We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron to your Saves list
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Rye Beach Road, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Perrysburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Understand...this is a 4 star for a small town (bit different than a larger city with more options.) That being said, I will definitely bring my family back! Our 2nd visit - front desk could not have been more polite. Room very clean and everything we needed (bring your own shampoo!) Pool area was perfect for kids (cold outside & super warm in the water!) We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a GREAT review! Our pool area is one of the best ways to relax when its so cold out in North Central Ohio! Even though winter is just starting and its only going to get colder out, our pool will always be warm and waiting for you on your next visit!

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    24
    16
    14
See reviews for
55
27
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Certainly above average for a budget hotel. The property seems to have been recently refreshed, with small-ish but brightly decorated rooms. It is located next to a fairly busy freight rail line, but after spending an entire day at Cedar Point we had no issues getting a good night's rest.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should request a room facing away from the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to make every guests stay a positive one. We enjoy receiving any and all feedback about how we are doing, and its refreshing to hear that we are doing a good job. Thank you again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a great economy hotel for visiting Cedar Point. The property is under 20 minutes from the Cedar Point peninsula, and has easy access to OH-2. The downside of the location is the proximity to some train tracks. There was a loud train (horn blaring) about every 30-60 minutes. The bed was very comfortable, and the flat screen TV had plenty of channels to choose from, and the picture was good. The bathroom laminate floor could have been swept better, and the towels could have been softer. Bring your own shampoo, they only provide bar soap. The biggest downside was that the door to the room was difficult to properly close, so the housekeeping staff failed to secure the door each day. We kept our valuables in the car for this reason, and due to the fact they charged to use the safe in the room. I would definitely stay here again, as the rates were really good for Sandusky, and there was nothing majorly wrong with the hotel. They even give you a paper outside your door each morning!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the road, as then you will not be on the same side as the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very kindly for taking the time to share your review about your stay at our Motel 6. We value every response that we get from our guests. I'm sorry to hear that there were some issues with your door latch during your stay. I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

loved everything, the rates on the wknd are overpriced for i=being a motel 6 but on th wknds it well worth the 79. pool was clean , hallways clean but staff looked sloppy with iniforms all wrinkled looks like they slept on them and just came to work

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you very kindly for your review regarding your recent stay with us! We strive to excel in customer service here and our hope is always that every guest that stays with us will have an enjoyable, relaxing experience. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again if ever travelling through the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

we had to have are house defled and got a room ther we have two cats they wre very helpful with that ,the rooms are great and the staff is great ,all i can say if you are around there it is the best place to go

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide your feedback from your stay. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests. I'm glad that you found my staff to be welcoming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family and I stayed here for Cedar Point's Halloweekend's and I'm so happy we decided on this hotel! The rooms, hallways, and lobby area looked recently updated and painted, and everything was sparkling! I am pretty picky when it comes to hotels, but this place was top notch and you can tell the staff do an amazing job to keep it so clean! They also have an indoor pool/whirlpool which isn't something you normally see at a Motel 6! The kids and I loved it, and we are totally returning next summer! Another bonus was the fee wifi! Usually at some hotels you have to pay for it, but not here! Also, the man at the front desk, I think his name was Joel, was the most friendly clerk I have EVER talked to at a hotel, and I stay at ALOT of hotels and we hope he is there when we return next year! He went out of our way late at night to supply us with extra towels, pillows, and soap. I am a bit of a night owl, so I was up and down most of the night running to the vending machines, and everytime I saw him he was cleaning something or mopping! Good for him, and the lobby was emaculate! Thank you Joel! Can't wait to come back many more times!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love getting feedback from our guests. I share all of these reviews with the staff and it helps us continue to strive to do the best we can! I look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

OK place, near busy rail line. Cedar Point not far away, right next to Route 2. Clean room, but there was a spider in the bathroom. Dining choices immediately nearby limited to fast food, but if you have a car, other options available as you head towards Sandusky and/or Cedar Point.

Room Tip: If you want to have a good view of the Norfolk Southern Chicago Line, ask for an odd numbered room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at my property. Yes we are just a few short minutes drive from Sandusky, but just down the road from restaurants, shopping and only five miles from Cedar Point If you are in the area again I hope you decide to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron

Address: 601 Rye Beach Road, off Interstate 2, exit Rye Beach Road, Huron, OH 44839
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Huron
Microtel Hotel Huron
Huron Microtel
Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Sandusky-Huron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.