We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allen County Museum and McDonald House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allen County Museum

Allen County Museum
620 W Market St, Lima, OH 45801
419-222-9426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Lima
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Lima, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Allen County Museum and McDonald House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an excellent museum. I highly recommend a visit. Spend at least 2 hours. The McDonald House (adjacent) is also a very good tour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Time well-spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The museum is well-organized and a great way to spend your morning or afternoon. Plan at least 2-3 hours to be able to enjoy the displays on all 3 levels. The Shay locomotive is a nice tribute to Lima's history with the Lima Locomotive Works. There is an interesting display of foreign bodies that have been inhaled or ingested and removed from patients. There is an iron lung that was used for polio victims. No matter what your interests, I think you can find something that appeals to you. Next door to the museum is the Children's Garden which is a wonderfully-designed area. I especailly enjoy the museum at Christmastime each year because it is filled with decorated Christmas trees provided by various local organizations. It is more crowded at that time, but worth the visit each year. A quieter, less crowded time is also nice. Each time I am there, I see something that I didn't see before.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piqua, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A good time was had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a great small museum with some really wow exhibits. They combine local and regional events along with some really outstanding nationally known events and personalities. This museum is really worth a stop the next time you are in Lima.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lima's Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to other museums and nothing holds up like Allen County. I am amazed when I run into people that have never been there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This Museum is very large it will take at least 3 hours to go through. there are 3 floors of things to see. there is a hands on area for children, lots of history items, model railroad tracts. plus for $3.00 you get to tour the MacDonnell house which is beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allen County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allen County Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.