We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute stop - should have gone on...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6020 Quarry Lane, Independence, OH 44131   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Independence
Timmins, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Last minute stop - should have gone on...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were four travelling on three motorcycles - my son & I on two bikes, his friend and his friend's wife on the third bike. We spotted the Red Roof Inn from the highway and given the high ratings the chain normally receives in reviews, we stopped and used wireless internet at a restaurant next door to assist in securing rooms for the night, and then headed over. Once our luggage had been removed from our bikes, my son & I entered our room The couple accompanying us came over to let us know that their room had not been adequately cleaned. His wife pulled the covers off our beds and sure enough, not only had they also been slept in, there were pubic hairs in the bed linen in one of them. We all headed over to the office. Upon learning of this, the clerk was mortified. We were given keys to fresh rooms. The couple was in luck - their new room was clean, but ours wasn't. My son & I made the trek back to the office. I offered that if the clerk gave us fresh linens, we'd make the beds ourselves. The clerk told us that we couldn't be expected to make our own beds, but we also couldn't remain in that room as there was no spare linen available. She made a call to the owner and was authorized to offer us rooms in the main building. We'd already moved twice, now - using a housekeeping cart - we were moving a third time only to find that this room had also not received a thorough cleaning but at least the beds were OK, and we'd only be in the room for a few hours, so we opted to stay. The couple opted to remain in the other building. Final tally - we checked five rooms to get two, and had we not settled for these, would have had to move on... Not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelandAM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your stay from last June of 2012 but were unable to validate your comments. We take great pride in the quality and cleanliness of our newly renovated rooms. Please feel free to contact us directly to discuss the problems you describe and what we can do to earn your business back.
Thank-you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    43
    37
    8
    14
See reviews for
40
51
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have stayed here many times and have been very pleased. The hotel is comfortable and the location is great and the rates are good. They take the Cats with out an extra charge, which is always a plus. The rooms are clean and amply furnished. While they do not have food, the restaurant next store is a reasonable alternative! This was not my best stay however, but I arrived later then usual and the one room left was not the best of rooms. In spite of that I would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Check in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelandAM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Charley-
Thanks for writing a review on your recent stay in Cleveland. I'm glad you like us for our comfort, location and price. We'll see you next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

During a recent business trip to Cleveland I was bumped out of my reservation at the Embassy Suites and forced to stay at the Red Roof Inn nearby. When I entered the lobby of what I thought was a cheap, low quality hotel I was immediately greeted by a young man and an older gentleman. I was cheerfully greeted and told they were expecting me. WOW! They were expecting me! I wasn't expecting that - they immediately got me checked into my room that they called their Superior King; a modern room with hardwood flooring and upscale fixtures. The bed was more comfortable than many 4 star hotels I've stayed in. I also had a microwave and small refrigerator. Although the facility was older, it had been recently renovated. I loved the fact that the entire hotel is a non-smoking property.
Besides the wonderful room, I have to say the best part of my stay was the staff. I actually declined Embassy's offer to return for my 2nd night - why would I do that? I will now be staying at the Red Roof Inn when I make my quarterly trip to Cleveland! I really felt like they wanted me to be their guest! How often do you get that nowadays?
Thank-you for making me a new customer.
Steven H.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate you. I have shared your remarks with my team and they are happy to hear about your experience. We pride ourselves on providing our guests clean and comfortable room, along with great guest service. I am glad that your experience was a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you again during your next stay in Cleveland-Independence.

Sincerely,
Kurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We make frequent trips to Cleveland Clinic. On the first trip, we took a chance on the Red Roof in Independence, OH. We were not disappointed, and stay there every trip since. This clean and spacious hotel is pet friendly (very important to those of us with a service dog), near the Clinic, and most accommodating. Staff is attentive to our special requests, very friendly and helpful regarding locale (like where to eat and how to minimize exposure to traffic jams). We just learned they have special rates for patients at the Clinic, which is an unexpected and delightful bonus. You cannot beat the service, quality, and accommodations at Red Roof Independence for the price. Color us very pleased!

Room Tip: We prefer a business king to have room for a service dog and for the added computer desk. Wi-Fi con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We are pleased that we have been able to accommodate you. I have shared your remarks with my team and they are happy to hear about your experience. We do offer special rates for Cleveland Clinic Patients. Please contact us directly to make your reservations at 216-447-0030. We look forward to seeing you again during your next stay in Cleveland-Independence.

Sincerely,
Kurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Long story short... My owner had a hissy fit and had the company credit cards turned off on a Friday. He told no one. I went on the road Saturday evening with my small personal credit card and company credit card. The rental car company sucked up all credit on personal card. My booked hotel, where I am a Diamond member, basically told me to tell my story walking. No discount. No checks. No wait till tomorrow (it was after 11 PM). Up the street Tim was working the night shift at Red Roof Inn. I told him my tale of woe. He found a way to get me in for the few dollars cash I had in my pocket. Next morning, I got some things figured out, and kept the rest of my stay at that property, because they helped me...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased to hear that Tim was able to assist you. I have shared your great comments with Tim and he is glad that he was able to make your experience a great one. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service. We look forward to seeing you again during your next stay in Cleveland-Independence.

Sincerely,
Kurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

How refreshing to find customer service at it's finest! Not only was our room upgraded, they also gave us free tickets to the Rock snd Roll Hall ofFame! The front desk staff were superior from our check in to the upgrade and tickets to directing us to a great pkace to eat. WOW! Stay at this Red Roof Inn you will have a marvelous experience. Hats off to the grest staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B, Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. I have shared your experience with my staff and they are happy that they could assist you in making your stay a great one. We pride ourselves on providing our guests great service and a clean and comfortable room. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Cleveland-Independence area.

Regards,
Kurt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed.
I guess I am used to 3 stars hotels or more, so maybe my expectations were a little too high for a 2 star hotel. But based on all the positive reviews, I decided take a chance on the Red Roof Inn since I was only going to be there for a few of hours overnight (got there around 11:30pm and was scheduled to leave at 6:30am)
As soon as I walked in the lobby, I smelled smoke. Meanwhile, the whole lobby is plastered with signs advertising that this was a smoke free hotel. When I asked the desk clerk about the smell, and whether the rooms also smelled like this, he first indicated that there was no smell. Then he mentionned "oh, there was another guest that was just here. Maybe that's why you smell smoke." hmm, not a food first impression. Thankfully, the room did not smell...
There was mold/rust in the shower and toilet. The washroom itself was tiny, as well as the toilet bowl. It was soooo low to the floor. Almost felt like I was in a kid's playhouse. The towels were small as well. Maybe they figured that if everything is small...you will think everything is standard size.
The heater is probably the loudest machine I ever heard. I couldn't sleep with all the noise, so I turned it off, even though it was quite cold in the room. But I needed some sleep.
The pillows were too hard. Had to put them aside and sleep without pillows...
The only reason didn't head out of there was because it was already 11:30pm and I had to work early the next morning.
Being that its a 2 star hotel, I knew I shouldn't expect too much, but overall, the loud A/C unit + rusty and tiny washroom made my stay there unbearable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClevelandAM, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I'm so very sorry that we fell short of meeting your expectations. The problems you describe are certainly not the norm here. Would you please contact me directly to let me know which room you stayed in? That way I can make sure we address your concerns. We realize you have a choice in where to stay when you travel and appreciate you choosing Red Roof.
Warm regards,
Jon
216.447.0030
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence

Address: 6020 Quarry Lane, Independence, OH 44131
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Independence
#1 Business Hotel in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is newly renovated and 100% Smoke-Free! The Superior King room features a King-sized bed, desk with large work area, microwave and mini refrigerator. Our Standard Double features 2 extra long full-sized beds, desk and comfortable seating. All rooms include free wireless internet. This location is within walking distance to great restaurants. 10 minutes to Downtown Cleveland, Horseshoe Casino, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and many other attractions. Easy access to interstates I-77, I-480, I-80, I-271, and I-90. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Independence
Independence Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.