We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Lamb Inn still a keeper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Lamb Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Golden Lamb Inn to your Saves list
The Golden Lamb Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   27 S Broadway, Lebanon, OH 45036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Lebanon B&B and Inns
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Golden Lamb Inn still a keeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This historic inn has had its ups and downs but it's still a state and national treasure, having seen the likes of everyone from Charles Dickens, who wasn't impressed, to George W Bush. Come for a night in an historic room or to eat in the dining room. At certain times of the year, historic menus are recreated. Upstairs there is a small museum and suites not rented for the night are open for display. Historic Shaker pieces and other antiques are set throughout. The gift shop is not what it once was, but there are many interesting gift shops throughout Lebanon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
42
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had stayed at the Lamb a couple of years ago, and albeit it is a historic destination, the room furnishings had been allowed to get quite tired. Since then, the rooms have improved greatly. This is still a historic location, so don't expect all the comforts of a modern first-class hotel, but the furnishings (many antique) are in good shape, and everything works. We have stayed here several times over the years, and are happy to see that it's been brought back to well-restored condition. We found the desk service to be just fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The Golden Lamb restaurant in Lebanin Ohio is full of historic charm. 15 presidents have been through this inn. The hotel rooms have names of all the famous people who have been there. We had relatives with us from Florida for our first experience in thefamopus restaurant. We had dinner reservations, although there were very few people eating in the restaurant while we were there. The food was pretty good, but I can not say the same about the service. All the meals were set-in-stone. No substitutions or alternatives for any meals. If you did not like the dressing for the salad...too bad, there was no substitution. If you wanted a different vegetable...forget it. The waitress was somewhat curt in telling us there were no subtitutes or alternatives to the menu. I finally found something on the menu that I could get to be able to like all parts of the meals. Thankfully the food was pretty good, but they could certainly benefit from an attitude change with the staff,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My hubby and I celebrated our 38th Wedding anniversary night at the Golden Lamb in Lebanon. It is nicer than I imagined. WE had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant and slept in this great hotel. There are 18 rooms available--all named after the famous who had stayed here. We stayed in a room named after " Charles Dickens". Our room was filled with wonderful antique furniture and even an authentic "creaky floor." It had the modern amenities of today wireless internet, TV, a full bathroom, phone--but kept the period alive with not only the furniture, but the wallpaper, wall to wall Victorian carpet, and decor. Until a room is occupied, visitors can peer inside each one, and read the explanatory plaques and photos.

Our bed had a very comfortable mattress. The windows had great coverings. It was very nice.

Such a rich history, Inn was established in 1803. Twelve presidents and many other famous people have graced the door there. It had been a major stage coach stop on the National Road destined for Cincinnati. Travelers came from Columbus, Sandusky on Lake Erie, etc. Six cents a mile was the usual charge for stage coach passengers. The coaches stopped about every ten miles to change horses; the travelers dined at taverns like this one along the way.

Now a bit of history about our room's namesake--Tradition relates that Charles Dickens came, wearing a beaver hat, brown frock coat, and a fuzzy scarf. He alighted from the top of the stage. Followed indoors by his wife, her maid and his secretary, he demanded a drink only to learn that this was a temperance hotel. Dickens recorded his dissatisfaction with the visit in his American Notes:

"We dine soon after with the boarders in the house, and have nothing to drink but tea and coffee. As they are both very bad, and the water is worse, I ask for brandy; but it is a temperance hotel, and spirits were not to be had for love or money. This preposterous forcing of unpleasant drinks down the reluctant throats of travelers is not uncommon in America, but I never discovered that the scruples of such wincing landlords induced them to preserve any unusually nice balance between the quality of their fare and their scale of charges; on the contrary I rather suspected them of diminishing the one and exalting the other, by way of recompense for the loss of their profit on the sale of spirituous liquors. After all, perhaps, the plainest course for persons of such tender conscience would be a total abstinence from tavern keeping."

Room Tip: Look at all the rooms first. They are open to the public. Our was my favorite. The George W. Bush r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary with dinner and a stay at The Golden Lamb. Dinner was excellent; food and service were great in The Black Horse Tavern. The menu is nearly identical to the one used in the restaurant and if you want, they'll provide you the full restaurant menu. Front desk staff of the hotel were friendly and helpful. We loved the historical charm of this establishment. We stayed in the William Howard Taft room on the fourth floor. We were glad we booked a room on the top floor because the floors are squeaky. Room was clean and comfortable.

Here is where I will try to make my review interesting. Across the hall from our room was a museum room named "Sarah's Room". Sarah's ghost is said by some to haunt The Golden Lamb. As I mentioned, the floors are incredibly squeaky. In the middle of the night, our HVAC unit, at least I assumed it was our HVAC unit, started making this squealing, hissing sound. Meanwhile, the floor started squeaking outside of doorway. Not a trailing footsteps squeak, but more like a squeak of someone rocking back and forth in a stationary spot. When the floor squeaking stopped, so did the HVAC noise. Neither sound occurred again the remainder of the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Nice job Incorperating some modern amenities and keeping within the history of the hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We loved the food, room, staff and history! The hotel staff was so helpful, the decor delightfully historical, the food was superb and the room was squeaky clean. The lobby had a music box playing by the fire as you drifted through and the rooms were a twitter with oohs and ahhs over the food being served. The bartender made you feel right at home, even though we were having coffee (excellent by the way). My husband had the salmon that out shined the salmon he had in Alaska. Our room on the top floor was top shelf, quiet, clean and with a new comfy mattress. We are looking for any excuse to go back.

Room Tip: top floor was the quietest as it is a 200 plus year old building and the floors squeak
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Golden Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lamb Inn

Address: 27 S Broadway, Lebanon, OH 45036
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Lebanon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lebanon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Lamb Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Golden Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Lamb Hotel Lebanon
The Golden Lamb Bed Breakfast
Golden Lamb
The Golden Lamb Inn Lebanon, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Lamb Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.