We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Disalvo's Italian Ristorante

Mamma Disalvo's Italian Ristorante
1375 E. Stroop Rd, Kettering, OH 45440
937-299-5831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Kettering
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great food. Place is small so waiting can be an issue if the weather isn't nice. They have a deli also which is fantastic too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
759 reviews 759 reviews
617 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Much better this time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We met friends here for dinner when visiting Dayton--good choice. The food was delicious. The last time we were there the service by the host needed improvement. This time there was a different host and what a different experience. The evening was lovely. Good food, good wine, good service and good friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mouth-watering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My party experience excellent, attentive service from the time we entered the door, were seated, and languished over a leisurely meal. Their made-from-scratch meatballs and Italian sausage are excellente'.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I only gave them the rating of poor because we had better service and better food in the past, but the last time we were there both were terrible. My husband favorite meal there is the fettuccine Alfredo and what he received was more like whatever was left over in the kitchen is what he got. The waitress didn't tell us they were out of fettuccine or ask if he would like to order something different. Instead they used spaghetti and even the sauce was not good. Our daughter who was visiting from Seattle selected Mama Disalvo's because of her own fond memories and we were excited to go as well. She was disappointed because the waitress was rude to her and refused to make a change to a menu item due to dietary concerns. The waitress never checked back to see if we were enjoying our dinner, refill or reorder drinks and never apologized for the lack of fettuccine. We haven't been back since. Terrible experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Local Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I live in Kettering, Ohio, less than 5 miles from Desalvo's. It's very good and also good for carry out. I would say visit there 4-5 times a year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Disalvo's Italian Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Mamma Disalvo's Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Disalvo's Italian Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.