We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not far from primitive horsecamp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tar Hollow State Park

Tar Hollow State Park
16396 Tar Hollow Road, Laurelville, OH 43135
740-887-4818
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Blanchester, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not far from primitive horsecamp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We went to the state park because we were staying at the horse camp nearby. The camp store was well stocked. The employees were helpful. The showers at the state park are nice and the pit toilets were clean. They have a game room, rental bikes, paddle boats and lots of hiking.

The picnic pavilions look like they would be nice to rent. The park ranger was outstanding!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful little state park in southern ohio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

a small lake nestled in wooded hills, full of blue gils and other fun sport fish. The employees at the camp store are first rate, the paddle boat and canoe rentals are inexpensive. The camp grounds are fairly well shaded and well kept. Just a wonderful place to spend the day or a weekend. The only downside is the toilet facilities are out house style pit toilets and not too well ventilated.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurelville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get a away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great place to take kids and go camping either primitive or RV. Quiet and pretty, I try to go at least once a year.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hikers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for an easy, fun primitive hiking adventure this is your place. Being an inexperienced hiker and looking to gain backpacking experience, we chose here. We camped in a tent, which was peaceful. There is an 18 mile loop which was perfect to do over a weekend. It was the middle of July so hot and not much wildlife or flowers, but still fun.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Primitive, peaceful, perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If I could rate this park more than a 5, I would in a heartbeat. I've camped here 3 times and greatly appreciate how untouched and off the beaten path the park is. They offer overnight camping at their 7 picnic shelters, but the secluded picnic shelters (Dogwood, Pine Point, Sheeps Pasture, Lookout) are best because they offer the most space, privacy, and quietness. It's somewhere around $45/night to camp at the picnic shelters, but I know the 4 that I mentioned above come with your own primitive bathroom, picnic tables, fire pit, campground grate grill, a large covered shelter with fireplace, and lots of space! Well worth it, especially if you have dogs! At Dogwood and Pine Point specifically you might run into hikers and/or horseback riders stopping to use your bathroom facility, but usually they don't stick around too long. Dogwood and Pine Point are way up on the mountain, and are my personal favorite spots. Hiking is also great at this park, but be prepared for a workout if you do end up hiking or biking. The trails and park roads are steep and windy. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle, come here and be one with nature! You'll be hard pressed to find a better spot!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tar Hollow State Park also viewed

 

Been to Tar Hollow State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tar Hollow State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.