We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good food. Odd group bookings policy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shadowfax Winery

Shadowfax Winery
K Road, Werribee, Victoria 3030, Australia
+ 61 3 9731 4420
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 91 Restaurants in Werribee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good service, good food. Odd group bookings policy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Service was good, very helpful staff. Food was very tasty, however the portions are pretty small for the price. You need to order sides, and that actually puts things in a slightly high price bracket. We booked for a group of 13 and they required us to pre-book our meals. It wasn't a big deal, but I would have preferred to decide on the day. I get it for groups of, maybe, 20 and more, but groups of approx 10 are quite common and surely aren't a big deal for the kitchen. Atmosphere in the restaurant is great for a Sunday lunch - they have a live band playing which were great. The wine was gorgeous.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    50
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“group bookings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had been to Shadowfax once before with four friends and we enjoyed our meals so decided to try to make a lunch booking for a group of 12 of us. Was disappointed to be advised that groups of 10 or more must either prebook meals by Tue (booking was for Sunday) or go with the set menu. Web site said that set menus available for functions but does not say that it is compulsory for bookings of 10 or more. They made it all too difficult so we booked else where.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Delicious food, and ok wine. They had some live music for Saturday lunch which really helped the atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Lovely location and relaxing lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

4 plus new baby out for lunch yesterday. Little bit of wine tasting before lunch then we had cold platter for 4 followed by 2 pizzas to share. Delish. The lamb and raisin pizza ( yes , you read that correctly) was absolutely fab. Washed down with a bottle of their house Sauvignon blanc ....perfection. Great location too and the jazz in the background was pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lazy Afternoon @ Shadowfax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We visit Shadowfax Winery often and find it great for a Lazy afternoon to catch up with friends.
The menu is yum (just been updated) we had a platter of cold meats and breads to start, then a pizza, calamari, pork belly (skip the pork belly, not the best I have tasted) teamed with a bottle of Chardonnay then the Shadowfax Sparkling Shiraz (love the Sparkling Shiraz). We put it in the middle and shared the lot. The Jazz afternoons in winter are fantastic. Great chill out day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shadowfax Winery also viewed

Werribee, Greater Melbourne
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
 
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
Werribee, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Shadowfax Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shadowfax Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.