We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plantation Motel
2815 Cleveland Rd East, Huron, OH 44839   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Huron
Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Not what we expected. 1st room was for five, but very dirty. Watch out when opening cabinets. It came off in my daughters hand. We actually had to switch to a cleaner room. The one motel room we rented was so small you could barely walk around the bed. There were cigarette burns on the bed covers. The suite we switched to seemed better, we came in late to go to bed and there were hairs on the pillows and sheets of one bed, so someone actually slept on towels. Not a place to take small kids and feel comfortable with them on any floors or bedspreads.The so called fire pit we envisioned sitting around making smores, was nothing more than a cars rim. The golf practice was a tiny net you hit into. There was an open area by the lake, but no place to sit except for one picnic table. We had four families, but we could not all be together in one area without a lot of improvising for seats and space. My brother-in-law couldn't stand erect in the short shower. Even the rooms for five did not have enough seats for five people to gather. My 14 year old daughter tried to pass the time outside of the room with her grandpa's metal detector, which brought in 11 centsand a pop can. Her grandfather watched and discussed her findings in what he thought was a nice conversation with the owner. A short time later the owner decided she might find something of value and actually asked us to make her stop so he could be the one to find a fortune. I am not kiddding! Now we were back to finding a way to entertain the troops. Maybe the beach? Nope, full of glass and metal poles. We did get to see the inside of a three bedroom house, but even though it was better than what we had, the amenities were still not up to par. Oh, watch out for the drop off in the pool. It goes from 4 feet to 7 feet without a gradual slope. Just a drop off. Not the family getaway we envisioned, but it was too dificult to move four families. I would only recommend this place to fisherman looking for a place to lay their heads for the night. Very disappointing! Even camping would have been better.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
17
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

As the title says. Individual cabins providing all the necessary amenities including kitchens for extended stays. RV spaces with hookups. Plenty of trees for shade. Accomodating staff. A very pleasant place to stay for a weekend or an extended period. Prices seemed reasonable to me.

Sorry, but I have no photos.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Tiny shower stall
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

Plantation Motel is situated between some of the best boat ramps on the South Shore of Erie. Very convenient for tourists (Cedar Point), and fisherman alike. Plenty of boat parking along with fish cleaning facilities and a great pool all under a shaded enviornment on the Shore of Erie. Owner takes the time to make sure all are taken care of.
Out of all the Motels on the South Shore, this is the one we keep coming back to.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Thought we had a 2 bedroom 4 twin bed room reserved. 2 bedrooms 2 queen beds is what we got. had to use the pull out couch and sleep on the floor for the 4 of us. Had to enpty our own garbage because there was only 1 garbage bag per day.
i don't know where you have to be to use the FREE WIFI. Didn't work in our room.
My son and I both caught trophy walleye. owner wanted us to go buy some garbage bags to freeze the fish in so he didn't have to give or sell us any. I thought this was uncalled for. I didn't think that was very fisherman freindly.
We will not be staying there again.

  • Disliked — attitude
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee,Wi.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

I have booked this place numerous times through out the year. Todd (owner) is a very accomodating guy and always makes certain your needs are met. I am an avid fisherman and have found the cottages to be an excellent value for a group.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

I have been staying at the Plantation Motel for the last 8 years. I Fish Lake Erie and spend a week in the Spring and a week in the Fall and make several trips through the summer. The Motel is close to Lake Erie boat ramps , good dinning and Cedar Point. Grounds are nice and well kept, has swimming pool and cleaning facilites for the fisherman with boat parking. Great view of the lake . If you are in the area give the Plantation a try

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

The Plantation Motel in Huron, Ohio is the perfect choice for anyone that fishes Lk. Erie for trophy Walleye. They have a very nice (well lit with water and electric) fish cleaning facility. As far as I know they are the ONLY motel in the area that has a fish cleaning station. There is plenty of parking for boats and they are only 5 minutes from the boat ramp in Huron. The owner is an avid fisherman that is always willing to share local reports and info.
They have everything from single rooms if you're only staying for a night, to houses on the beach for extended stays. We've been staying there for the last 3 years in the fall, in room 128. It is like a 2 bedroom apartment, (2 bedrooms upstairs. Full kitchen, bath and living room with pullout bed downstairs). The room has always been clean and the staff has been friendly and helpfull. If you're to tired after fishing all day to cook, you can walk across the street to the bar/restraunt with your cleaned catch and they will cook it for you. Very convenient!
We stayed once during the summer months and it was ideal. After a day at Cedar Point, it was approximately a 30 minute drive to the Plantation. The next day, the wife and kids played on the private beach and swam in the pool.

  • Liked — Convenient, clean, good value, pet friendly
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Motel

Address: 2815 Cleveland Rd East, Huron, OH 44839
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our wooded 5 1/2 acre grounds, and walk down our lane to our beach, a beautiful panoramic view of Lake Erie. Our accommodations offer a view of Lake Erie and Cedar Point Amusement Park. When at Cedar Point be sure to ride the new Thrill Dragster. Sandusky Ohio is only 8 miles along US Rt 6. We have 1, 3, 4 Bed Room Furnished Homes on the water and 28 units, 13 having 2 double beds, and 2 King rooms, all with shower baths. Ten minutes from Cedar Point Amusement Park and Sandusky Ohio. Along the shore of Lake Erie, Cedar Point is visible from our beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Huron
Plantation Motel Huron, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Plantation Motel to your Saves list