We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money, lied on website, NO hot tub; just awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sawmill Creek Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sawmill Creek Resort to your Saves list
Sawmill Creek Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 Sawmill Creek Drive, Huron, OH 44839   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Huron
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money, lied on website, NO hot tub; just awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The room was for a balcony King suite, we had a one room with a brick wall with fake drapes as a wall covering. The phones never worked throughout the resort. No credit card machines worked, no room service or front desk to contact. The tub in the batroom was clogged daily. They offer a hot tub & it is nothing more than a drainage system for the indoor pool that smells like sulfur or rotting eggs. We ask the service in the pool area how to make it turn on...they replied that the hot tub was cold from so many people being in it! <lied> We paid a premium price for a resort on the lake; the lake is a 2 mile walk from the hotel through a marsh (bring OFF). While checking out the cops where in the lobby, I thought the 20 or so people in line where holding a mini-riot. It was very bad. The college party above us seemed to have a good time they where screaming all night long as a group. Again, the phones where out...no staff in sight. We ate the left overs for breakfast at the buffet, liquid eggs. No way will we return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    45
    32
    17
See reviews for
55
55
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I would not recommend this "resort" if you care about a comfortable night's sleep. There really needs to be a total overhaul of the mattresses and bedding. The mattresses were so worn that I could feel the springs. The mattress cover helped a little. The sleeps were also very old as they had those little lint balls that are mist often seen on blankets or sweaters. The air conditioner worked but, it rattled and cracked all night. The bathroom faucet was missing the cover on the faucet and the sink was cracked. If they replaced the mattresses with decent ones this place would be much improved. The short shag (nasty green color). Could also benefit from a rehabilitation. It is a shame because this would be an excellent property with a little investment of resources toprovide a great night's sleep. I would not return or recommend it to others without those basic changes. I stayed for two nights and seriously considered checking out and into another place for day 2. We tougher it out. So happy to be home on a great mattress again!

Room Tip: I tried the tip about getting a first floor room. It was clean and that mattered. Before you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Heights, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place was fabulous! Just stayed for a night this past weekend. I have nine-year-old triplets. We had a blast! I brought my kids and our small dog (must be crated if not in the room with your pet). The decor was not outdated, it was Native American themed. We loved this theme! The rooms were super clean and very well stocked with little items that made you feel at home. Both the indoor and outdoor pools were beautiful! There was staff everywhere always cleaning, even at midnight! The pools were stocked with pool towels too which I never see and travel a lot! The nature preserve trail was breathtaking and the beach was fabulous too! Very clean and uncrowded! We absolutely loved everything about our stay! Our dog was very welcomed too around the property as we walked him through the halls and outside :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern, NY
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked one night at the Sawmill Creek using Hotwire and saved quite a bit off the regular rate. Check in was a breeze. We found our room ready and clean. The decor admittedly is a bit old-fashioned, kind of like a lesser version of Disney's Wilderness Lodge sort of style, but it was neat and quirky in a good way. The staff didn't impress us much. We asked when one of the onsite restaurants was open, "I don't know," was the response. Not, "Let me call over and see when they will be open," or "They are listed as closed this evening." Turns out they just hadn't unlocked the doors. The pool was nice, the grounds were nice and we took a nice walk around the golf course. It wasn't bad, but if we had paid full price, I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Althought we did not stay at the resort we rented jet skis from the marina. The wave runner was newer and in great condition. Both women that we talked to, brandy and erin I believe, were awesome. They were both professional and very down to earth, friendly and very knowlegable. The price was very readonable and overall we had a great time!! Thank you ladies.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Sawmill Creek resort for a National Dance Competition. We were charged $129 a night (considered a group rate) for a standard room. They have other types of rooms available, but they sold out of that quickly and we were unable to pick any other option. The room was disappointing. Our room was on the first floor and it smelled musty and felt moist. Friends of ours had a the same room, but on the second floor and hers was not as smelly and moist. Ask for a second floor room if you have to do a standard room. My towels and bathing suits would not dry, even though I hung them up. Everything we sat on felt like it was moist. I felt like I was sleeping in someone's wet basement. The bedspread was from 1980s. I didn't feel the room was necessarily dirty, but wasn't comfortable due to the moistness in the room. Had a hair dryer in the room. Had an old alarm clock, that I couldn't figure out how to set. Had a TV. We would have liked to have had a refrigerator but ours did not come with one and they apparently were out of them. Wifi was spotty, not always able to pick it up in the room.
I would have to say for the cost of this room I was very disappointed.
The rest of the facilities were pretty nice I thought. The convention room was large for the national's dance competition. The food in the restaurant at The Salmon Run was decent. They offered specials for our dance group every day , so I felt like they weren't gouging us with overpriced food, but also had a decent menu. I thought the food was good.
The reservation area was nice and always had a fire going. Also had a little area, inside, near pool, that had 2 fireplaces, it was nice for our dance studio to congregate later in the evening. They didn't really bother us or complain that we were being loud. They allowed us to stay in the pool area longer than it was open since adults were supervising the kids. Which was nice. They have 2 large pools and lots of areas to lounge around the pools. One pool was inside and was warm and heated. The kids never wanted to leave that area. Also had a large hot tub near the indoor pool. We spent our time off dancing at the pools and the kids seemed to enjoy that part of hotel.
They had a small coffee shop near pool that had a small menu, sold some alcohol, smoothies and ice cream. Was able to buy some breakfast foods in the morning there. Kids were disappointed in the ice cream selection. The first few days only had vanilla and moose tracks. Then one day they had butter pecan. No chocolate until the last night we were there. Disappointed. We like chocolate.
The facility has other restaurants nearby on the grounds , we never tried them.
They also have a Marina that we never got to use (again, we were there for a dance competition) . Looked nice though.
Able to walk to Lake Erie beach from facility, about a 10min walk or they will take you there if you ask on a golf cart, I believe. We just walked, it was an easy walk. Looked nice. Didn't stay long. Had a few chairs on the beach.
Looks like they have other types of places there such as patio homes and townhomes. They looked nice from the outside. Unsure if they are rentals or if they are owned by someone.
Looks like the golf course was nice that was there. Seemed to take good care of the grounds.
They also had a few shops near the entrance to the resort, but we didn't get to go in them.
They had bike rentals also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was there for 2 nights due to a conference, the rooms are very poor and even found it NOT clean. For this I blame immediately to the reception but could not change the room since it was fully booked. They wanted to send the cleaner but at the end nothing occur. Even the facilities were poor there was no WiFi in the room and cable was required which is supplied but at the didn’t work!
Rooms are miserable and nor refurbished, specially the one at second floor. BTW it smell horrible they spray home deodorant which turn out to be not pleasant at all, that means that something needs to be hided. The price is even too high for what you get, the good thing we had a discount due to the conference.
The only positive thing is the surrounding with the golf field and the staff which were nice.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the ground floor they should be a bit better as they are partially refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawmill Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Drive, Huron, OH 44839
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawmill Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.