We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Steak House

Jack's Steak House
35770 Hocking Drive, Logan, OH 43138
740-385-9909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 36 Restaurants in Logan
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Athens, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

jacks has excellent steaks but service not so good. The place is pretty run down in need of a face lift so to speak.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    11
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had lunch here were a group of 8 on a Saturday. Everything was satisfactory and as expected for a place of this type. Our server was friendly and all of our food was well prepared and tasty. I must say in reading some of the other comments on here that some folks must be expecting a Ritz type experience wherever they dine. This is out in the country, a small privately owned place with no frills. What else would or should you expect?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Open when others are closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Food was okay. Glad I went so I could check the place off my list, probably won't be going back unless no other options.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Jack's looks more like a diner walking in, which is not always a bad thing - just letting you know. I ordered the filet - it was good. The flavor was nice and it was cooked the way I ordered it. The 'seasonal' vegetables are frozen. My boyfriend ordered the ribeye. After putting his own seasonings on it, it almost had some flavor. Prices were decent.

You may get better service at McDonald's. The waitress almost acted like we were putting her out. I asked if they had landshark and from the look on her face, I must have been an alien. After she dropped our dinners off we did not see her again until she brought the check. A party of 10 made reservations while we were there. That sent he servers into a frenzy and not a happy one. They were not happy about that many people coming in so late (kitchen is open until 10 pm, they came in about 9:30).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just so so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Ok I've been to Jack's Steak House. I don't need to go again. My steak was okay but that was as good as it got. The service was slow and not too attentive. At times it seemed like our being there was an inconvenience to the hostess and waitress. My wife's steak was under cooked. She sent it back but it came back looking the same. They hadn't cooked it any more. The atmosphere was not of a steak house. It was more like a diner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Jack's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.