We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have seen this in school” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glacial Grooves State Memorial

Glacial Grooves State Memorial
739 Division St, Kelleys Island, OH 43438
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Wish I could have seen this in school”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is pretty interesting and does take only about 15-20 minutes to explore. I'm glad I saw it, and I learned some neat things, but when you only see part of one, it kind of looks like a big ditch. I can see how it bores some people. Still doesn't mean that you shouldn't see it once. Just don't plan your whole day around it. Check out the beach or the winery, or both.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    33
    18
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“def worthwhile to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you visit Kelleys Island, you definitely need to stop and see the glacial grooves. Its crazy to stand there and read the information and try to imagine that the area where you are standing used to be a giant glacier! Historical. A must see.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amherst, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Actual glacial evidence!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

These are large grooves carved out by the glaciers with a fenced-in walkway around the site and plenty of informative signs/pictures explaining the history. (Not a lot of parking) When we were kids, (60's) only a small area was cleared and we climbed all over this huge "rock," not knowing the historical significance of this beautiful place on Kelly's Island!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
849 reviews 849 reviews
562 attraction reviews
Reviews in 292 cities Reviews in 292 cities
1,314 helpful votes 1,314 helpful votes
“Among the Best Examples in the World of Glacial Grooves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

If you visit Kelleys Island be sure to stop by and see the glacial grooves as they are among the best examples in the world of grooves carved in rock (limestone in this case) by a glacier as it slowly drifts above. In this case, it was the Wisconsin glacier that did the carving during the last ice age. The grooves are located at the very north end of Division Street across from the state park which offers camping, an excellent lake beach and a boat ramp.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio USA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“World Famous and a "Must"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I'm amazed at the number of northern Ohioans who have never visited Kelley's Island, so it's no surprise that the glacial grooves are beautifully peaceful. I love the peace, but this historic and geologic place is world famous and deserves more visitors. I've been lucky enough to have been going to the island and making an annual pilgrimage to the grooves for over 40 years. I remember when there was still a bit of "glacial gloss" on the grooves that shone with a pearlesence as the sun came up in the east and spread its long rays through the grooves early in the morning. Thanks to the Ohio Historic Society there are very informative plaques along the grooves to help you understand their significance. If you're adventurous and curious, you'll be able to find other grooves on the island - granted not as fabulous - but these won't be fenced off and you'll literally have a chance to touch time when you find them and run your hands along them. Hike the quarries, visit the northeast shore, find the Alvar, wander along the beaches - these places are quiet and beautiful in themselves, but they hold hidden geologic treasures too if you make the effort to get away from the downtown hangouts and discover the quiet side of Kelley's Island.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacial Grooves State Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Glacial Grooves State Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacial Grooves State Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.