We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A-Frame #18... excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Man's Cave Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Man's Cave Chalets to your Saves list
Old Man's Cave Chalets
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   18905 State Route 664 South, Logan, OH 43138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Logan
Zanesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A-Frame #18... excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great stay. Very clean. Nice loft and bathroom. Everything worked. Hot tub was private, and clean. I would recommend this one from our experience. Nice staff also. Was a great weekend in Hocking Hills.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMansCaveChalets, General Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed the clean and private cabin experience. We are always working on keeping the amenities up to date. You might be interested to know that this cabin now has WiFi! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    21
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
37
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from a weekend family reunion at the Old Man Cave Chalets.

Put please try to avoid this place.

Our cabin, “Black Jack, was very basic and dark and dreary. The cabin is 100% wood from the walls to the ceiling to the floors. Because of its’ location you get very little natural lighting. We are a little older and really appreciate a room that has good lighting--with every light on in the cabin could not read the paper!

We own cabins in the Smokey Mountain area, so know how a great cabin should look and feel. This place had no character—only one print on the wall and everything was very basic. The pillows felt like they had not been replaced in years. If you are cooking you should be aware there is no dish washer or garbage disposal. Also, don’t expect to use your cell phone or internet. No WI-FI in the cabin or cell service in the area.

Didn’t use the hot tub—the first place we ever stayed where you had to sign a special form listing all the rules and regulations when we rented the cabin. Also, it was very difficult to park your car.

What about customer service—don’t expect it from the Old Man Cave staff. We left a small charger and will I asked if they would send to me—their response was “sure for $20.00”. The charger weighed an ounce or two and could have been sent for no more than a dollar. If guests leave items in our cabins in TN, we typically will send they without even charging postage.

I would strongly suggest if you are visiting this area—rent through VRBO or HomeAway. You deal directly with the owner and are more likely to get a cabin that has character and you will pay much less then through a rental management company.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Rented a large cabin for 3 family's (11 ppl total) and it was great! The location wasn't as expected, just off the main road and not secluded, but other than that it was great. 15-20 minutes from all the activities which the kids loved! My 10 and 13 year old had a blast climbing and hiking on the mountains/valleys, the younger kids, not so much! :) I would recommend these cabins at all times to all people. They were great! The company is top notch as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Nature Lover's cabin for a mini-vacation over the July 4th holiday weekend. We weren't sure what to expect as we hadn't been to the Hocking Hills region before and there were numerous cabins to choose from, but we were definitely pleased with our choice.

One of the first things we loved about our cabin was the location. Although there are a lot of seemingly-similar rental options (i.e. cabin with a hot tub) around the Hocking Hills region, it seems that the Chalets have one of the best locations. The Chalets are not only close to Old Man's Cave and other hiking areas, they are also set up in the hills; with a steep drive to get up to your individual cabin. Not sure how I'd feel about this in the winter, but when we stayed it was absolutely perfect. You're literally sleeping up in the trees with a beautiful view off the deck/from your private hot tub. It's extremely quiet and serene; although that may depending on your luck of the draw with neighbors :-) The property also includes a pool, which we did not get the chance to use.

The cabin itself was very clean and tastefully decorated. We did most of our cooking in the cabin and were pleasantly surprised with the amenities that were provided as far as dishes and cooking utensils. The floor plan was spacious for two of us and there were two bedrooms to choose from. I also loved being able to come back after a day of hiking and relax in our hot tub on our private deck suspended in the trees. All of the attention to detail added up to a very romantic place to stay.

The management at the front desk was extremely friendly and informative. They were more than willing to help with directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. I also appreciated that they stocked supplies like charcoal for our grill, so that we did not have to drive the 15 minutes back to Logan to pick it up.

Although we loved staying at the Chalets and would like to stay again if we're in the area, we did have one big complaint. The mattresses in the rooms = awful! As I said before, we had two bedrooms to choose from, but the mattresses on both beds need to be replaced (and I'm not very picky!). We spent the 3 nights switching back and forth between both beds and to our dismay, neither gave us a good night's sleep. The mattress in the loft had a large "valley" in the middle, so we were rolling into it all night. The mattress in the downstairs bedroom was just extremely stiff and uncomfortable and I woke up with a backache. On the final night, my boyfriend ended up stuffing pillows up underneath the valley of the one mattress to make it bearable. I hate to criticize because we really did love the Chalets, but I feel that if there's one thing a hotel should invest in, it's a mattress. All of the other amenities are great, but in the end you're at a hotel to sleep, so your bed should serve that purpose.

Room Tip: The Nature Lover's cabin is the same as the other a-frames, but more expensive. The a-frames are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand Butte cabin sleeps 20. First of all I have to say the cabin was spotless, so clean and well kept. Everything worked and was immaculate. We had so much fun Atv, zip lining. The staff was friendly and everything was correct and well priced.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in the Hemlock Cabin, which proved to be just the right size for one couple and one other person (though it could house up to three couples if necessary). It’s listed as a “romantic cabin” on the official website. Pets are not allowed.

Everything in the cabin was pretty, clean, and functional. The TV is 1080p, some of the best high definition around as of 2013. Everything in the kitchen and bathrooms worked well.

There was plenty of hot water in the bathrooms and kitchen, but be warned: the water around these parts kind of smells like sulfur. It doesn’t taste bad, but it’s smellier than my uncle, and that’s saying something.

I must point out, though, that there is no Wi-Fi or cell phone reception. The only place where you can access the Internet is at the main office. This was frustrating at first, but it was nice to have a break from the constant onslaught of Internet news and annoying phone calls. Be warned: don’t leave your cell on overnight to use it as an alarm clock. The batteries will run out fast as it searches for a satellite in vain all night. There is only one clock in the cabin, so bring your own alarm clocks.

The hot tub wasn’t too hot, but it was just fine for a ninny like me. Be sure to use the blue knobs to crank the bubble jet action up to eleven! And the Jacuzzi in the basement’s bathroom was incredibly relaxing. It’s big enough that you can lean back and submerge most of your body in the water. Also, it’s relaxing to sit out on the deck and look at the woods while appreciating the quiet stillness of the area. Oftentimes, you can’t even hear the hum of distant traffic. There’s a swinging bench on the deck if that tickles your fancy.

I should warn you about the basement, though. It contains two beds, each big enough for a couple, but it’s awfully cold unless you turn on the noisy heater. So be sure to dress warm if you can’t handle noise while you sleep. Plus, footsteps from upstairs echo down surprisingly loudly, so you might need earplugs if the people upstairs will wake up before you. An eye mask might help too since light starts to sneak in around six.

All the beds in the cabins are stiff, unfortunately. And as of April 2013, the cabins don’t recycle—what’s up with that? On the bright side, checking in and out is easy, and the main office even offers a variety of books and DVDs to enjoy.

Nothing is within walking distance (aside from a public pool and playground), but the Hocking Hills parks are just a few minutes away when driving. That’s very convenient. Plus, Wal-Mart and restaurants (like McDonald’s, Subway, and Bob Evan’s) aren’t too far. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone seeking an escape from the busy world.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
small town, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in the "Slopeside" cabin Sun-Weds. The setting was amazing. The chalet was more than we expected. We spent our days hiking at the state park and our nights in the hot tub. This is a very secluded setting. There was one other cabin 200 yards away, which stayed empty, other than that it was just us and the wilderness. My biggest issue was the level of chemicals in the hot tub. It tarnished all my silver jewelry which was my own fault for not removing them. Our skin itched all 3 days and my arms developed raised bump like sores. I understand that they must keep the bacteria under control however I think they needed to adjust the pH of this hot tub. We made them aware of this issue and they sent a technician out that day. It seemed that the problem wasn't corrected as the water continued to dry us out and make us itch. I am not sure if it was due to the water problem or if it was unrelated but the sheets on both beds were really dry and itchy. A touch of fabric softener would help tremendously! Overall we loved this place. We used the basket on top of the fridge to transport our drinks and snacks out to the hot tub which is about 10 steps away. Bring your own spirits because the mom and pop shops on the way are limited and very expensive. Next winter we are packing a small humidifier. Bring a music source to plug in on the porch for "hot tub time". There are no neighbors to complain and the deer here love slow jams.

Room Tip: Our chalet had a private stream and a very beautiful setting located in the heart of the valley. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMansCaveChalets, Manager at Old Man's Cave Chalets, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your stay in the Slopeside Cabin. I am sorry that we did not get the chemical levels satisfactory for your skin type but I passed your comments onto our Maintenance Manager. And also, to the housekeeping manager with regard to the bedding. I am glad you enjoyed the cabin and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future, and please don't hesitate to contact us if we can make your future stays more pleasant.

Darlene Fitzgerald
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Man's Cave Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Man's Cave Chalets

Address: 18905 State Route 664 South, Logan, OH 43138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Man's Cave Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1988, Old Man's Cave Chalets is the original cabin rental operation of the Hocking Hills. With over 50 premier cabins, Old Man’s Cave Chalets is the number one preferred and most referred cabin rental lodging in the Hocking Hills area. With private hot tubs, swimming pools, and nearby State Parks, there is something for everyone at Old Man’s Cave Chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Old Man's Cave Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Man`s Cave Chalets Hotel Logan
Old Man's Cave Chalets Ohio/Logan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Man's Cave Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.