We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn River's Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn River's Edge to your Saves list
Comfort Inn River's Edge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 N. Main St., Huron, OH 44839 (Formerly River's Edge Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great price, average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Upon arriving we got a free upgrade to a jacuzzi room, however the jacuzzi is more of a glorified tub. Riverview isn't worth the money...you're looking at a mine and railroad tracks. Room was average...mostly clean and average furniture. Walls are thin, but it's a quiet place so noise isn't a huge issue. The service is very good and the people are very nice. We had no problem getting extra towels or anything else we needed. Overall it's a good value for the price. If you're looking for an affordable hotel near sandusky I would recommend it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    76
    43
    11
    21
See reviews for
109
57
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This little place has all the basics I needed: clean and quiet room, friendly, and knowledgeable staff, internet access, free breakfast, and non-smoking rooms. But what I wasn't expecting was the great scenery and small-town welcome. We arrived with just enough time for a leisurely walk along the harbor where we watched the boats and dipped our feet in the lake. There's a great little restaurant a block away and right on the harbor with outside seating. After seven nights in hotels this place was a real find!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We had a nice 5 night stay at the River's Edge Inn. There isn't anything particularly spectacular about the place but it is a nice hotel that is quiet and away from all of the traffic and noise. It was only a 20 minute drive to Cedar Point. The indoor pool was nice and clean (although it is only 3-4 feet deep) and the breakfast was nice. They give you plenty of time to get breakfast, i think it was from 6am to 10am. They provided muffins, donuts, bagels, english muffins, three types of cereal, milk, orange juice, apple juice, strawberry-kiwi juice, and coffee. We will stay at the RIvers Edge Inn again when we return to Cedar Point.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

My girlfriend and I planned a trip to the area for our first ever trip to Cedar Point. After looking at many accommodations in Sandusky, we found that two options existed: an expensive, clean hotel or a cheap, dirty one. Unsatisfied with either, we looked into neighboring towns and came across Huron's River's Edge Inn. A reasonable price, with added coupons, and supporting claims of it being a clean hotel, made it seem like an ideal location.

Upon arrival, the woman behind the desk quickly checked us in and carried our bags to the room. Our room had a clean appearance and already had the air conditioning running. It was as if they were waiting for our arrival. The furniture was somewhat old but the room was nothing but comforting. Room includes a safe, free wi-fi, and decent tv.

The location was in a nice little town of Huron. We didn't do much in the town, so I'm unable to speak much about it. The hotel is about 15 minutes from Cedar Point and was a simple drive to and from the park. We had a street-view room, so the river wasn't much a part of our trip, but the industrial buildings across the river were hard to miss. It may not be worth the extra money for a river view.

Our only complaints about the hotel and room are small. The complimentary breakfast was pretty nice, but it doesn't change from day to day. Some variety of the items would be nice. We had forgotten about some of the amenities until our last night (for example, the pool and fitness center), and it would have been appreciated upon checking in to be reminded by the person at the desk about all of the hotel's amenities. The wi-fi in the room was somewhat spotty and I had to find the perfect location to get continual service, but it then worked great. The walls and floors seem to be thin and we could hear the people above us walking around, though it didn't affect our sleep at all.

If we make another trip to area in the future, we would definitely return to River's Edge Inn. The value, cleanliness, and sense of welcoming make this the perfect place for a Cedar Point trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

This hotel is peaceful and quiet, at least on Sunday & Monday nights. Our room was nice and clean and comfortable, and breakfast was good -- especially the donuts! My only complaint about the room is that I couldn't leave the bathroom light on at night because the noisy exhaust fan is on the same switch.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

The staff was great, very helpful and courteous. The hotel was well kept and maintained. Not a five star hotel but very good for the price. right on the water and minutes from the park. This is someplace wewill return to again and again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Room was a normal room that would normally pay at least $100 for. This hotel was only $60 a night. The pool was a little shallow, but we weren't interested in swimming anyway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn River's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn River's Edge

Address: 132 N. Main St., Huron, OH 44839 (Formerly River's Edge Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Huron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn River's Edge 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn River's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Huron
Rivers Edge Hotel
Rivers Edge Inn Huron Ohio
Comfort Inn River's Edge Huron, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn River's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.