We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slice of Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hocking Hills Frontier Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laurelville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hocking Hills Frontier Log Cabins
Save
You added Hocking Hills Frontier Log Cabins to your Saves list
18381 Thompson Ridge Rd, Hocking Hills, Ohio, Laurelville, OH 43135   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maybee, MI
2 reviews
“A Little Slice of Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Frontier Log Cabins for over 18 years now. Every chance we have to get away, that is the first place we think of! There is NOTHING like Frontier Log Cabins. Teresa and Mike are amazing. The cabins are spotless. And the smell of the pine, when you get out of the car. . . Mmmmmm. The cabins are situated in a pine forest! How cool is that? We love to walk the trail in the mornings. Not only is it a great workout, when you do the loop, but it is so beautiful and peaceful.

Room Tip: I consider the loop trail to be the fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
97
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We always feel so welcome by the owners...they are always ready to give us the key and the property is clean and perfect location. Since we come from Cincinnati, we like the location being closer to Laurelville. LOVE the little fishing lake...kinda feel like's it's "our own". Had a very restful, quiet stay...always too short but so worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontierLogCabins, Owner at Hocking Hills Frontier Log Cabins, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks Marsha,
As always we love seeing you return to stay at our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was the third time my husband and I stayed at Frontier Log Cabins. We were in the red cabin this time, but have also stayed in the blue cabin. This is one of our most favorite places to go to just get away and be by ourselves. It is so quiet and relaxing and beautiful!! We hiked the trails and the hot tub was just the thing we needed when we got back. We highly recommend these cabins. There is so much history with them and they are very clean and comfortable. We will certainly be back (sooner rather than later)!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontierLogCabins, Owner at Hocking Hills Frontier Log Cabins, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thanks Gene and Judy,
As always it is great to see you again. Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thank you for offering a beautiful and serene location to relax and unwind! As working parents of 2 small children, we make it a priority to get away twice a year. The red cabin was the absolutely perfect spot for us to do just that! We enjoyed the beautiful hiking trails, the peaceful atmosphere, the clean and well-maintained hot tub, and the adorable, clean, and cozy cabin!! We will definitely be making Frontier Cabins a regular on our weekend getaway rotation! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have stayed in the blue cabin several times, and are always delighted. We usually have come in the fall, but this time we came in January. We had 40 acres to ourselves. We were able to enjoy the hot tub on the porch while it snowed outside. We hiked several trails in the state park, enjoying ice formations and abundant waterfalls. Coming home each evening to "our" little cabin in the woods with its fireplace was delightful. It was a perfect retreat for us.
Sherry G

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in the Green Cabin last month for a weekend of peace, quiet and relaxation. We certainly were not disappointed. It even snowed to make everything even prettier. The Green Cabin was the perfect getaway. Teresa and Mike could not have been more friendly and helpful. The cabin was built in 1785 and restored to perfection. With the gas fireplace, quilts and hot tub, neither of us wanted to leave. The property included trails through the woods and around the fishing pond for a wonderful winter hike. The only problem with our visit? IT WAS NOT LONG ENOUGH! Next time we go for at least three days!

Room Tip: The Green Cabin was amazing! I would stay there again many many times. Hope to return very soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The log cabins are true 1800's restored cabins with new and beautiful hardwood fused into the design. You get the rustic feel with the modern conveniences with country design and hospitality. The 40+ acre property has trails to hike and a really nice fishing pond you'll have pretty much all to yourself. They clean and replace towels daily and the property is very well kept. We had an amazing time and would return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green Cabin and the loft was a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hocking Hills Frontier Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hocking Hills Frontier Log Cabins

Address: 18381 Thompson Ridge Rd, Hocking Hills, Ohio, Laurelville, OH 43135
Location: United States > Ohio > Laurelville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Laurelville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hocking Hills Ohio Rental Cabins, Frontier Log Cabins.A quiet destination getaway in Hocking Hills area.Private, secluded log cabins and cedar cottage nestled in an enchanting pine forest.Escape for a romantic getaway, special occasion or just hide away from the world.Hiking and fishing just outside your cabin door.Fully equipped kitchen/bath, queen beds, tv/dvd, private hot tubs and gas log fireplaces.Small family-owned business with a personal touch. We are here to make your getaway a memory you will never forget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hocking Hills Frontier Log Cabins Ohio/Laurelville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hocking Hills Frontier Log Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.