We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food let down by the bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph's Restaurant & Bar

Joseph's Restaurant & Bar
The Mansion Hotel at Werribee Park K Road, Werribee, Victoria 3030, Australia
03 9731 4000
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 83 Restaurants in Werribee
Price range: $0 - $44
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food let down by the bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We recently stayed at Weeribee Mansions Hotel. The hotel and facilities were great. Found the food in the restaurant was good, small serves presented nicely and enjoyable, but a little pricey. The bar service was terrible. There were two beers on tap, both of which had run out. The barman lacked basic bar skills, pouring beers with heads lager than the beer, and making bloody mary with no ice, and no garnish whatsoever.
Shane that the bar let the place down.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    11
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had the pleasure of having my sons Christening at Joseph's restaurant. My guests were treated like royalty and the food was absolutely divine. On arrival our guests received a very nice glass of sparkling while overlooking the garden view. The staff were very attentive, and made sure the guests with special meal requirements were looked after. The venue is simply stunning. As far as the food was concerned it was very fresh, high quality and cooked perfectly. I will definitely go back to Joseph's for the food, friendly staff and ambience. I highly recommend it for private functions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A really really good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went to Joseph's as part of a 60th birthday celebration and it was truly brilliant. Once the staff knew why we were there we were looked after and treated extremely well, from the complementary glass of very good sparkling from the restaurant manager, to the rest of the service for the entire meal (which was extremely good). We were extremely pleased with the whole experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Pretentious Overpriced Food and Service good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Staff very pleasant and attentive. Food fresh flavours but outrageously pretentious and over priced. eg My entree was one yabbie tale with 2 slices of ham and one cm cube polenta ie about 2 mouth fulls for $25. The main was a nicely cooked fillet of fish with nice flavourings but nothing else. About 5 mouth fulls for $44. Similarly the wine was expensive and by the glass you may have got a standard drink but about half the amount of the average wine by the glass. If you are staying at the Mansion Hotel you haven't got much choice but to eat here, but I wouldn't recommend a visit if it is just for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, inexperienced staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a family dinner last night & was let down by inexperienced staff.
We were not offered pre dinner drinks, a wine list or follow up drinks. Water top ups were by our requests & felt rushed all night.
We've been there many times & I've always rated it in my top few places. But last night was poor.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Werribee, Victoria
Werribee, Victoria
 

Been to Joseph's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.