We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over for the night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   122 Arrowhead Blvd, Hebron, OH 43025-9463 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hebron
Hartford, Wisconsin, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good stop over for the night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Enjoyed a very relaxing night after a 9 hour day of highway driving. Room was clean & comfortable, pool was cool & refreshing, staff very pleasant & helpful. The dinner tip to try Clay's Cafe was excellent. The cafe was only about a 1/2 mile away, and the food was very good. Clay's homemade ice cream was an unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Donna F,

We are so glad that you had a relaxing stay and enjoyable swim with us during your recent visit to our hotel. Thank you for sharing the tip about Clay's Cafe with our guests as well. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    17
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
6
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Best Western Plus AKA "Lakewood Inn" in Hebron, Ohio, is a strange hotel. It isn't bad but it's strange.

The first clue was the sneaky upcharge on the reservation. I was there as part of a wedding and the couple had negotiated a special rate of $99 per night. However, the reservation clerk insisted that "the best I can do is $101.15" plus tax. He wore me down. What's another $2.15 in the grand scheme of things? I should've taken it as an omen.

The second clue was the "No Guns" sign on the door. Amusingly, the hotel is next to a sporting good store that sells hunting rifles. It's well within rifle range. But you can't take a gun into the hotel. A hunting crossbow that will shoot through a wall is OK, however.

The third clue was the draconian usage-policy sign posted above the lobby computer provided for the guests. No game-playing is allowed, and mis-use of the computer is punished by a whopping $100 fine. Yeah, if it was my hotel, and if a customer absent-mindedly played a game of solitaire while waiting for a business file to download, and I then hit that customer with a $100 charge, I'd ban guns in my hotel too.

On one of the back outside doors, the security card reader wasn't working. Judging by the battered condition of the taped-up sign announcing that fact, it had been broken for a while. Fortunately, that door didn't close properly. You had to pull it closed and the person before us hadn't. So anyone could get in without scanning a key card.

One of the lights in our room didn't work. No big deal. Overall, I got the feeling that the hotel manager waits for guests to report problems instead of pro-actively looking for problems.

On the plus side: The room itself was clean enough. The mini-refrigerator in the room was nice and quiet. Usually I have to unplug a rattling refrigerator in order to sleep, but this one was OK. The beds were comfortable although the pillows were a little lumpy and the hotel skimped on blankets. Despite earlier Tripadvisor reports, the pool looked clean.

This hotel charges about as much as a Hampton Inn, but you don't get the Hampton Inn quality. Next time I'll drive a few miles north on 79 to the Hampton Inn in Heath/Newark.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. The people upstairs were friends who are small and known to be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear KetteringTraveler,

Thank you for your recent stay in our hotel. I do apologize that we no longer had the wedding rate available. We have group rates available until 30 days prior to arrival contractually, however we did offer you a 25% discount off our rate for the day to get you as close to that rate as possible. Please understand that the "no guns" sign is strictly for the safety of our guests. We do allow law enforcement guests to bear arms with Identification. We are taking care of the security card reader asap. I am glad that you did enjoy your room and the pool. We appreciate your feedback to help us continue to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were lucky to find this spot in a storm! Friendly staff, good clean quiet room, reasonable prices. The management and front desk staff were helpful, and went above and beyond to help us. Overall a great start to our family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Meti2014,

We are so glad that we were able to give you a wonderful start to your family vacation and keep you out of the storm. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were greeted at the door with an overflowing ashtray full of cigarettes floating in rainwater and trash spilling out of the can. The downspout was loose and blowing into you as you enter the door. The pool room had thick cobwebs with dead bugs and some kind of feces in every corner of every window! The bathroom floor was dirty, with thick crud in the corners. The dirtiest hotel I have ever seen!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Wendy S,

I am so sorry to see your review. I assure you that we take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously and we are an UltraClean certified hotel. I do apologize for the rain issues as the weather got pretty severe due to the high winds. We did not hear from you at the hotel during your stay but we do inspect our rooms regularly and I have made sure that no one else will have this experience. We do strive to provide an exceptional guest experience and do not take these issues lightly. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

What a lovely surprise !!! The tour I'm on booked this hotel for me and I am not familiar with the area, so I was pleasantly surprised by the welcome I received, the room and the local area.
I was given the greeting of an old friend.....my room was not only clean and large and well appointed, but it had a HUGE jacuzzi tub as well.
There were SO MANY treats all around my room. The fridge was stocked with not only complimentary water, but soft drinks also. There were sweet treats on my bed to insure I have sweet dreams. And HOW NICE to have 70 television channels to choose from. (I never have been able to understand why hotels give only 10 or 20 channels.)
There is a beautiful lake to enjoy only a few miles down the road and a Kroger grocery store and a few restaurants right next door. The hotel is surrounded by well groomed grounds and a large lush lawn to enjoy on a sunny day.
So if this part of Ohio is your intended destination or you just need to pull off I-70 after a long days drive......make this your resting place !!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear AustinaKeyWest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about the many things you enjoyed during your stay with us. We do provide cookie, mint, popcorn and water in all our rooms to make sure our guests have a few nice surprises and extra conveniences in their rooms. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Best Western Hebron is a nice quiet hotel with clean rooms and close proximity to the Legend Valley Campgrounds where lots of live concerts are held. If you plan a visit to one of the festivals held there, this is the best hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Randi M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you had a great stay with us and look forward to your return visit for future concerts or any other reason you may come to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed a week at this establishment on business and came away with the feeling that they are trying hard to be great but they need to try a little harder.

The room was OK however there were cleanliness issues. It appeared that housekeeping rarely looks more than 6 ft. off the floor. Cobwebs.
I was placed in a room and the next morning the carpet cleaners arrived and parked their truck with its LOUD equipment running outside my window all day long. Management could easily have prevented this inconvenience with a little forethought. (The motel was not very full. Plenty of other rooms to choose from.)
Either they have problems with the water heaters or they are trying to conserve energy too much by shutting some of them down. My room was not far from the utility room where the water heaters were but it took 5 minutes (I timed it) for water that was warm enough to shower with to arrive.
The pool and exercise room were nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree M, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Niederw,

Thank you for your review and your notes about our pool and exercise room. We do apologize for the noise regarding the carpet cleaning trucks and as you'll recall we had it moved when you notified us. Next time we will surely check with our guests to see who will be remaining in the hotel during the day or liaise with our housekeeping staff to organize it better to avoid inconveniences.

We will certainly inspect the rooms more closely as we are an Ultra Clean certified hotel and take great pride in our cleanliness. I am looking into the hot water issue as well. We hope to see you again in the future and will make sure you have a wonderful stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn

Address: 122 Arrowhead Blvd, Hebron, OH 43025-9463 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Hebron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hebron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2010 Director's Award Winner for Quality Assurance. AAA 3 Diamond rating - AAA & AARP Special Rates. Stay at this AAA 3 Diamond, full-service Hebron, Ohio hotel located less than a mile from Newark Industrial Park, four miles from the National Trail Raceway and five miles to the Newark Heath Airport. Welcome to the Best Western Lakewood Inn, situated in central Ohio, where guests will experience the best in comfort, convenience and customer service all for an unbeatable value. This Hebron area hotel features 70 well-appointed guest rooms, including Jacuzzi® suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television with HBO® and high-speed Internet access. Guests are welcome to a complimentary full hot breakfast each morning before relaxing in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. This full-service hotel also features upgraded amenities including a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting space accommodating up to 35 people. The Best Western Lakewood Inn is conveniently located just two miles from Buckeye Lake which offers fishing, boating, swimming and jet skiing in the summer months. The hotel is also located less than seven miles from key area attractions such as the National Trail Raceway, the Heisey Glass Museum and several corporate locations including Renosol, the Newark Industrial Park and the Mid-Ohio Industrial Park. Hotel guests will enjoy taking a short day trip into Columbus to visit the many attractions in the state's capital, only 35 minutes away. The Best Western Lakewood Inn also provides convenient access to several local universities including Denison University, Ohio State University-Newark and Central Ohio Technical College. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Lakewood Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Hebron, Ohio. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hebron Best Western
Best Western Hebron
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn Hebron, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakewood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.