We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK half day out with the family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Werribee Open Range Zoo

Werribee Open Range Zoo
Werribee 30 minutes south of Melbourne City | K Road, Werribee, Victoria 3030, Australia
+61 3 9731 9600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$23*
and up
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Werribee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience an African adventure just 30 minutes from Melbourne. You'll find an amazing array of animals living on 225 hectares of wide, open savannah. On the Pula Reserve Walking Trail, come face-to-face with amazing gorillas, a pride of lions, see monkeys and cheetahs at play and feel the sand between your toes at the new Hippo Beach! Included in your admission price is a 40 minute safari tour where you will find rhinoceros, giraffes, zebras and antelopes grazing together on the picturesque savannah. Don't miss: Wild Encounters: Feed a giraffe, stroke a serval, see amazing animals on the savannah from an open vehicle and, in the new Gorilla Behind the Scenes encounter, get up close and personal with three gorilla bachelors! Slumber Safari: Stay overnight in our luxury safari tents overlooking the savannah. Your stay includes amazing close-up animal encounters, drinks and dips at sunset, and a sumptuous African feast.
Victoria australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK half day out with the family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The safari bus ride was only highlight of the day. We walked around the park in 2 hours this included lunch. Nice areas around the park to sit and have lunch. We were lucky to see the lions sitting right by the glass wall, most of the other animal were a fair distance away. Would prefer the Melbourne zoo. 6 adults in group all said we wouldn't rush back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    255
    65
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little zoo with good potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I paid around $50 for both to get in the zoo and that included a pass onto the "safari".
We had around 40 mins to wait so decided to have a quick venture for something to eat.
The price of some treats wasn't too bad...
2 milkshakes
1 cheesy bread thing
1 hedgehog slice... $14

Can't really grumble at that!

Anyway we got to the safari and even though it was only herbivores it was great, not boring at all and it was good to see how much space they had, the fact that they were breeding and conserving endangered species was brilliant!

The tour guide wad very knowledgeable too. Really new her stuff and gave everyone a chance to take pics. All the animals were really close to the bus too. They weren't shy at all!

After the guide we walked round for a while. There were a few more animals but not too many. The lioness was right against the window which was good.

All in all I think it's a nice little zoo, educational and has lots of potential to expand! It's worth the day out.
Thanks :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slumber safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A wonderful experience did the slumber safari a wonderful night quirky accom( glamping) great food wonderful experiences with the animals . Fantastic host and guides Great information on their participation in a world wide conservation program

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Safari night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The safari night is well worth it. Lots of great food. Night walks to see the lions. Up close and personal with all the giraffes, rhinos, elephants etc - what's not to love!!! Only thing is that is very expensive to do the safari.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The experience could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The animals were too far away from the bus. Even the option to see the animals up close, where they park you in a van in the middle of a big "lawn", is not any better, I think. The lions are in an enclosure and we couldn't see them properly. It was magical to see the giraffes hanging around the vet's van though. Was a disappointment for the little kids in our group.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Werribee Open Range Zoo also viewed

Werribee, Greater Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Werribee Open Range Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Werribee Open Range Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.