We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Independence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Independence to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Independence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6191 Quarry Lane, Independence, OH 44131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Independence
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“Upgraded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

When I arrived, after a hectic drive, the room I was assigned hadn't been cleaned yet. I returned to the desk and told them this. They almost immediately offered me an upgrade with no extra charge. Needless to say, I was very happy with that kind of service, and with the new room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for allowing us to serve your hotel needs, and that we were able to accommodate you with a upgradeto a room with a view. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and shared with our staff. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
34
23
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed with comfort inn. The independence location. We stayed 2 nights 2 days. We were celebrating our anniversary !! Check in was very quick and simple. We had a King whirlpool room. We requested a room on the 3rd floor and got it.(Room 306) The room was gorgeous beautiful view of downtown Cleveland . Very quiet. Whirlpool was so relaxing . The hole in the wall that allowed us to see to the bed from the whirlpool was romantic. There was a fridge and microwave. My wife & I got the best nights sleep . They offer wake up calls. They answered all of my billions of questions and were very accommodating. We ate at The winking Lizard that was right next to the hotel. Great food. Free parking at hotel . Vending and ice machines on every floor. Wonderful continental breakfast. Great selection of breakfast items that are healthy and filling! Lots of gas stations around the area and shopping. We had such a great stay and we would love to come back! !!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review of our Comfort Inn hotel. We are very pleased that we were able to offer you a pleasant experience on you recent visit to our area and do hope that you will be able to return soon


Vanetta Zervas
General Manager
Independence Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our room was clean and the bed comfy. Service was friendly. The little buck that seemed to make himself at home in front of the hotel was nice to see. Would go back again as it was conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It is always nice to hear pleasant coments in reference to our hotel and staff. Our local deer is is always very entertaining to watch.. Glad you enjoyed your visit and all, at the Independence Comfort Inn look forward to your next visit.

Respectfully
Vanetta Zervas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've now stayed here numerous times since my first review.

TOP RECOMMENDATION: Ask for the 3rd floor! If you secure a top floor room, you'll have a GREAT STAY.

The First and Second floors are a noisier since you can hear foot traffic. Not terrible, but noticeable.

Staff is above and beyond friendly.

Be sure to check out the deer that stops by daily.

Room Tip: Top floor is ideal for noise sensitive travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I do enjoy hearing good things about my employees.
Hopefully our up comming renovation will help with the noise. Glad you enjoyed our deer.
We look forward to your next visit.

Respectfully

Vanetta Zervas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on the second floor at this hotel for several days a week prior to this post due to the price and location. My first experience would have been ranked 3 stars- average, despite mildew smell which I traced to the compromised window growing mold in the window track.
Second visit- I am transferring my week long reservation and those of my coworkers. Numerous and obvious loooong hair in the shower in addition to pubic hair, yellow stained toilet, with missing tile. The more I looked the more filth I saw- some type of liquid dripping down the wall showed the staff clearly DO NOT clean the bathrooms. I was absolutely horrified and disgusted. It is 1:35am and I don't want to touch anything. This is the dirtiest room I have ever been in and it looks "renovated". Take a look at the pictures...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Please accept my apology for the displeasure you experienced at our hotel.

We will be undergoing renovationg many more of our rooms very shortly, as I am

writing this responce we are installing new windows and new bedding in all rooms.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to show that we can and will do better.

Respectfully

Vanetta Zervas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I were joined by 5 other couples for a weekend stay while we visited the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The hotel is located close to major highways in a suburb of Cleveland. In the immediate vicinity are a number of other mid-range hotels and a good selection of restaurants that spans all budgets.

The hotel received mixed reactions from our group. In terms of accommodations, most found the hotel to be acceptable. Generally our collective opinion was that the rooms were a good size and comfortable (though rather dated in décor), the beds were comfortable beds and the climate control worked well. Two couples found their bathrooms did not meet their expectations due to evidence of mould and mildew. All felt that the breakfast was inadequate, not replenished quickly enough with inadequate seating space for the number of rooms.

All in all, we considered it to be an average hotel for the price. There was nothing terribly wrong with it (on average) nor was it outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad you were able to enjoy our city.

We are on schedule for updating and renovation in the very near future, and hope you will give us a opportunity to serv you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I always provide reviews for the hotels I stay in. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Their is an outdoor pool area and a very small lobby area. The hotel itself could use some renovations to stay competitive with the other hotels within the area.

If you are looking for a decent priced hotel without the bells and whistles, I would recommend you stay here. It serves its purpose for providing a place to sleep. The hotel itself is small, the walls are very thin and the breakfast was average.

My recommendation is to stay someplace else if you are looking to spend time in the hotel. If you are going to occupy your time with plenty of activities during the day and use this hotel to sleep, I would recommend it.

The hotel was average and for the purpose of my visit, I was okay with it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnIndy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Independence, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and th kind words for our hotel staff.

Our hotel is on schedule for renovation in the very near future.

We look forward to your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Independence

Address: 6191 Quarry Lane, Independence, OH 44131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Independence 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cleveland South/Independence Hotel Independence
Independence Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Independence Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.