We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery & hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hocking Hills State Park

Hocking Hills State Park
Logan, OH
740-385-9706
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Logan
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Driving, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialty vacation rental cabins in Hocking Hills
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery & hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited Hocking Hills State Park on Columbus Day weekend (Thanksgiving weekend for us Canadians). We had a great time - beautiful scenery and great hiking. It's clearly not a great time of year to see the waterfalls, which means you'd probably have a much different experience visitng the park again in the spring! Fall colors added a nice touch.

We visited all 6 of the major hiking trails in the park, all of which were very enjoyable and unique in their own way. Old Man's Cave, Cantwell Cliffs and Rock House were our favorites.

We started our day with breakfast in Logan at the Olde Dutch Restaurant. We thought this would be a nice place for a unique home cooked breakfast, but were treated to a below average buffet that left much to be desired. Very disappointing. While not a unique experience, I'd suggest you just go to Bob Evans!

Not sure why the visitor's center doesn't open until 11am - maybe it was the time of year, but it seemed rather busy to miss on the opportunity to help so many visitors who like to get an early start on the day.

Our first stop was at Old Man's Cave, then we drove back a few miles and did the loop that included Cedar Falls, Ash Cave and then up to Conkles Hollow. Beautiful! I then took a wrong turn and we ended up heading back towards Logan, which actually worked out to be a good thing. Our original plan was to have dinner after all 6 stops, but this turned out to be a great time for a break. We had a late lunch at Millstone Southern Smoked BBQ. A-mazing! Loved it! Would highly recommend this place - great food, nice atmosphere.

After lunch, we took the 33 and first stopped at Cantwell Cliffs. And, we ended the day at Rock House, which was very cool. We found that this was a great place to finish the day!

Great day. Beautiful park. Nice hiking.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    101
    21
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
“old mans cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

absolutely beautiful be ready to hike but well worth it, tif you love nautre you willl love this place the colors of the leaves were absolutely gorgeous the trails were easy to navigate

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort gratiot, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“incredible beauty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Old Man's Cave is incredible. spend the whole day. Hike all through it from end to end. Dont miss a thing. Go beyond the Devil's bathtub all the way to Cedar Falls. Take a pack, take your time and see all of it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hocking Hills Ohio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hocking Hills Ohio is a popular destination for outdoor activities and sight seeing. One of the main attractions to the area are the beautiful waterfalls. You can visit Old Man's Cave, Cedar Falls, Conkle's Hollow and Ash Cave. All offer beautiful trails leading to waterfalls. Be forewarned that if you want to see the waterfalls with good water flow plan your visit in the spring, they dry up in the summer months. The area has a very large selection of cabins for rent as well. For a great Amish inspired meal head over to "The Olde Dutch Restaurant".

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Oaks, MI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to visit especially in the fall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just spent a week camping at Hocking Hills State Park. It was our 1st visit to the area and it was every bit as nice as advertised. The park has lots of well maintained hiking trails. The campground fees are fair and there is no park sticker to purchase like many state parks. The showerhouses are kept reasonably clean. The showers had heated floors which was really nice with cold fall nights and cool days. All sites have electric hookup. This is a really scenic area especially in the fall. We plan on a return visit. The Welcome Center in Logan, OH was definitely worth stopping at. The staff is very helpful and has lots of info. on the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hocking Hills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hocking Hills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hocking Hills State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.