We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Look no further."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Rockside Woods Boulevard, Independence, OH 44131   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock & Roll HOF Package
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Independence
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Look no further."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited this hotel for a "staycation" one weekend. This hotel definitely exceeded my expectations. Very friendly, helpful staff, great happy hr in the bar and AMAZING breakfast. Everything was fresh, including made to order omelets, and very nice variety of items. Room was very spacious and clean and bed was comfy. No complaints but I would advise to check the population before booking, was a little busy in the lobby/hallways but once inside room, complete serenity. A+

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your "staycation". I will be sure to share your comments with my staff. They will be pleased to hear that they exceeded your expectations. Our lobby does get busy at times but with the spacious suites that we have for every guest stay in you feel away from it all once the door is close. Look forward to you next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    159
    72
    57
    28
See reviews for
174
65
16
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The beauty of the atrium when you walk in the free managers special, the workers at every aspect of all of our experiences. The free breakfast and the swimming pool and spa was sensational! I would recommend it to anyone, we had a girls weekend out and I recommend everyone go there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
This is an Awesome review. So glad to you hear about your girls weekend. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations and it seems we hit a home run with you and your girl friends. We look forward to servicing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Tried to get a hotel in downtown Cleveland, but nothing available due to the Browns season opener and the Indians homestand against the Mets. Found availability 7 miles away at the Embassy Suites Rockside. Great value with rooms going for a little over $100 with free buffet breakfast and Managers happy hour daily. You will need to rent a car though if you want to go anywhere, since the hotel is far from anything and no sidewalks for strolling. The very friendly and accommodating staff more than compensates for the dated decor. I would stay here again, but only if downtown is sold out.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the elevators and you should be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Always like to hear the word "friendly" because that is the type of service I am expecting all of our guests to receive. We look forward to your next visit with regardless if the downtown is booked or not we would love to service you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent one night at this property while visiting the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. It's a first generation Embassy Suites property with the rooms surrounding a soaring atrium, much like the Embassy Suites where I stayed in downtown Atlanta two years ago. I shudder to think of how much it must cost to heat or air-condition all that dead space these days, but that's not really the point of this review.

Although the property is showing its age in some ways, the room was clean, well appointed and very comfortable. A full hot breakfast is served in the atrium every morning with omelets made to order, a welcome relief from the weak coffee and stale croissants fare that passes for breakfast at many hotels.

One drawback of this hotel is isolation. You need a car to stay here. Other than the hotel's own restaurant, there is no place to eat within reasonable walking distance or without crossing busy streets. There is public transportation, but riding the bus to downtown Cleveland means a half-mile walk to the bus stop and then a 45 or 70 minute ride on the bus depending on which route you take.

Also, bring your own internet if you can. The hotel wi-fi is not included in the room rate and expensive.

If you are planning to do touristy things in the Cleveland area, check into the packages this hotel offers. We paid $189 for a package that included a one-night stay in a room with a king bed and two tickets to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. If I had just booked the room, the rate would have been about the same for an equivalent room. The adult tickets to the Hall are worth $44. There is a similiar deal for the Football Hall of Fame in Akron.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am please to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am please to annouce that our hotel is planning on renovating in the year 2014. I would also like to point out that we are tucked away on Rockside Woods Blvd which helps with the peace in quiet and that you don't have to compete with other commerical establishments nearby. Also we have a complimentary shuttle that takes you anywhere in a 5 mile radius. So if you are like me and don't want to cross a busy intersection you can take the shuttle and can be at a trendy restaurant in just minutes.
Hope to service you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was on business in the area and chose the Embassy Suites purely for location. I do not travel often, but enjoyed the amenities that the hotel had to offer. I needed a shuttle to and from work and the Embassy was great in planning these trips. The only problem with the shuttle was that only one shuttle was in operation so I had to wait about an hour and a half to get a ride home from work. The breakfast was phenomenal, friendly staff, and clean facilities. Overall great trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. From your comments it seems that you enjoyed your stay. My staff will be very pleased to hear this. Truly sorry about the transportation situation. We had to get the van in for repair to ensure everything like AC would be operation for when we needed to use it. It is now fixed and ready for some passengers. Look forward to servicing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Generic mid to lower middle range business class hotel. Worn out and in need of a major updating. It's in the middle of no where. $25-30 cab ride to downtown Cleveland. Staff friendly. Expert many rings before the front desk picks up telephone. The telephone in my room looked like it had been reassembled after a truck ran over it. It worked as expected after a truck accident. Had to call at 330pm when my room had still not been cleaned for the day. Not the kind of place where you are getting a robe and slippers. Free breakfast middle range. Did have omelette station. Coffee as weak as water.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are working toward a room renovation in 2014. We are a business hotel that has robes upon request. Do not get many requests for "slippers" but it is definitely something we can look at so thanks for the suggestion. We are about 10 mins to downtown. The best part about our hotel is you do not have to pay for parking. Downtown you would have to pay a sizeable fee. Again we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alden, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This property is in a small suberb of Ohio, yet right off the highway allowing easy access to all of Clevelands attractions. Plenty of restauants very close by. The hotel is typical embassy, with spacious clean rooms, comfortable beds, microwave, rifrigerator and wet bar in the room.
The staff was very accomodating and went out of their way to check in with us to assure that everything was ok with our stay. Nice pool, free cocktails during happy hour and a wonderful made to order breakfast all included in a compatitive rate. We would definately stay at this location again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the highway are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear to your truly enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to my staff. We look forward to servicing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside

Address: 5800 Rockside Woods Boulevard, Independence, OH 44131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Cleveland Rockside
Embassy Suites Independence
Independence Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside Independence, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Cleveland-Rockside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.