We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding this visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Red Door

One Red Door
49 Village Way, Hudson, OH 44236
330-342-3667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
One Red Door is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 62 Restaurants in Hudson
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Library
Akron, OH
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding this visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A solid 4 - closer to 4 1/2 this past Tuesday for lunch. Gorgeous day, ate outside, service was great. Food was truly enjoyable and memorable. My mom and I split a tuna tartare taco - enough for 2 bites for each of us. The flavors were perfect. Next I had the calamari salad which is a large portion of very lightly fried calamari which were cooked to perfection and tender, and a sizable light salad with an asian style citrus dressing and a few crushed peanuts, yum. Mom had the lobster roll, which I can tell you was tastier than anything I have had anywhere on the east coast! This was not a hotdog bun with bland lobster! Her meal came with a delicious and light salad as well. Not one thing was amiss on this trip to One Red Door, will definitely be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    16
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
800 reviews 800 reviews
653 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday brunch, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We enjoyed Sunday brunch here. Everyone enjoyed their selections and the service was very good. I ordered the fried chicken with waffles. The waffle was fine as were the hot sauce and syrup. However, the chicken had a very heavy breading with little meat. The breading was a hard crusty one that was difficult to eat and greasy. The chickenmeat was not fully cooked through, so he inside was gummy. I will stick to other items on the menu or their happy hour during the week instead. The brunch menu is diverse, so there are other selections that may have been better. My husbands pancakes were very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service...bit pricey for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went to check out for restaurant week. Food and service were great. Restaurant has a rustic feel to it. Spinach salad was delicious and Chicken entree was perfectly cooked. Desert was good too -- loved the pound cake...the tiramisu was good, not great. Menu is a bit pricey if it was not for restaurant week specials. Would try again for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“3 times, not quite a charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

One Red Door is an interesting concept, but not quite as good as it seems to be from the menu.

I have had both lunch and dinner here - OK - four times since it replaced the Vue. Each time I have found it good, nice, but not quite as good as expected.

The service has been good but not great, and the food has been mostly as expected - upscale for Akron, OH, but not special for the price and quality.

We have tried both the lunch and dinner menu, the food has been good, but not worth the price when there are better choices in the area like Downtown 140 or Cleveland restaurants.

The upsides are a really neat atmosphere and great bar area. I don't want to be negative about this restaurant, it does have good food and a great atmosphere, just not worthy of 4 stars. Will need to go back in and change some previous reviews - wish tripadvisor used a 10 point scale and then I'd give this a solid 6!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
1 review
“Decent food, trendy decor, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The food was good, but not great. The decor and ambiance was very nice, though. Prices were a little high for the quality. It is a little tight inside.

Let me start by saying that the service was good. I rated it 3 circles because of the food which was just decent. I expected more of this place based on the location, decor and price. I will be going back and will re-review when I do so. Maybe we caught the chef on a bad night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Red Door also viewed

 

Been to One Red Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Red Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.