We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to home, but in a different world!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Hiram Inn

The Historic Hiram Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hiram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Hiram Inn
Save
You added The Historic Hiram Inn to your Saves list
6867 Wakefield Rd., Hiram, OH 44234   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hiram B&B and Inns
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So close to home, but in a different world!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our travel budget is limited this summer so we took a trip that was close to home. Rooms were large and decorated nicely. Each room is decorated differently. Breakfast room was very pleasant and we loved the deck off the breakfast room. Such a nice alternative to a chain hotel. Web site had good descriptions of each room so that helps. Hiram is a teeny town so you have to go to Garrettsville (about 4 miles away) to eat unless you are there when school is in session. The smell of the box woods in front reminded me of Williamsburg!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
13
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We arrived late after the front desk had closed but Campus security was there within minutes to let us in the front door of the Inn. Our keys and information were on the front desk waiting. Security gave us a tour of the inn and where the room was. Room was nice and comfy looking. Bed was very comfortable. No noise. Breakfast was good. Nice menu of waffles or cereal. Coffee in room was good. WIFI was easy to hook up to. Will return when in that area for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I have stayed at the Hiram Inn several times and look forward to staying there in future. The Inn is an environment where I am comfortable. I say environment because the Inn is not a sparkling vanilla cubical waiting to be filled by you. The Inn has a character of it own that invites you to enter in.

The staff is courteous and engaging. I have met and enjoyed conversations with a variety of people in the home like common rooms.

Dinner at Randall's in nearby Garrettsville can provide not only first rate food but a evening you are not likely to forget.

If you are able to enter into the experience, a stay at the Hiram Inn will reward you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

very comfortable, love the decorative details, tasty waffles for breakfast

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I have stayed at the Hiram Inn on three occasions.
Each time, the room I stayed in was immaculate, and very well maintained.
I have stayed on both floors. I will visit them again.
Thanks Hiram Inn for a fantastic stay..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

I was very pleased with the warm welcome, and beautiful surroundings of the Hiram Inn. From the well-kept flowers outside to the uniquely decorated rooms, we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay in the Hiram area. The staff was helpful in recommending restaurants and shopping, and even directed us to a local winery where we enjoyed live music and a bottle of wine. The rooms were very clean, and we found everything that we needed to be right there. The clerk in the morning kept the breakfast fresh and filled items as necessary. I especially liked the coffee maker downstairs that allowed you to brew your own flavor of coffee or tea by the cup. We will most definitely plan to stay at the Hiram Inn again.

  • Liked — Historic charm
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

I selected The Hiram Inn for an overnight getaway that included attending a concert in Kent, Ohio (couldn't find another suitable B&B closer to Kent). We chose The Garrett Suite, assuming that its whirlpool tub and balcony were indicators that this would be a romantic and comfortable stay. Alas, our experience fell far short of our expectations--not to mention our hopes!

The room was sparsely and uncomfortably furnished: the queen-sized bed was astonishingly hard, and there were only two side chairs in which one could sit--so both reading and sleeping were miserable experiences. The small television was placed in an armoire but was too far from the bed to be seen from there, so lining up the chairs in front of it was the only option. (In the end, watching TV wasn't worth it.) It didn't seem possible to control the heat within the room (there was a portable air conditioner/heating unit, but it was unplugged and didn't seem appropriate to use), so the room was chilly throughout our stay. There was a coffeemaker in the room, with better coffee than I've generally had from the standard four-cup packages, but there were no cups and only one regular coffee packet (we asked for cups and more coffee, and both were provided).

The bathroom was spacious, and had the advertised whirlpool tub (plus a separate shower). Only two bath towels were provided (odd for a room with multiple bathing options and two guests, I thought), and the toiletries were low-quality and sparse (only one soap, to be shared between shower and sink, evidently). Moreover, though the whirlpool tub was splendidly deep and had strong jets, it was dirty (multiple hairs in it, upon initial but brief inspection)--I had to clean it before use.

The breakfast offerings were a standard (but relatively low quality) continental-style array of bagels, English muffins, packaged cereal, packaged cream cheese and jelly, a few pieces of fruit, and juices, to which one could help oneself. I've had much better in mid-level chain motels. There was nothing that someone avoiding carbs and sugar could eat (so I didn't, though my spouse had a bagel, in desperation).

We also chose this particular room because it offered a balcony, and several websites for the hotel indicated that smoking was permitted on balconies and outside the inn. As smokers who enjoy travel, my spouse and I often select accommodations of this type, and have always honored the requirements not to smoke indoors. We are willing to pay more for an open adjacent balcony or patio so that we can enjoy the option of smoking outdoors in a private area, without disturbing others. At this location, upon arrival, we were told that the balconies were also non-smoking, but we could go "out in the parking lot" if we wanted to smoke. (The balcony adjacent to our room was also covered with several inches of snow, so it could not be used for any purpose--the door would barely open.)

Personnel we encountered were generally helpful, and provided excellent directions to our concert venue. (However, there are no dining options nearby, and staff could not provide recommendations for dinner or local alternatives for breakfast anywhere nearby or on our route to the concert.)

The inn is located on the Hiram College campus, and I suppose it is convenient for anyone visiting the college. I can't imagine another reason anyone would want to stay there; I can't imagine recommending it for any other purpose.

  • Liked — Whirlpool tub (after I cleaned it)
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Hiram Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Hiram Inn

Address: 6867 Wakefield Rd., Hiram, OH 44234
Location: United States > Ohio > Hiram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hiram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Hiram Inn is perfect for romantic and honeymoon accommodations, family reunions, special occasions and corporate retreats. Experience the rich heritage of the historic Western Reserve in each of our individually decorated rooms. Enjoy an evening stroll as street lamps illuminate the buildings and courtyards of Hiram College, reminiscent of New England, weaving nostalgia from past to present. The scenic Pioneer Trail opens countryside treasures of Western Reserve homes, farms, produce markets, and Amish life. Enjoy local artisans, historic places, antiques, fine dining, home cooking, wineries, covered bridges, biking, canoeing, sailing, parachuting, auto racing, quarries, parks, amusements, hot air ballooning and premium outlet shopping to name a few attractions! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Historic Hiram Inn Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Hiram Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.