We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Falls Hiking Trail

Cedar Falls Hiking Trail
Highway 374, Logan, OH
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Activities in Logan
Type: Sports
Attraction details
Elgin, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were disappointed that the falls was just a trickle but that's what happens when you haven't had rain for 4-6 weeks! Certainly not the fall's fault. It was beautiful nonetheless. I highly recommend the hike between Old Man's Cave and Cedar Falls. It's about 4 miles and took us about 75 minutes but there are some beautiful sights that you'd otherwise miss. I can't say the same for the trail between Cedar Falls and Ash Cave. You can skip that. Nothing to see and you're basically just walking a service road. Totally not worth the 2 mile hike.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Loved the trail. The waterfall was just a trickle but it was a wonderful walk. Less traveled than some of the more popular trails.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culloden, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did the Old Mans Cave hike and then hiked on down to Cedar Falls, I think it was about 5 miles and took us 3 hrs. Cedar Falls was very nice but in my opinion it was not as impressive as the other trails but its a great hike, be careful in these areas a man fell while we were there and while he did finally get up and go on his own a person can get hurt in these area, but they are beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, Indiana
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A very scenic, but short hike. We had to postpone this one due to fallen trees being cut up. The hike has stairs & at the end fallen rocks (big ones!) have taken out the bridge across a small creek. We had to squeeze our way past a rock & cliff side. The falls itself is very nice. worth a look.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful and easy access.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

You can park right next to the Falls; climb down about 60 steps in the stairway, (take your time). The Falls is very near the stair way at the bottom, with a stream ankle deep that is fun to wade in. . Get closer to the falls, by walking through the stream, or just stay back by the steps. The High cliff that the water falls from is a beautiful view. For $2.00 you can purchase the Hocking Hills State Park Trail guide that is very useful in the area for hiking- at the visitors center in Logan. It is a colored map of the 6 major hikes in the area and well worth the money, since the trails themselves are not marked very well. You can get to Cedar Falls from Old Man's Cave also, but this is a "very" strenuous hike around 6 miles, but very beautiful. As alway, pack lots of water.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Falls Hiking Trail also viewed

 

Been to Cedar Falls Hiking Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Falls Hiking Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.