We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly; nice golf course.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawmill Creek Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sawmill Creek Resort to your Saves list
Sawmill Creek Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Sawmill Creek Drive, Huron, OH 44839   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Delaware, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean and friendly; nice golf course.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a good place to hold a conference. Plenty of hotel rooms in a large connected conference center. Food is good and amenities are clean.

Lake Erie is a reaonable walk away, and they have a beach within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    45
    32
    17
See reviews for
55
55
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended a SCUBA conference in Huron, Ohio and chose to overnight at the seminar location. The Lodge has a nice “woods” setting with very inviting interior design and décor & it appears to be a choice of many upscale & government organizations for off-site meetings. However, the drawback is only one elevator services the entire complement of 160 upper level rooms in four buildings arranged railroad car style. If you are on an upper floor in the furthest building ~ it’s a long push of your luggage trolley for more than a hundred yards to your distant room. [Not good.] This was a major downer, not relieved by an absence of adequate interior directions and informational signage. It also carries a 25% local government tax burden on top of the expensive accommodations. It’s a nice place to visit but I wouldn’t like to stay there, again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room "close to the only elevator".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Great resort! I was just there for a national convention and found Sawmill Creek Resort a perfect choice. Located next to Lake Erie, they offer RV parking, multiple activities and accommodates large gatherings such as conventions to weddings.The rooms are clean and we loved our room which included a fireplace. The Tom Fazio golf course was well kept and so much fun to play. Another wonderful surprise was how great the food was on premise! Whether eating one at of the restaurants or buffet style at our awards dinners it was enjoyed by all! Wonderful presentation, selection and taste.

I highly recommend Sawmill Creek Resort!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Sawmill Creek Resort thanks you for your recent stay and review. The golf course is a championship, Tom Fazio designed 18 hole course that is located on the resort. The dining options are wonderful. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Stayed here for my friends wedding. Beautiful area and has an attached golf course. The bar was pretty cool, though the food is below average. The rooms are pretty pricey for what you get, but like I said the grounds are cool. They had an indoor pool and a variety of game room areas. I certainly had a good time, feel like a 2 star marriott room was nicer. If you're ever up visiting cedar point or a one thing def stay here, but a one thing side from this resort there is nothing up here.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Sawmill Creek Resort thanks you for your recent stay and review. There are plenty of options to explore while staying at Sawmill Creek and the surrounding area. Cedar Point is only seven miles from the resort. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I really wanted to give 3.5 stars, there was a wedding that we drove from Virginia for and the facility did a good job of putting on the wedding/reception. Thus I would give 4 stars to the meeting room facilities and the common lounges. The rooms though are simply adequate, for the price paid I would have expected a good national/international hotel chain room in a good sized city. The bathroom was the real sticking point, both the sink and tub took minutes to drain and the weak shower pressure dropped several times during a shower with audible pipe shaking noises behind the wall. The grounds are nice, the common areas inviting, its just a good chunk of money for average rooms.

Room Tip: Recommend a suite if you have a baby/young child to wall them off for naps/etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Sawmill Creek Resort appreciates your recent stay and review. I have passed on your review to the proper departments to be addressed. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

My hubby purchased the Romance package at Sawmill Creek Resort for our Anniversary. The picnic lunch was wonderful. We got the wine, cheese, bread and fruit basket. We had the lunch right by the Lake Erie shore which is on the property. A tablecloth to sit on and enjoy the meal and it was romantic listening to the waves hit the shore. The room was clean and comfortable (alittle dated). However love the rustic feel throughout the lodge. The Sunday brunch was excellent and the price was great! We will definitely go back and spend more time.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Sawmill Creek Resort thanks you for your recent stay and review. The Romance Package is one of the more popular packages that we offer and the picnic lunch is a perfect way to spend some time on Lake Erie. Our Sunday Brunch is excellent and is featured each Sunday year round. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Park, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I took my friend to an overnight stay at Sawmill Creek for a girls night out. It was everything I could have dreamed of and MORE!!! I go to Cedar Point alot and ususally stay in The Breakers Hotel. This was a really nice change. Our room was really nice... I got the Papermoon Winery pacakge and it was well worth it. Received a complimentary bottle of wine with 2 Sawmill Creek Resort wine glasses. Also got a discount for $20.00 off a bottle of wine at Papermoon Winery as well as a $15.00 voucher to be used in the Sawmill Creek giftshop. The restaurants in the lodge were extremely nice...we had a beuatiful view of a running creek, spotlights shining on trees and watching birds while in Salmon Run for dinner. The food was excellent. We also received 2 complimentary tickets for a hot breakfast in the morning. When we asked our server what our options were for breakfast we really surprised at the response. We were told we could either order anything off of the menu or we could visit the breakfast bar that they had set up. Again, food and the view was PERFECT!!! Close to Cedar Point as well as alot of other attractions. Pools were really nice, both indoor and outdoor. The Lodge Lobby is GORGEOUS, there is a pool table and more... also forgot to mention that our room had a fireplace in it!!! :) GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!! Will defintely be going back with my boyfriend...

Room Tip: I was just reading some of the other reviews and apparently rooms with the fireplaces are really nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Sawmill Creek Resort thanks you for your recent stay and review. It sounds as if you had a wonderful time while visiting us!! The Papermoon Wine Package is among several packages that we offer. There are beautiful views from inside and outside the resort and Cedar Point is only a few miles away. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Drive, Huron, OH 44839
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawmill Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.