We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Much More” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6001 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Independence
Southfield, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expected Much More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year for a weekend event and the room was fairly nice but this time around I stayed overnight and I was not as pleased. I was very unhappy that the couch looked older and there was only 1 phone in the room. The phone was not located next to the bed but across the room by the television.....what sense does that make......further more why isnt there another phone in the room? The curtains also looked like they needed to be cleaned/changed; I was surely disappointed. I am very particular about cleanliness in hotels especially because of bugs and previous experiences at hotels. The most distrubing of all was the 'bed tax' that they add to your bill that was almost $10. I was not a happy customer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest:
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. We do have one phone in the room and we do put it on the desk to accommodate guests who are working at the desk. The bed tax is a county tax strictly for hotels in Cuyahoga County and it does run 8.25% of your room rate. This is applicable at all hotels in our county. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to service your hotel needs the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    31
    16
    17
See reviews for
26
17
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minster, Ohio
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel has a lot of features in a pretty good location. The bar is nice and is normally busy. They had a live band playing on a Tuesday night. The breakfast buffet was good with nice selections.
The room of normal size with king bed. The conference center is nice and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit with us. We are definately a great hotel for conferences. We offer a lot of meeting space and is in a great location. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hotel is a little older, but has been well maintained. Staff was excellent, rooms were clean, restaurant on site was convenient and the food was acceptable.

I will definitely stay here again when in the Cleveland area.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor, external noise level was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Matt S:

Thank you for choosing us on your recent stay to the Cleveland - Independence area. Yes, we are very fortunate to have been here for some time, yet we consistently work on improving and maintaining the quality of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was very impressed when I first arrived and was greeted as a Priority Club member. Made me feel very welcome. The room was very nice & clean. The pool was large and enjoyed a bit of time relaxing. The restaurant staff was excellent. We had the breakfast buffet both days and it was delicous and staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sue C:
Thank you for staying with us and for being a loyal member of Priority Club. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to see you were able to take full advantage of almost all the amenities we have to offer. We hope to see you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've held our company events at the Holiday Inn for several years. The staff is great and really work with you to make it stress free. The food selection is excellent and very reasonably priced. They even helped us develop a speciality drink for our event. The location in Independence is centrally located and easy access to all major highways. It's one as the few places that can handle a party of 400+. Book early since dates around the holidays fill up quickly. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The bar is always jumping on the weekends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your continued patronage. We thank you for your nice comments regarding your experiences with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for a convention in March. Not much doing at that time of the year. The hotel is not a resort hotel but has a nice pool and fitness area. The staff is very nice and very efficient. If you need something, they come right up and get it for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We very much appreciate your business. We try very hard each and every day to take great care of our guests. We hope to see you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling from Florida and book this through priceline for $52 a night..nice. business area to use no charge...bed comfy...little store they had up front had out of dates..but the hotel was very nice and the manager on duty was very friendly!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We certainly hope we can be your home away from home the next time you are in our area. Bring that sunshine from Florida with you next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence

Address: 6001 Rockside Road, Independence, OH 44131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strategic location of this Cleveland area hotel, the Holiday Inn Cleveland South Independence provides easy access to such downtown attractions as the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Quicken Loans Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, and Playhouse Square.At the crossroads of Cleveland's primary arteries; I-77 and I-480, our hotel is just 12 miles from Cleveland Hopkins International Airport. The hotel offers complimentary airport shuttle service from 6 AM to 11 PM daily.Guests will enjoy our complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, sauna, and fitness center. Michael's Grille restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy dancing the night away in our high energy lounge with live entertainment Tuesday - Saturday in Impulse Lounge. With over 20,000 square feet of meeting space, our Cleveland area hotel is ideal for your next event be it a corporate meeting, convention, wedding, business dinner, or family reunion.For our Priority Club Members, ask about our newly renovated Priority Club Floor with key accessed lounge serving Continental breakfast, snacks and soft drinks. The lounge also offers a computer with Internet access. Whether travelling on business or pleasure, make the Holiday Inn Cleveland South Independence your home away from home!The hotel is currently undergoing renovations of the lobby, guest lobby, and conference rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence Hotel Independence
Holiday Inn Independence
Independence Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.