We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tufted Duck Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tufted Duck Hotel to your Saves list
Tufted Duck Hotel
Corsekelly Place, St Combs, Fraserburgh AB438ZS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Combs
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Valentine's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had a great weekend, hospitality, food and accommodation all really, really good, location stunning, off the beaten track, thanks for a great weekend Ben Genese and the team.
Willing and helpful staff added to the enjoyment of the best langoustines, scallops,smoked haddock and beef that I've had for a long time, excellent.
Ron C
Stirling

Room Tip: Sea view suites are very comfortable with a stunning vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    47
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
44
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had dinner here on Friday evening and the food quality was very good and well presented. My halibut main course was not only good but the portion of halibut was very generous. My wife loved her venison and our langoustine starter was very tasty. The service was really good and I would definitely go back. I have been here for the Sunday carvery lunch but this was my first dinner and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This used to be my local watering hole back in the 80's and from afar it looks about the same a sort of drab 2 storey utilitarian building of the 70's build design....But things have changed. Driving up via the quaint St Combs villiage Im seeing a large car park with covered entry, spacious reception and glorious open fire in the lounge and dining room with large clean windows looking over the coast for more than a 180 degree view. Im checked in to a suite on the first floor and offered assistance up the stairsfrom more than one staff member; the room is modern and airy with a comfortable Queen bed and again the same marvellous views over the coastline and down to the lighthouse - the Full moon is rising. Quick splosh in the bathroom, down to the restaurant and bar for a very good and reasonable value local Scottish fare. Rested overnight we went to breakfast and were the only ones present - the food, a typical NE scottish fry up with my favorite "Kippers" is hot and delivered quickly - offerings of coffee and tea and more toast.. We walk out of the Duck and head down to the beach and walk along the rough sea punctuated with some of the largest sand dunes in the country. Seals pop their heads out of the surf, and sea birds sqwark and run away...one of the main reasons for the hotels success is the closest of the bird reserves along the coast here. We check out quickly and efficiently - well its been some 25 years since we were last there and its obvious a large investment has been made and its paying off. You may hear the odd creak off a floor board in your room as you walk but the place was a haven of quietness, just the roar of waves if the window was open.

Room Tip: Book early and direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We went to the Tuffted duck for Sunday lunch where they had a carvery on. The food was excellent. There was roast beef, pork or gamon as well as a good selection of veg and other trimmings. I went for the roast beef and is was fault less. They also had a whole grain mustrad gravy that was superb.
It has been a long time since I was last at the duck and I noticed a big change. The hotel has been completely refurbished and looks great. The staff could not have been more helpfull and there is a great sea view to enjoy. I wont be leaving it so long to go back this time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have been to the Tufted Duck twice now - once for a wedding and once for a Golden Anniversary lunch. Both times I've been I've really been impressed and I'd choose it if I had a special occassion to plan. It is quite far out from anywhere though so maybe better for if you are local.
The function room is decorated really nice and the best part about it is the view that you get of the sea - very nice.
The bar had a really good selection of drinks and in terms of the food - can't fault it. Really good quality and very tasty.
I haven't stayed over so cannot comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel have a Nice view but really Needs a be rebuild. It's old-fashioned.
Food isn't tasty.

Cheese for breakfast couple of days old. Poor and not nessesarry. You don't expect this with 4 stars hotel.

People are friendly and try to remember you as guest.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

spent Hogmanay at the tufted duck,well furnished rooms,with ensuite,very polite staff they make the booking in and out so easy,evening entertainment kicked off with arrival drinks,5 course meal which was excellent,during the meal the local pipe band played a few songs then on to the band which also was excellent,took the bells at 12 for the new year in with the band then everyone went outside for a spectacular fireworks display,then disco till 1,breakfast in the morning was served in one of the large conservatories overlooking lovely scenery out to sea,went for a walk along the beach it was quite mild for this time of year but you do have to wrap up,then back for a mouth watering carvery lunch which was also in with the package,all in all it cos £230 for the 2 of us which was money well spent,would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: ask for one at the back,my wifes parents had number 5,with excellent views out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tufted Duck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufted Duck Hotel

Address: Corsekelly Place, St Combs, Fraserburgh AB438ZS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Fraserburgh > St Combs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St Combs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated with panoramic coastal views, the Tufted Duck Hotel is located on the North East coast of Scotland, within the historical fishing village of St Combs. Only 40 minutes from Aberdeen, the hotel offers rest and relaxation in its resplendently decorated interior, accompanied by superb dining, fine wines and of course impeccable service. We’re already looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tufted Duck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tufted Duck Fraserburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tufted Duck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.