We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - needed more time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hocking Hills State Park

Hocking Hills State Park
Logan, OH
740-385-9706
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Logan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Driving, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specialty vacation rental cabins in Hocking Hills
Belleville, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous - needed more time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This park is amazing. There are places for hiking, trails for families, and remarkable landmarks! You will definitely need more than a couple of days to make it through all 6 spots. Over a period of two days, we made it to three, and were not able to thoroughly enjoy it. Next time we will definitely be bringing our children, and planning for more time at each location!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    104
    21
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Friends told us about this park years ago. We finally went to the park and it was amazing! The geologic formations cannot be beat! If you would like to visit everything plan on staying several days. We stayed at the park's campground. It is very family friendly. Their is a very nice pool with a twisting slide for the kids and the kids at heart. Most trails to the attractions are nice leisurely walks. Most trails are heavily tree-lined to help reduce the heat on those hot summer days. Don't forget to visit the other attractions in the area. Rockbridge Natural State Preserve is a short drive away. The walk takes you through varied landscape. The parking lot starts off in a farmer's field and leads you through some densely wooded landscape. When you arrive at the bridge it looks surreal!

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful outdoor beauty for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We went to Hocking Hills in June with an 11,10,9,15, and 18 year old for 3 days and 2 nights. We absolutely loved the State Park and the children all had a wonderful time. It is beautiful, family oriented, and easily accessed off an interstate highway. The gorges are amazing and the caves remarkable. Old Man's Cave is a must see for any one interested in early Native American archeology. Numerous hikes will keep you busy and amazed, waterfalls abound, and the tree line so high one cannot see the sky in some parts. If you are looking for a great family outdoor adventure, this is the place to go. If however, you are looking for commercialism and busy streets, this is not for you. We stayed in a beautiful cabin on a hilltop out of the park itself and had total solitude. Nothing around us but the chirpping of birds and deer grazing....rented from Old Man's Cave Chalets...a top notch rental agency!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We camped at the state park over Memorial Day weekend and had really nice weather. It had been really rainy prior to our visit, so the waterfalls were beautiful and everything was lush and green. Our campsite was nice - we were the last one on a cul-de-sac so we only had neighbors on one side and it was mostly shady. The key to beating the holiday weekend visitors is to start out early. We left the campground about 8:30 and drove up to Cantwell Cliffs and then worked our way back south. We didn't start running into crowds until mid afternoon. Cedar Falls was so packed that there wasn't anywhere to park so we went back to the campground for a couple hours. We ventured back out around 5:30 or so and were able to see Cedar Falls and Old Man's Cave with no problems. If you want to see any more than the park's attractions you will need a couple days. The park staff at the office was friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful, nature at its purest - do not miss "the grand cannon"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a beautiful park to visit, the cabin rentals are very nice _ will review another time.

A lot of hiking and sites to see. Please do use the "fat lady squeeze" trial - you will not be disappointed. If you have little children please proceed with caution when walking around the perimeter of the "grand cannon" as there aren't any guiderails. (aka conkle's hollow)

Rock House is another must see, as are both of the falls (depending on season when they can either be a slight dribble or a fall-blown gusher!)

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hocking Hills State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hocking Hills State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hocking Hills State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.