We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabins by the Caves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins by the Caves
16680 Collison Road, Logan, OH 43138   |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Repeat customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I just came home from my fourth stay in Hocking Hills this year; the last three were spent in a Cabin by the Caves (McKinley twice and Lincoln once). Both cabins were well-appointed, comfy, reasonably priced, and well-located for a top-notch "glamping" experience. They are located next door to each other off of Rocky Fork Road. The approach is a little tricky but us gals had no problems with a van and SUV. Can't get enough of the area's hiking and good restaurants. The food at the Inn and Spa at Cedar Falls and at the Grouse's Nest (get the smoked gouda/roasted red pepper soup) ...is to die for.
Both pine cabins had cozy fireplaces, outdoor swings, firepits (with pokers), hot tubs and satellite tv. You will need to bring firewood, matches, flashlights, a good map and campfire chairs. Valerie is wonderful to work with - which is probably the biggest reason I am a repeat customer. She was always a phone call away and I really appreciated her dedication and flexibility. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabins8, Owner at Cabins by the Caves, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review about your recent Hocking Hills experience. Our business exists because of the wonderful treasures that the Hocking Hills has to offer, and the eager travelers that seek them. We are thankful that you chose Cabins by the Caves as your lodging accommodations and hope that you will return for many more "glamping" getaways! Happy hiking, and you are correct, the smoked red pepper/gouda soup at the Grouse Nest is FABULOUS! Wishing you a happy and healthy holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Ten of us stayed in the Starry Night recently and we all enjoyed it very much! The cabin is amazing and so are the surrounding woods at this time of year! See photos. The location is secluded and quiet. We only saw about three vehicles on the road during our two-night stay.
The manager greeted us upon arrival to give a few instructions about the thermostat, tv/sattelite controls, the basement fireplace, and hot tub, and what to do with the keys upon departure.
The cabin was clean and ready for us, and everything worked as intended. The floor plan is well-suited for large groups, with space to get away if you need some quiet-time away from the group.
The water has a very mild flavor and aroma of sulphur. The aroma is stronger when the water is hot (shower, etc). None of us noticed it in the coffee and tea made with it, nor did the ice cubes made with it seem to change the flavor of any cold drinks However, you will want to bring bottled water for drinking..
Everyone in the group was impressed with the construction details, it is a truly beautiful log structure! We plan to return at our first opportunity!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabins8, Manager at Cabins by the Caves, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to review the Starry Knight Lodge. We are very pleased to hear that your group enjoyed their recent stay. We hope that you will visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights. beautifully furnished. Expensive but has 4 bedrooms and 4 1/2 baths. Great hot tub surrounded by woods. Lower level (rec room) fireplace doesn't work properly and that room smelled smoky. Do NOT use Mapquest to locate, use hotel's directions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabins8, Manager at Cabins by the Caves, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking a moment to provide your valuable feedback and for sharing your experience at the Starry Knight Lodge. It is our desire that you will return to visit Cabins by the Caves and the beautiful Hocking Hills. For future information, please note that our weekday rates for reservations Sunday-Thursday are greatly reduced from our weekend rates. For spur of the moment getaways and based on availability, we also offer last minute discounts. The lower level fireplace at the Starry Knight has been inspected and it is an operational fireplace. We do remind guests that the cabin is sealed very tightly (construction completed September 2011) and that a window or slider should be cracked while in use. We do extend our apololgies, on occassion we may have guests that forget. The cabin does offer alternative fireplaces on the first floor great room, and outside deck. We highly recommend that our guests use the directions provided to them at the time of reservation. MapQuest and GPS systems may not have the most current information or updates. Again, thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

I wanted a cabin that was private, clean, quiet, and huge to accommodate 4 couples, 4 toddlers, and a teenager. That is exactly what we got. Huge cabin, lots of room to move about, very clean, air conditioned, huge deck, giant hot tub, super far from the main road, super dark at night... Awesome. The one thing that I don't get is that there is no type of yard area at all. The cabin is surrounded by gravel, enough to park 20 cars on, and surrounding that gravel is the woods... But there is no yard or patch of grass of any kind. If u wanna play frisbee or bocce or football or whatever, you have to do it on gravel. Because of the lack of a yard, The kids ended up playing on either the deck or this little stage they have in the back, neither ideal for 2-3 year olds who could potentially fall of the edge, so we were on our toes. Also, the fire pit area is on a 45 degree angle and also on gravel.

If they put enough grass on one side of the cabin for a game of badminton and leveled out the fire pit area, this would have been absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Several of my family spent a night in the Hillcrest Lodge in December 2011 and really enjoyed it! Upon arrival it was clean and ready for us. Everything worked (heat, tv, appliances, etc), the fireplace was great, the hot tub was clean and enjoyable with five of us in it at once. The beds were very comfortable.

The cabin was tastefully decorated for christmas, including two small lighted trees and other decorations.

All of us loved it and agreed that we'd like to stay again sometime.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

It has been a yearly tradition to stay a winter night in a Hocking Hills cabin. Our first stay in the McKinley was everything we had hoped for. Secluded, comfortable, and cozy with the wood burning fireplace. The cabin was very clean and the leather sofa large and comfotable. TV was acceptable, and their was plenty of firewood.

I really can’t say enough good about the cabin.

Room Tip: The parking is a steep walk up from the cabin. We arrived after dark with a slippery trail down to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grove city, ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I think people must just be discovering these cabins because they are truly fantastic but don't often seem to be as booked up as other places. My husband and I take an annual getaway to Hocking Hills, usually staying at Getaway Cabins. One summer we decided to take the kids along but couldn't swallow the price of the larger cabins, so we decided to look elsewhere. That's when we first stayed with Cabins by the Caves in the Hillside cabin (for 4). We got a last minute deal on a weekday night for only $90--and the cabin was amazing, even better than the pictures online (which are great) due to some new furniture. We liked it so much, we decided to stay in the Sugar Bear (a 2 person cabin) for our next stay without the kids. Technically, we haven't stayed there yet, but it is our wonderful experience working with the owner that prompted this review.

I am sure we might be the most annoying reservation ever but we were never made to feel that way. First, my mom, who booked the stay for us, was able to get a unique two night weekend reservation, where my sister and her husband stayed the first night, and my husband and I the following night, having the cabin cleaned in between nights for no additional cost. Second, we had to move this reservation to another weekend after my brother scheduled his wedding in Jamaica for the same weekend (not a problem, no penalties). Third, (and the reason we haven't stayed yet), my children got the stomach flu and we had to cancel our Sat. night reservation, though, my sister is keeping hers for Friday night. I would have completely understood if this were a "tough luck" situation, but we were accommodated again, and allowed to rebook at a different time if someone else picked up the reservation.

And while we are now sitting at home in the sick-house instead of in a cabin in Hocking Hills, I am not so depressed because we didn't lose any money and will get to stay again at a later date. I really appreciate Cabin by the Caves and strongly recommend them to anyone looking for a great stay in Hocking Hills. Check them out at www.cabinsbythecaves.com.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabins by the Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins by the Caves

Also Known As:
Cabins By The Caves Hotel Logan
Cabins By The Caves Hotel
Cabins By The Caves Ohio/Logan
Address: 16680 Collison Road, Logan, OH 43138
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Specialty lodging in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 secluded newly built log cabins in the heart of the Hocking Hills in Logan, Ohio. Just minutes to Old Man's Cave. Many amenities including hot tubs, wood burning fireplaces, and fully equipped kitchens. Perfect for romantic getaway or family retreat. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabins by the Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cabins by the Caves to your Saves list