We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair to average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Logan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Logan to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Logan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12916 Grey St, Logan, OH 43138   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Logan
Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fair to average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Somehow we were upgraded to a room with a fridge and microwave, despite there weren't that many people in the hotel on a Wednesday night. We were happy though, until we sat then laid on the mattress. How awful for a hotel that is supposedly fairly new? We spent two horrible nights waking up to aching backs because of that terrible mattress, not to mention Mr. Leadfoot in the room above us walking around with lead boots it seemed.

Room Tip: Not sure what to say, because we probably won't be returning to this hotel in the future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
45
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for two nights while attending an event in Athens. The staff is incredibly nice, friendly, and helpful. But the hotel seems a bit dated and showing age. The carpets were badly stained in the halls and public areas as well as in our room. The mattress was fine but we have had nicer ones at other HIE properties; we could feel the mattress tufting through the sheets! We were in a non-smoking room but the smoke from the rooms down the hall filled the hall and eventually we could smell it in our room. The second evening, when we returned late, the A/C-Heater unit in our room was not working, it blew cold air but no heat and with a cold night outside it was getting chilly in the room. The person at the desk tried to help but was not able to do so and the hotel was booked solid so we were stuck. We slept fine with the blankets and such but it was cool in the morning and when our bill arrived we had been charged the full amount which I thought was a bit much given the situation. When we went to check out no one was at the front desk which made it tough to discuss the issue. Which seems to be another issue, the hotel appears to be understaffed when only one person is on duty and every room is booked. We have stayed in other HIE properties and had much better experiences. This was disappointing. I would not say do not stay here but if you are used to HIE being an above average "value" hotel be warned. I was left with the impression that the staff tries very hard but the management/ownership does things on the very cheap. That said, I am fairly certain it is a better choice than the "budget" place down the street or around the corner. But if Lancaster, Columbus, or Athens are within the range of what you are doing you can find better choices in those communities.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The check-in was fast and the staff were very nice. The room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast bar was great. The staff refilled the hot food as soon as it was empty. The pool was clean. The area has a lot to do as far as exploring caves, zip-lining, camping, walking trails and more. The hotel was located by two restaurants that had mexican and barbecue cooking. I would go there again.

Room Tip: Tell the staff your needs before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Well kept, clean comfortable room. Friendly staff. Near to attractions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We saw this hotel from the highway while traveling from Michigan to NC and thought it looked really new and cute. For the trip home we decided to book a layover night here through hotels.com. The price was $99 for a king. Upon arrival, the first thing we noticed was the greasy-smudged front doors. The lobby was cute, covered with litter and hand smudges. The air-conditioner in the elevator did not work. The room appliances were dirty, the bathroom light did not work at all, only two of the 5 lamps in the room worked. When I called the lady at the front desk about the bathroom light she sounded exasperated and said that they didn't even maintenance. Finally the regional manager came to the room and gave us a new key for a new room. Lights work, but it's obvious the owners of this hotel are not committed to keeping it as nice on the inside as it appears on the outside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We headed to Hocking Hills to experience the zip line canopy tour (which I 100% recommend!) and checked reviews before staying at Holiday Inn Express in Logan. Most of the reviews seemed good ones, and they didnt lie.

We arrived about 2:55pm, and went to check in. Was told our room was not ready yet. But it was no biggie, we just went and sight saw for about an hour. When we returned to the hotel, our room still was not ready. But the front desk worker was wonderful, and kind. And after checking on the status of our smoking, king size, jacuzzi room and still finding it not ready, she upgraded us for free to a smoking, king size, jacuzzi, with fridge room. She was very apologetic and extremely kind!

Our room was wonderfully clean! And I am a very picky person when it comes to cleanliness. I was very impressed and happy we had chose this hotel to stay in. And even though Im a smoker, the room smelled clean. (Believe me, I notice. When we stayed for the night, left for the day, didnt open a window and came back, it reeked of OUR smoke. LOL)

We did have a very small problem with the jacuzzi in our room. It just would not work. Less than 5 minutes after my husband called the front desk, they had it working! (It had just popped a breaker)

The reason I didnt give this hotel 5 stars...when we went to bed the 2nd night we stayed, we found a couple of tiny ants on the bed. Only 3. And we searched like crazy freaking out looking for more. I never mentioned this to the staff, it was no big deal as it was only THREE! (Hmm, maybe I should have gave them a heads up though, oops)

Allthough we didnt use the pool, it seemed to be very clean, all though a bit small.

We were on the top floor, so the noise was not a problem for us at all. I never heard a peep from the room beside or across from us.

Every person on the staff we encountered was extremely friendly, and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My Husband chose this hotel based on the great reviews by other Tripadvisor members and we're glad we did. This hotel was clean w/ spacious rooms. The front desk employees were all very friendly and helpful. We booked two queen beds because that was the only option they had available online but when we checked in she offered us a king Bed, which is what we prefer.

They have an indoor pool w/ a hot tub that is open 24 hours. It's not a huge pool but nice and clean, the maximum depth I think was 5'. In the morning they serve a nice but typical breakfast, eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits & gravy, toast/bagels/sweet rolls, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, etc., it's plenty to get your energy up for a nice hike in Hocking Hills.

The Hocking Hills welcome center is less than a mile away, and the entry to Old Man's Cave is approx a 11 mile drive.

We found two antique malls in the area, and Logan has a huge lake for fishing, boating, swimming, etc. which is also not far, about 5min drive, from this hotel. It looked very inviting...

There is a Mexican Restaurant right accross the street that you can walk to, the food was just okay but it was nice to be able to walk on over. Down the street from the hotel, which would be a longer walk, is Millhouse BBQ which we found to be very good. Except we stayed away on Tuesday since it was biker night and the place was packed. We had no problem getting a seat the next night with no reservation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Logan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Logan

Address: 12916 Grey St, Logan, OH 43138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Logan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hocking Hills-Logan Ohio. Conveniently located off of Route 33 exit onto Route 664 , within walking distance to the Millstone BBQ restaurant and bar. Beautiful Lake Logan is just minutes away along with Old Man's Cave and it's numerous waterfalls. If you are traveling on business or pleasure our hotel has something just for you. Wake up with Smart roast coffee at our complimentary smart start breakfast bar. Plan some time to visit the local craft and antique shops. Enjoy our 24 hour heated pool, whirlpool and fitness center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hocking Hills-Logan Ohio also offers weekday specials Sunday through Thursday. The Hocking Hills area has some of the best hunting in Ohio Our spacious guest rooms offer free High speed Internet access, free local phone calls, expanded cable with HBO. Our hotel has all the in room amenities that you come to expect, along with forget me items at our front desk. Our friendly staff is waiting for you to stay smart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Logan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Logan Hotel Logan
Holiday Inn Logan
Logan Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Logan Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Logan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.