We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, fresh food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salmon Run Restaurant

Salmon Run Restaurant
400 Sawmill Creek Dr W, Huron, OH 44839-2261
419-433-3800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 32 Restaurants in Huron
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good, fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We went to the a Salmon Run after a long day at Cedar Point. It was a nice change of pace coming from the busy, loud amusement park with tons of fried, greasy food.
Our waitress was decent, she was friendly...however the young man at the reception desk was obviously bothered by us coming to the restaurant and interrupting his "chores"
The food took FOREVER to arrive but it was well worth the wait. My husband had the shrimp tacos-liked them, I had the pretzel-crusted chicken-very delicious. My children enjoyed their meals as well.
Drinks were slow to come but tasted decent. They have a pretty good wine list.
There was a band playing in the bar area which is the same as the Salmon Run. It was good music however very loud. We couldn't talk to each other and hear one another without shouting. Seemed kind of weird considering it's a nicer restaurant. They turned down the lights as well, leaving us to feel around for our food.
All in all, a delicious food experience but the Customer service and atmosphere were a little lacking in the more "formal" pricing they charge.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not service orientedI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Breakfast was average. Roomservice dinner was good, but when I called to order, first question was" will you be paing cash?".not service oriented

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Service Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I dined at Salmon Run two consecutive days for breakfast. The food was excellent. They had some nice options for my young daughters as well. Our servers took great care of us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Flawless fish preparation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We recently held our meeting at this resort and had one of the night's dinners at this restaurant. I chose the halibut special and others chose the walleye. The fish really was flawlessly prepared. The food was quite nicely done.
This particular night, however, the service was a challenge. It appeared that either their kitchen was under staffed or overwhelmed, as our promised 15 minute wait turned out to be more like 45 minutes for a table. Fixing this service issue, or perhaps better planning of the match between anticipated guests (given they knew there was a large convention at the resort and a wedding), and the staff would be highly recommended. Overall though, I would recommend dining here though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

While staying at the Sawmill Creek resort, we stopped in for dinner. We ordered the Prime Rib, one of the specials that night, based on the server's suggestion. It was excellent. We liked the atmosphere, the staff was attentive, and they served real horseradish with the prime rib...not the creamy stuff. Kidding aside, we would go again if we were in the neighborhood again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salmon Run Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Salmon Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salmon Run Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.