We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butch's Italian Cafe

Butch's Italian Cafe
44 E. Columbus St., Lithopolis, OH 43110-2052
614-834-3889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Lithopolis
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Canal Winchester, Ohio
1 review
“One of a kind!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great authentic food! Can't get it anywhere else. Once you try it you will come back! Friendly staff as well!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Very Good -- Surprisingly Good, Actually!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

It's in a strip mall, down at the end. Don't worry, that's the worst part.

The food is really really good. They have smaller lunch portions, that come with salad or soup, and the prices are right.

At night, it dresses up a bit and becomes a nicer place, but the prices are still low, the portions are bigger, and wine seems right.

Excellent choice.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Intriguing name lured us and menu reeled us in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

While visiting family, we drove past this establishment and thought what an interesting name, so when it came time for dinner we just HAD to try it. We were extremely pleased with the service and each of the courses were just as delectable as the one before. We will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

So Sad.....We have enjoyed Butch's for years now (even before their current location), going about once a month. The service has always been great, as was last night. This used to be a nicer place for a date with white linen tableclothes, those are gone. The menu is now laminated copy paper. Those things aren't really a big deal, but as for the food, the past year we've noticed a bit of decline. Last night we ordered our usual chicken parm and chicken armando. Both of our cutlets were overcooked and tough with the cheese/breadcrumb crust being nearly burnt. Another thing, they've added half size portions to select items (which is a great idea), but when the full size serving of armando chicken cutlet used to cover the plate, now the half size was the size of a chicken tenderloin or chicken strip- it's more like 1/4 or 1/3 size. My salad was swimming in dressing. The meatball appetizer was the best part of our meal- it was delicious! We were both a bit disappointed and not sure when we'll be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't waste your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Svc wasn't good =(
I ordered the chicken armando chicken was a decent size & tasted pretty good. Sadly there were only about 15 noodles under this huge piece of chicken. If you do go there order the mozzarella balls. Best thing they serve. Sauce could use a bit more flavoring. The restaurant needs an update soon very out of date. Not a place for young adults. Not sure why they use paper on tables instead of wiping them off. Makes me wonder what the tables look like. Horrible service to much to list. Wouldn't ever go back

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butch's Italian Cafe also viewed

Been to Butch's Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butch's Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.