We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson's on K

Jackson's on K
275 Cnr K & Duncan Rd, Werribee, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 83 Restaurants in Werribee
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Langwarrin, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lacking in atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Service was good but if you are looking for a warm cosy atmosphere you won't find it here. The feel of the place is very sterile and lacking any sort of style. Food was ok, more your local pub fare than anything approaching finer dining. Seems to have a loyal clientele but aside from a wonderful creme brulee, not a place I would go out of my way again to visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Werribee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

As this restaurant is walking distance from home we hoped to make it a regular haunt but I'm afraid Jacksons on K won't see us any more. We had lamb rack at $32.90: first of all, the plate was stone cold and the overcooked vegetables barely warm. The mash was dry and lumpy and though the lamb was promised as "medium rare" there was not a trace of pink in the meat. The sauce that covered it was a thick, brown and congealed..
We should have sent the meal back immediately but it was supposed to be a birthday treat and we hate to make a fuss. We eat out regularly in Werribee but this is the worst meal we have ever had and also the first time we've made a complaint.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Just poor everything”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was a Saturday lunch when the restaurant was hardly under pressure so the poor quality of service and food can hardly be explained away. Over-sized meals designed to hide poor cooking and average ingredients coupled with dreadful waitress service made this a restaurant not worth a second visit. The two steaks were both tasteless and over-cooked. There is no bread served with the meal, the waitresses seem to disappear and are hardly perceptive of customers needs, instead preferring to linger in the kitchen area. We waited 45 mins for our dishes after ordering. Drinks were handed across in front of of my guests. And when I requested the bill, we waited another 15 mins for someone to take a credit card. Having made a number of indications we wanted to pay and leave the waitress noted our request and then proceeded to take a phone call. The food here is dreadful, large serves of starchy spuds, over cooked vegetables and meat sourcing that indicates silly cost cutting. Clearly the old chef has moved on because I have had two meals here in the past that were agreeable. Avoid at the moment!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First and lst time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had a surprise visit from friends and decided to go out for lunch. We picked four different dishes and I can tell you that each one was worse than the first. My husbands pasta was so firey that the sweat was coming out of the top of his head but the flavour was terrible. Our friends are Italian and he is a very good cook and his risotto was absolutely shocking mine was tastless and my friends fish and chips - they looked great but the batter was only crispy on the outside and soggy on the inside. We waited over an hour to be served which wasnt good as one of the party was a diabetic and had to eat. Service was not good either - so as I said in the title first and last time!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Family Restaurant with that little bit extra special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is the first time my wife and I have been to this restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was very good and the atmoshere excellent. The service was exceptional, with staff very attentive to our needs. This is a restaurant you can bring the children (even if we are passed that) and they are well caterered for with thier own menu, which seems to be a little classier than the usual kids menu. Also their is a very good play ground outside if they get a little restless. Overall a very good experience. One small issue-the coffee could have been a little better.......We will be back soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson's on K also viewed

 

Been to Jackson's on K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson's on K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.