We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirtland Temple

Kirtland Temple
7809 Joseph Street, Kirtland, OH 44094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Kirtland
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kirtland Temple and Museum:http://www.kirtlandtemple.org/history.htmlhttp://www.kirtlandtemple.org/tourinfo.htmlThis is one of the most historic buildings in Ohio and an amazing example of pre-Civil War carpentry.
Farr West
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Really nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed being able to go inside this beautiful building. It was beautiful as the movie presentation ended and the curtain opened to reveal an amazing view of the temple. Loved hearing the history and seeing such a key part of LDS history. We're grateful to the Comm Inity of Christ church for sharing it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ames, IA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit at the Kirtland Temple site run by the Community of Christ. After the brief introductory film, we got to head into the building itself. Our guide was well informed and kept things moving along. The building itself was beautiful, and the history is interesting. The two dispappointments: No pictures allowed inside the building, which is not a major disappointment, and we didn't get to visit the third floor of the temple. Other than that, well worth our time!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Historic early temple by the mormons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We happened to visit this beautiful maintained building and Mormon temple over the labor day weekend. What an opportune time too since it was right after the republican national convention with Mitt Romney running who is also a Mormon. I think it might have had a slightly larger turnout of visitors just for that reason too. The tour was very well run and informative. We saw a very good 20 minute movie and we learned quite a bit about the Church of Later Day Saints. The structure itself was well preserved and we were able to visit two of the three floors. Our group on the tour, unbeknownst to us was mostly Mormans who were visiting and we were treated to one of them playing the piano and all the group singing a hymn, which was very nice. This is definitely worth a visit if your in the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Idaho
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great historic building with a special feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This site is run by the Community of Christ, formerly the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The building has SO much original work and interesting detail. The guides are well-meaning with varied knowledge and interest, but the building is fantastic.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful old building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Interesting historical locations. A charge of $3 per person seemed reasonable and included a guided tour. It didn't take very long but the kids were a little bored.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirtland Temple also viewed

Kirtland, Lake County
Kirtland, Lake County
 

Been to Kirtland Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirtland Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.