We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Place to Book for Easy Access to Old Man's Cave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Man's Cave Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Man's Cave Chalets to your Saves list
Old Man's Cave Chalets
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   18905 State Route 664 South, Logan, OH 43138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 off 2 $100 off 3
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Logan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE Place to Book for Easy Access to Old Man's Cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the "Outback" chalet last weekend, and our visit could not have been more perfect. Booking was a snap, the staff was incredibly nice and our chalet was exactly what they represented online. The decor was up to date, the sheets and linens were perfectly fresh, clean and inviting. It was also conveniently located - about 5 minutes from OMC, 10 minutes from the chalet offices and 15 from Lake Logan. The guest pool was small, but very nice and clean (no overkill on the chlorine).

I will agree with other reviewers that the water in the chalet itself does have a strong sulfur smell, but really no worse than any well water I have ever encountered. You have to remember you're a little further out in the country! Besides, it's not like the water smell "sticks" to you or anything.

Our getaway was just what the doctor ordered. We will definitely book with OMCC again - the sooner the better. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: The Outback was a perfect chalet for couples. Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    14
    4
    9
See reviews for
44
93
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord Twp, OH
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We rented the Elk cabin and it was perfect for my husband and I to get away for a few days! The cabin was very clean, hot tub was nice and the view was beautiful. One thing I would reccomend doing which we did is to bring your own chairs for the deck, they provide chairs but they are plastic and not confortable for sitting outside enjoying the view. Also, pay close attention to the directions to your cabin which they provide. There are a ton of unmarked roads and we had a lot of trouble finding our cabin the first time. If you're looking for something really fun to do while visiting be sure to go to Hocking Hills Canopy Tours and you can zip line. The caves are truly amazing too, so be sure not to miss them (but bring water, the hike through Old Man's Cave can be difficult if it's hot and you have nothing to drink).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negley
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at the timber ridge lodge from old mans cave chalet.

The cabin was cute & cozy. But the sulphur water on tap at the cabin spoiled the trip.
Not a very nice surprise.

Hocking Hill is beautiful - we will likely visit again - but stay in Columbus where lodging will meet our expectiations.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant City, OH
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

This was our first trip to Old Mans Cave Chalets. The Romantic Escape Cabin turned out to be just the right place for my wife and I to get away and reconnect with each other. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and well furnished. The hot tub was clean, well maintained, and has plenty of privacy to enjoy a good soak. Travel was convenient and quick to all of the hiking trails in the area as well as the restaurants in nearby Logan. All around it was an excellent experience and we hope to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

For the past five years, my organization has held a yearly weekend retreat at OMCC and on each visit we have stayed in several different cabins owned by OMCC. Some have slept 4 while others have slept over 20. On each visit, regardless of the size of cabin, we have found them to be extremely clean, well furnished and offer beautiful scenery. With a group of over 20 people and a wide range of ages, it is difficult to please everyone, but to this date we have had no complaints, only high praises. Each year we look forward to the upcoming year, knowing that it will be a time of great fun and fellowship and no worries about our accomodations.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We recently stayed at the Fallswood Lodge for New Years Eve. This is a annual tradition for my friends and I but this was our first time at Fallswood. I must say we were all pleasntly surprised. The size of the cabin was much bigger than expected and the decor had been significantly updated from the pictures online. There were 12 of us and we had plenty of room for more! The beds were very comfortable and the whole cabin was very cozy. The kitchen was huge and very beautiful. I would love to go back and stay again. I highly reccomend this cabin to anyone! Thanks Old Mans Cave for helping us ring in the New Year in a fantastic lodge!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The cabin was very nice. The kitchen was huge and great for preparing large meals. The living room/dining room were also a great size for our large group. It had plenty of bedrooms to accomodate everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Man's Cave Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Man's Cave Chalets

Address: 18905 State Route 664 South, Logan, OH 43138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Man's Cave Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1988, Old Man's Cave Chalets is the original cabin rental operation of the Hocking Hills. With over 50 premier cabins, Old Man’s Cave Chalets is the number one preferred and most referred cabin rental lodging in the Hocking Hills area. With private hot tubs, swimming pools, and nearby State Parks, there is something for everyone at Old Man’s Cave Chalets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Old Man's Cave Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Man`s Cave Chalets Hotel Logan
Old Man's Cave Chalets Ohio/Logan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Man's Cave Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.