We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Kent/Akron Area

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Kent/Akron Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Kent/Akron Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4380 Edson Road, I-76 Rt 43 Exit 33, Kent, OH 44240-6939   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Kent
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    26
    23
    21
See reviews for
43
11
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is just a "Highway Stop Motel" on your way to bigger & better adventures, so I'm not trying to compare this motel to anything outside of it's class and location, but yes I would have rather slept in my tent. The location is a bit unnerving in terms of security. The lot is well lit, but the front desk can not see outside very well and it just did not feel safe. The hallways are interior which is good. The bed was very uncomfortable and I just didn't get a feel that I could trust the cleanliness. The rooms are sparse and dated and again did not feel clean or inviting. The "morning breakfast" is a real joke and I opted to find fast food nearby. They rated themselves at the same level of a Comfort Inn or Days Inn, but no...this is a true step down. Find somewhere else for your road trip, there are many other options within a short distance. This is a DB-Trips No Go!

Room Tip: Stay on a lower level to avoid carrying bags up the stairs but again I would not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILLIAMSBURG
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

For that price, you don't expect the Ritz ,and you don't get it, but at least they have queen-sized beds, non smoking rooms, decent hot showers, and are pet friendly. The room wasn't as clean as it could be, the heater blew cold air at times, the walls are paper thin, and there are not enough outlets, but it was a decent enough place for a family with 3 kids and a dog, and like I said, the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here while attending a dog show. We stayed in a suite which was clean, very roomy and accomodated our large dog crates. The breakfast is fine. Hot coffee/tea, waffles (toaster type), danishes. It was plenty. The girl at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again

Room Tip: if you have dogs or you just like a large room, the suite is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for one night while visiting Kent State University. The room was pretty basic and fairly clean. The bed was acceptable although the sheets were a little scratchy. The only real disappointment was the bathroom. Maybe I'm just tall (5'8''), but the sink seemed pretty short to me. In order to use it at a comfortable height I actually had to kneel on my knees. The toiletries only included a bar of soap and a tiny bottle of shampoo so if you're not one of those people like me that always bring your own toiletries then you might want to do so for this motel. The water pressure in the shower was rather low and the lighting in the bathroom was dim, but wasn't a serious issue. The staff was polite and the price was fair. Overall it's a good hotel if you're just looking for a place to spend the night and aren't expecting anything extraordinary.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Kent/Akron Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Kent/Akron Area

Address: 4380 Edson Road, I-76 Rt 43 Exit 33, Kent, OH 44240-6939
Location: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Kent/Akron Area 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Kent/Akron Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Kent/Akron Area Ohio
Super Eight Kent
Kent Super Eight
Kent Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Kent/Akron Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.