We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kent State University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Kent State University to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1215 Sanctuary View Drive, Kent, OH 44240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were BEYOND pleased with our stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It was easy to find and close to a major highway. The staff was friendly and very welcoming. Our room was SPOTLESS EVERY day. The sheets were SOFT, the towels were SOFT. Rooms were very well soundproofed. It felt like we were the only ones there! The breakfast was very good. We had traveled with friends for a mutual friend's wedding. We were able to use the breakfast room well after 10:30 at night to play games and watch football. We did try to be quiet so that we didn't bother anyone. All in all, would TOTALLY stay there again. definitely worth a couple extra dollars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear that you ended up having a great stay with our location and enjoyed all of the amenities offered. We definitely look forward to having you return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    24
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
10
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I came into town for my son's graduation. I enjoyed the hotel. It was clean, quite, but the best part was the service provided by the hotel staff. The desk services personnel were friendly and helpful, the housekeeping associates were interactive, helpful and would do anything to help. Of special note, was the the associate in the restaurant area. Her name was Beth. She was not only extremely helpful but very conciensous about her job. I have been in many hotels where a breakfast is provided. I have never encountered anyone as committed to her job as Beth. Thank you for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! We like to pride ourselves on our friendly staff. We try and make everyone as comfortable as possible while they are staying with us. We are very happy that Beth helped make your stay an enjoyable experience. We will let her know about your kind words.
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel was very clean, with a pleasant staff. My king room had a fridge, a microwave, and a large bathroom. The heater/air conditioner was the standard below the window type. There were lots of restaurants to pick from in the area and the hotel staff made good recommendations. I will stay there whenever I am overnighting in that area in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. Our guests satisfaction is important to us and we try to make sure all of our guests have a memorable stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here while on business on Monday through Friday. I could not get any work done at night or early mornings due to super slow (dial-up speed) internet. Rooms, breakfast, and other services/amenities at this property were inline with HI Express expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear EnvironmentalAdvisor,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the internet connection. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie Pa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Comfortable bedding and pillows, last time we visited stayed at comfort inn and suites and the beds were much more comfortable at holiday inn express. Stayed in king suite,it had a small fridge and microwave which we appreciated. Breakfast good,especially cinnamon rolls,pancakes good also. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our beds to be so comfortable. We will be looking forward to seeing you again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here to watch our son play in his first college game vs. Kent State. We had two rooms and the staff was very accomodating to have our rooms across the hall as we were travelling with our teenage girls. The rooms are very clean, linens are fresh and new and the beds are super comfortable.

My only compaint is not having a fridge or microwave in the King Room, but the girls had one in their double so it wasn't a big deal.

Very courteous to provide vanity kits with emory boards, qtips and cotton balls as well as Make-Up remover wipes.

The rooms were quite and we all enjoyed a peaceful nights rest.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

There is nothing good about this hotel. Firstly, the staff are lazy and not helpful. My wife suffers from a spinal curve (Scoliosis), which really gets her severe pain by lifting the minimal weights. While i was outside, she asked the front desk to change our room because its window was blocked from outside view and the internet was not working. They called the room and asked her to move to another room in the next floor. She asked the front desk to help her with carrying our luggage and the response was rude, "go help yourself". Secondly, the internet connection is so slow and gets disconnected all the time. We had to sit at the room door just to catch the signal! How painful!! Lastly, the breakfast was not good, food was not fresh and the lady who works there looks at you as if you are eating her own food!

Room Tip: Never book a room at this hotel. VERY expensive compared to what it offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEKentFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our deepest apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kent State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kent State University

Address: 1215 Sanctuary View Drive, Kent, OH 44240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Kent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kent State University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Kent, Ohio is a 74 room and suites hotel, easily accessible of I-76 at exit 33. We are the smart choice when choosing a hotel in the Kent, Akron, Ravenna and Tallmadge areas.Rapidly rising in popularity of hotels in Northeast Ohio, this hotel is the most convenient location to the Kent State University Campus, Northeast Ohio College of Medicine (NEOUCOM), Summit Racing, Hess Print Solution, Goodyear Tire & Rubber, Bridgestone Invitational, and Lockheed Martin.Business travelers look to our hotel to provide them with more amenities than they could find elsewhere. We Feature an over sized fitness room, state-of-the-art aerobic equipment, with a view into our elongated indoor pool. Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel meets every guest s need. The Smart Start breakfast is always a hit, but we are told that the sweet tidbits and evening snacks served with a smiling face, take hospitality to an excellent level.Leisure travelers find our hotel convenient to the Kent Folk Festival, Portage County Fairgrounds, Summit County Fairgrounds, Soap Box Derby, Hartville Flee Market, NFL Hall of Fame, Ravenna Balloon-A-Thon, Firestone & other Ohio Golf Courses. Visit nearby Downtown Akron W/First Night, AA Founders Day & Akron U.We are one of the first hotels in Ohio to offer a 100% smoke free environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kent State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University Hotel Kent
Holiday Inn Kent
Kent Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Kent State University Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Kent State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.