We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arepa, Arepa! So GOOD!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barroco Grill

Barroco Grill
12906 Madison Ave., Lakewood, OH 44107
216-221-8127
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 118 Restaurants in Lakewood
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Colombian
Restaurant details
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Arepa, Arepa! So GOOD!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our family's first experience with Columbian cuisine. We all had a different variety of arepa. They are so good....with fresh ingredients. You have to try all the sauces too. For an appetizer, try the gaucamole with plaintains! Small, quaint spot in Lakewood, Ohio!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here the server was very attentive. The restaurant was on the small side but we did not have to wait to be seated. I ordered arepas and my guest ordered the Cuban sandwich. The portions were large! Overall the food was great and I would definitely recommend this restaurant..this was my first time trying Columbian dishes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little gem in Lakewood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Great little restaurant. It's BYOB. The service was helpful and attentive. The arepas were so yummy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fabuous Arepas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visiting Cleveland I checked out a number of Trip Advor recommendations and this was my favorite. The arepas (which I had never heard of before the trip) were so great I had them make another order to take back to the hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Arepas were good, but not the place for a group.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having grown up in South America I was very excited to go to Barroco and eat Arepas. We had a group of 7 and were immediately seated. Unfortunately we had 3 smaller tables come in after us who all ordered after us and received their food before us. When we finally received our food they forgot one of our dishes and so by the time they served our last person the food was luke warm at best.

The food was good and I liked the fun sauces. The worst part is a 20% gratuity was included in our bill given the size of our party. Pretty disappointing service and no apology. It seemed a bit expensive given the poor service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barroco Grill also viewed

 

Been to Barroco Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barroco Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.