We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Place

Evergreen Place
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen Place
17846 Buckingham Road, Logan, OH 43138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Logan
Hamburg, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This cabin was cute, with lots of comfortable features. The location was nice, out of the way. We spent mornings relaxing - on the front porch and front yard. After a quick lunch we would head out for the day, hiking and exploring. We would stop for dinner before returning for the evening, as the cabin was a little bit of a drive from town. The nights were finished off with fireflies and hot tub! We were able to make breakfast and lunch at the cabin, as it is stocked with dishes and pots and pans. The frying pan there was not very good, so we didn't try making the pancakes we has planned for one of the mornings. Bed was comfortable, sheets were crisp and clean and towels were nice and soft. One of the reviews mentioned suphar well water, so we came prepared with water for drinking and making coffee. Thanks for heads up on that. The place could use a good spring cleaning - corners, fridge, microwave - the only reason I didn't give it more stars. Over all, we would probably stay here again if were were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, OH
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I live about an hour away from the Hocking Hills and have visited several (6-8) different cabins in our price range. This cabin is by FAR the best we have experienced and we have stayed with Terry & Sharron on at least 5 different occasions.

We LOVE the Pioneer Cabin. Terry & Sharron are always kind, helpful and just good all-around folks.

We bring our own food and don’t leave the cabin for the whole weekend. We enjoy the quiet, the hot tub, the nature, and the wonderfully created cabin. Did you know that this cabin is an original 1800’s cabin which Terry took apart, piece by piece and brought it to the spot where it sits today? He made it so beautiful inside. Using the trees with the bark removed as stair supports was one of the ‘surprises’ he worked into his creation.

The 'review' by some guy named "stubby" was so rude and filled with name calling that I had to create an account with ‘TripAdvisor” to defend the owners. And NO, I am not the owner “stubby”. First, we are NOT “rednecks” and not 'easily impressed by shiny things’. If your hot tub didn't work, did you contact Terry? As far as the tub being ‘dirty’, did you know that they don't have "city water" in the Hocking Hills? The water in the Hocking Hills is all drawn from wells and they do have very high sulfur in the water which contributes to the yellowish tint of the water. Trash? Never saw trash when we were there...views of broken down trailers? Never saw that either…are you sure you have the right cabin? Didn't your mother ever tell you that if you don’t have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all? At the LEAST, don't go throwing around insults and calling people names. By the look of your photo, I could do the same but I won’t stoop to your level “stubby”.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conneaut, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Although I wouldn't call the cabin secluded, it is tucked away in a woodsy out-of-the way area. The road that runs along beside the cabin is not a frequently traveled road, and mostly the people who live on the road are the ones who travel it. My Husband and I absolutely will visit again and will stay if possible @ Evergreen Place. Terry & Sharon were super nice & very Hospitable. We were notified as to when he would come to service the Hot Tub so there would be no surprises. All we had to bring was our clothes, toiletries, food, bug spray. A lovely visit & very relaxing, the cabin is masterfully built & Beautiful; perfect for two adults.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed at the Pioneer Cabin at Evergreen Place for a brief (3-day) getaway. The cabin was reconstructed from an authentic 2-story log cabin, with modern amenities added. It was charming, cozy, and clean, with a full kitchen, gas fireplace in the living room, and a hot tub on the porch. It's up on a wooded hill, very quiet and secluded. The owners were friendly and helpful when making reservations and getting settled, then left us alone to enjoy our stay.

Our main activity on this trip was hiking at the Hocking Hills parks. Evergreen Place is about 30 miles away from Ash cave, a very pleasant, scenic drive. It was great to come back after a long hike, soak our sore muscles in the hot tub, and play board games in front of the fire in the evening (we brought our own, but there's a good selection at the cabin). There's no cell phone reception, TV, or internet, which was perfect for us. The only thing that was a little disconcerting was the kitchen chandelier rattled when people walked around upstairs.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We were planning a last minute girls get-away, and found the search for a place a bit over-whelming. We were lucky enough to book the Pioneer Cabin at Evergreen Place. It was perfect! The cabin was very clean and charming. Terry (the owner) gave us a very informative walk-though. The only negative was the lack of mobile phone reception (which we were prepared for by another reviewers comment) . We are excited to return!

  • Liked — Seclusion
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

While this cabin appears to be nice officially, do NOT expect any privacy when staying here. After our first night, we were enjoying a morning in the hot tub. While getting out of the tub, a truck came up the driveway, even though we thought we weren't going to be disturbed, and we made a dash for the cabin, as we weren't fully decent. While we're running through the cabin trying to get our things gathered, the owner (Terry) gets out of his truck and starts shoveling snow from the walkway. At this point, we are freaking out trying to get fully dressed, and we're having many troubles, as this cabin doesn't even have curtains over the windows. He then proceeds to check levels in the hot tub and add chemicals. We're just stranded in the curtainless cabin, waiting at least 20 minutes for this man to leave.

After this incident, my wife was completely horrified, and she calls to tell him that we didn't know we were going to have him coming up for no reason, and that we were checking out early. We were simply too embarrassed to stay. She says that we need a refund for the remaining two nights, and he says "It's not gonna happen sweetie." He then went on to say "If I would have seen you in the hot tub, I would have backed down the driveway." Shouldn't he let us know that he was going to come? Schedule a time or something. He informs us that he shows up everyday to check on the hot tub. He says that the water was low, and didn't want us ruining a $7000 tub. I've got news for ya. Half the jets didn't work anyhow, so it was barely working to begin with. He also claims that he's responsible for shoveling the walk, even though I signed a piece of paperwork letting him off the hook for any injury that happens on his property. In any case, we told him that it wasn't explained in the rules that our private, secluded cabin came with a randomly appearing stranger to break up our privacy. After refusing to give us a refund, my only option is to call the credit card company and hopefully get a dispute settled. It's simply not fair to charge us for time we were not there, especially after arriving without ANY disclosure.. He completely ruined our entire vacation, causing us to go home 2 days early, not to mention the loss of our prepaid concert tickets for Thursday night (since we missed the show by going home).

We're honest, hard working people who were simply screwed by this place, and while we had been recommending it to people from our previous visit, we will now tell everyone we know to steer clear. It was a nice place, but Terry's response when our privacy was violated was completely uncalled for. There are a hundred other places to stay in Hocking Hills. Find one that isn't Evergreen Place.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Evergreen Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Place

Address: 17846 Buckingham Road, Logan, OH 43138
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Logan
Also Known As:
Evergreen Place Ohio/Logan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evergreen Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Evergreen Place to your Saves list