Rd., Logan, OH 43138
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty lodging in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If a quiet & relaxing getaway to a secluded, luxury log cabin in the Hocking Hills is what you've been looking for, Pleasant Valley Cabins promises to deliver. Our cabins overlook a large, wooded ravine, filled with birds, wildlife & foliage. Each cabin is over 1000 sq. ft & sleeps 4. Amenities includes: Well equipped kitchen w/ dishwasher, 2 queen beds w/ pillow top mattresses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pleasant Valley Cabins Ohio/Logan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasant Valley Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pleasant Valley Cabins to your Saves list