We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawmill Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sawmill Creek Resort to your Saves list
Sawmill Creek Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Sawmill Creek Drive, Huron, OH 44839   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good service, clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We just spent New Years eve here. It was nice. Our room was nice, clean and comfortable.
We chose to stay here for their New Years eve party which included the room and entertainment with breakfast.
It was very convenient to be able to ring in the New Year and go back to the room without having to drive or take a cab. The next time you are looking for a good New Years eve Party, Sawmill does it up right, They do set up a casino, but we were there for the music, so we did not check into it. .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordyn B, Guest Services Coordinator at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing Sawmill Creek to help you ring in the New Year! We are so happy that you were pleased with your stay. We hope that you will consider coming to enjoy all that the resort has to offer in the summer months too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    63
    45
    32
    17
See reviews for
56
57
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have not been here in over thirty years and was very surprised when I arrived for my overnight stay. It is absolutely gorgeous and all dressed up for Christmas. The Christmas lights and displays are wonderful. We were a party of eleven, so we had three rooms; and all three were super. Pillows perfect, bed comfy, great view of the Christmas lights out our windows. I was very concerned after ready some of the reviews on here. I don't know where those bad reviewers stayed but it certainly was not Sawmill Creek!! It is very clean, staff is superb, food was excellent and the entertainment was awesome also! I can't wait to go back for their Sunday Brunch.

Room Tip: First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordyn B, Guest Services Coordinator at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sawmill Creek Resort for this special event. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and are looking forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have been to this brunch a couple of times. It definitely does not disappoint!! The staff is very friendly, the food is awesome and the presentation of the desert bar is absolutely beautiful!! It really just makes you wish you could eat more!! This is open to the public and is located inside the resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

and not in a good way. I was part of a conference and experienced the hotel in September.
The food looks and tastes like a remnant of the 80s. The fried walleye, the baked brie are the worst exectuions that I have seen in a very long time. We were rushed with such a concern to place our orders before 10 PM that it took the joy out of being part of the hotel. [from the desk clerk to the servers in the restaurant; they must be afraid of the wrath of the chef] A very stale and unsustainable way of thinking of guests and service. The hallways and rooms are noisy. If you must stay here turn the A/C fan on to high, it will give you plenty of "white noise" unless you prefer the hallway or your neighbor's noise to the rattling of A/C parts
The pillows have not been changed for new ones for a long time therefore you need 6 of them to prop your head. I could not find a hair dryer and the hangers are cumbersome to use. If you do not get to the front desk before 8 o'clock your chances of recieving a complimentary newspaper dwindles to 0. On the way out I would have loved to hear something magical, like " thank you for staying with us, could we have done anything better? did you enjoy your stay?.........nothing.
I rest my case

Room Tip: try another hotel if there is one if not choose an upper floor away from the elevator and soda machi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a good time here, but everything just felt old and trapped in the 80's. The pool is old, the hot tub wasn't hot enough, the room TV is too small, the bathtub/shower has seen better days. It's over priced IMO. More of a budget room/amenities experience at a premium price.

With that being said I still give it a 3/5 because it has excellent grounds and lots of things to do, including golf and a private beach. The food at the Mariner's restaurant was unbelievably good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a wedding and the first room we went into the toilet was broke and was running. I called and we were given another room. The beds are wore out and only double beds. The TV was an old one and the rooms are old and the outlets are few. The odor outside our room smelled like sewer. There was a buffet for breakfast which was nice and the staff was accommodating for large group. There was another group that stayed at another hotel which was much nicer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a dirty, run down and tired motel 6 on steroids. The carpeting smells of mildew and is stained and dirty. The hallways smelled and the room (which was an upgraded king suite) is simply a room with an old green couch. For the money, this is a huge disappointment. If you don't care about clean rooms, comfortable beds and furniture from the last decade or so, this is the spot or you.

Room Tip: If you would like a clean, comfortable and well appointed room, make sure you ask directions to anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Drive, Huron, OH 44839
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawmill Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.