We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this place a try....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6200 Quarry Lane, Independence, OH 44131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early. Save 20%
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Independence
Apollo Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Give this place a try....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

This hotel is not a bad option for anyone visiting the Greater Cleveland area. It is easily accessable from anywhere in Greater Cleveland and Akron areas. Parking is plentiful. We were assigned to a nice king bedded room on the executive floor. The room included a pullout sofa and a flat screen TV. We had requested a Crib and received a pack and play which worked for us. The bed while very apealing was comfortable for someone who likes a very soft bed. I on the other hand had trouble getting comfortable. The room was spotless. The bathroom was nice except for the slow tub drain during our showers, for what its worth we did not report it though. My wife and daughter had room service one afternoon and it seemed to work out well for them. We tried the bar one night and received pretty good service. I was even able to get a glass of milk for my daughter's bottle late at night. The business center had 2 computers which one of them was down. I was still able to do what I need to get done using the 1 computer after waiting about 10 minutes for the previous user to finish up. The hotel offers free high speed internet which we did not know until the morning of checkout. Checkout was a breeze being assisted by the Front Office Manager. Oh yeah be sure to get your doubletree cookie too. I would definately consider this hotel in future and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    156
    84
    54
    29
See reviews for
123
91
39
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We had a great stay in this hotel. We got a great price on the room. They gave us homemade cookies when we checked in which were delicious. The beds and bedding were really very comfortable. The room had nice extras, like a flat screen TV, free coffee, water bottles, etc. which were nice extra touches. The lobby and rooms were very nice, the hallways were a little run-down though. I wish they served a free continental breakfast. They didn't, but there is a restaurant on premise. They also have a business center when you can go on the internet and print/fax for free, which was really helpful. I forgot my toothbrush and they gave me a free toothbrush/toothpaste at the desk. The little details like that made for a nice stay. It wasn't too far of a drive from downtown Cleveland, either. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, OH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We just got back from a weekend stay at the DoubleTree. I wasn't sure what to expect upon arrival on a Friday night at a little after 11 as there were a fair amount of young men hanging around the entrance. However, they were on their way out for a night on the town and didn't bother us. Check in was a breeze. Cookies were wonderful. Hotel room was amazing. After we took our luggage up we went to the bar, service was slow and drinks were expensive. But, they were getting ready to close, so they were trying to clean up and serve at the same time and there were quite a few people in there when we arrived. We had a room on the corner and we never heard anyone else near us. I didn't request a non-smoking king room, but that's what we got and that's what we wanted. We booked on priceline and were very satisifed with the price and the location. It was within 15 minutes of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, our reason for visiting the Cleveland area. The bed was so comfortable, even by husband thought so and he is very picky! If we come back to Cleveland we will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Consistent with other reviews on the site -- this place is a 2/2.5 star property at best.

Wanted a king room and with other reviews when requesting a certain type of room (as listed in my Diamond status Hilton Honors profile) received the following answer: "sold out and only available in smoking." Smoking property in 2009? The parking lot was 90% empty all week!!

Pros:

Location very convenient to Cleveland and highways

Ample parking

Shula's 2 was tasty and had great service at reasonable prices

Cons:

99% of hotel staff (restaurant excluded)

Requests for this or that to front desk that would go unfilled (after numerous requests and days elapsed)

Conditions of exterior hallways (wall paper and smoke detectors ripped off hallway walls, etc.)

**I would love a response from the hotel GM as to why they find it acceptable to leave a Hilton Property hallways in such disrepair **

Conditions of pool area (cigarette butts discarded everywhere, hand written sticky notes informing unattended children that life saving flotation devices are not toys). "This is not a toy don't play with"

Loud wedding parties slamming doors and yelling all night long leaving behind vomit.


I would only stay here again once Hilton has cleaned house at this property.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

When we arrived we were assigned a SMOKING room. We had asked for non-smoking. The first clerk said they did not have a non-smoking room for our dates. It seemed unlikely because the parking lot was nearly empty. Discussion with another clerk led to a non-smoking room with the explanation that even though the request from Priceline asked for non-smoking, it was hard to read. Hmmm. The hotel was falling apart. The sink had a crack in it as did the toilet. Wallpaper was hanging off the walls. The gift basket we were sent did not arrive until the giver called the hotel to complain. Priceline overrated this hotel. Except for the wonderful cookies on arrival, this place is a mess--no wonder Hilton took it out of their brand name!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girlembalmer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We got this on Priceline and was very disappointed! It was suposed to be a 3 star-- HA. We were put in a smoking room. When my husband went to the front desk immediately after getting to our room -- the MANAGER said sorry but were booked and thats all we have. Well, based on the emptiness of the parking lot-- that was a lie! THere may of been 35 cars in the lot at nite. The entire place was under construction. (except the pool) I was very disappointed in Priceline for not sharing that BEFORE we got to check and discovered it on our own. THe pool seemed to of closed early but we were able to get in thru the outside pool door and relax in the hottub after a long day downtown Cleveland shopping and Indians game. The hot tub was fabulous-- extremely hot and large with killer jets! Inside the room- a 1980's dorm size fridge and cheap "cherry like" furniture. The bathroom was very nice with large shower and granite counter top and nice sized mirror. THe hot water lasted forever!!! THe best part-- the beddings. IT was super comfy. The continental breakfast was a joke, as the Shulas 2 restaurant was open for breakfast and they wanted you to spend your money there, We were scared to attempt to have dinner there as everything else seemed to not be 3 star. Beware!! Def. not worth the $$

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Arrived on Sunday and departed on Thursday, the service was great, room was clean and the AC worked well, the on site restaurant was very well, not too costly.. For those midnight snacks, there is a snack bar on the side of the front desk, prices were cheap. I stayed here when it was a Hilton, now that it is a Doubletree they toss cookies at you at check in..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence

Address: 6200 Quarry Lane, Independence, OH 44131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our famous DoubleTree warm chocolate chip cookie upon entering our hotel. You'll be within reach of downtown Cleveland and Hopkins International Airport making it easy for guests to travel here for your next corporate event or wedding hosted in our flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Cleveland South Hotel Independence
Doubletree Hotel Independence
Doubletree Independence
Independence Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.