We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Werribee Open Range Zoo

Werribee Open Range Zoo
Werribee 30 minutes south of Melbourne City | K Road, Werribee, Victoria 3030, Australia
61 3 9731 9600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Book a Tour
Ranked #3 of 9 Attractions in Werribee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience an African adventure just 30 minutes from Melbourne. Get onboard for a guided safari bus tour across the unique open range savannah and spot rhinos, giraffes and zebras! Come face to face with a pride of lions on the African Walking Trail, visit one of the world’s largest Gorilla exhibits, see cheeky monkeys at play and discover a family of hippos in their wetland home.Don’t Miss: • Wild Encounters: Go behind the scenes with an African Cat Encounter, a Tall Order Giraffe Encounter, a Lion Rip Roaring Feed or an up close Rhino Encounter.• Open Vehicle Adventure: Upgrade to the Open Vehicle Adventure and get closer to the animals on the open savannah. • Slumber Safari: Stay overnight in our luxury safari tents overlooking the savannah. Your stay includes amazing close-up animal encounters, drinks and dips at sunset, and a sumptuous African feast.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The zoo was a good day out. The safari ride was a good experience and allows you to get close to the animals. plenty of area for picnics. The Australia trail was bit ordinary but an ok walk through a wetland.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    191
    48
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nice place for the younger children to have that experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

i think it;s well worth the visit but don't compare or expect it to be like our melbourne zoo. i took my 5 year old nephew and his friend and once we finished the safari ride through the rhinos, giraffes etc. they lost interest because most exhibits seemed too far away, and the monkey show, the kids got restless as well as the lion talk

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Animals!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Who doesnt love an open range zoo, mix that with the good weather of Melbourne and you have a great zoo! lots of good animals, the semi tamed aussie wildlife is may fav, get up close and personal with some chilled out kangaroos and wallabies

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful zoo and an excellent way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This zoo is beautiful and clean and the animals appear happy and active. The open feel makes it seem like you're viewing animals in their natural habitat. The cafe was nice and reasonable. There was a ton to see and we spend most of the day there. It was nice to go when it opened before the majority of the people came. We went on Tuesday which is the only day this time of year they offer a free tour of the grounds in their vehicles. We are from the states but went with a friend from Australia who had the same impression of the zoo as well. Great day, great time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vang Vieng, Laos
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great day out for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I visited the Zoo with a friend, had an excellent day out, a good walk to see the lions, wild dogs etc, the highlight for me was the bus tour where you get to see all the African animals,
It's a must do in my eyes!
I would go again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Werribee Open Range Zoo also viewed

Werribee, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Werribee Open Range Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Werribee Open Range Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.