We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Heemskirk Motor Hotel to your Saves list
Heemskirk Motor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-25 Main Street, Zeehan, Tasmania 7469, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zeehan
NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and tidy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The motel is a well kept and clean country Australia motel. It is not fancy and certainly has no airs and graces. What you see is what you get. We slept well as did our baby daughter. The restaurant served good-sized meals but they certainly weren't the best we'd had on our trip. The garlic bread loaf was a particular highlight and the service was good, polite and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for your review of the Heemskirk Motor Hotel.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the friendly hospitality of the staff and a good nights sleep.

Your Sincerely,

Stephanie Sandor
Owner, Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
7
18
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Western Wilderness
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Motel is well located and easy to find, with conveniences close at hand. Don't expect anything more than basic rooms and you won't be disappointed, it is a mining town after all. The staff are very helpful and friendly, even arranging to forward on our baby's comforter. The only negative was the fork lift outside my window waking me at 6.30am, which I expect was due to a delivery arriving in the early hours, therefore I put it down to poor form on the transport company's part.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here in a 2 bed apartment for just the one night. It's easy to find, being the only hotel in the village! Price is a bit high for what you get, probably due to lack of competition. It's quiet, basic, and the fixtures and fittings seem a bit dated, although very clean. Our unit had a shower, with hot and cold water, but problems getting both at the same time made showering interesting! The place is quiet during the day, and there is plenty of parking. However, this being a mining area, the motel is frequented by miners and mining contractors who have to get up very early. They will quite happily start their diesel-engined utes at 5am, leaving them running for 1/2 an hour to warm up, presumably at their employers expense! There's no satellite TV in the rooms, and even the terrestrial (analogue) TV is a bit dodgy, as Zeehan is somewhat off the beaten track. The food, however, is very good value. The owners like to call their restaurant a Bistro, but I wouldn't consider this one to be of that standard, although the menu is diverse and the food well presented. Their steaks are particularly worthy of a mention, presumably the miners won't put up with poor quality steaks! If you like nespresso coffee, this hotel has a top of the line nespresso machine, which is hard to beat for the quality beverage. The staff are very friendly. Hope this review helps you to choose the one hotel in town!!

Room Tip: As usual, avoid rooms near the stairs and entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph8811, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Tasmedic,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoyed this beautiful part of the world.
Could you please advice which room you stayed in as we updated all our TV aerials when the change over to digital TV occurred and all TV reception was meant to be fixed.
We are glad you enjoyed the Nespresso coffee. We recently purchased this machine to improve our coffee offering and am glad to hear your feedback.
Kind regards,

Heemskirk Motor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

For those that don't already know, Zeehan is a ghost town on Tasmania's west coast. It has a few lovely old historic buildings in the main street, and is surrounded by some lovely mountains, but doesn't have too much more to offer. There is a lovely beach 30 minutes down a dirt/sand road (accessible by 2WD in dry weather) and it is well worth the drive. You can easily spend an afternoon in Zeehan, though. It's nice to go for a stroll up the street and look at all the deserted buildings. There is a shop or two along the main road. The locals are nice. The local police officer even gave us a wave despite the fact that he didn't know us from a bar of soap!

The Heemskirk is the best there is in town, but given that every other place has shut down, that doesn't say much.

THE GOOD:

- Bistro with lovely food
- Very nice staff (very helpful)

THE BAD

- Our bed had hairs in it (and they weren't ours)
- Room had musky smell
- Bit expensive for the quality of the room and location
- It's more of a motor inn, so be aware that there will be trucks coming and going much of the time (and if you're a women travelling on your own, wandering eyes to go with it - although you'll be perfectly safe)

Overall, if you can stay in Strahan, down the road, I'd strongly recommend you stop there instead. Zeehan is a unique little place, but you don't need an overnight stop to see the place. I'm sorry if this offends the locals, but it's the truth.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear jaiblueeyes,
Thank you for staying at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel and taking time to complete a review.

Zeehan itself has a rich and fascinating heritage. In the early 20th century, Zeehan was Tasmania’s third largest town, with a population of 10,000 people. In mining boom days, dozens of hotels lined the bustling Main Street and the town was known as Silver City. Today you can visit fine old buildings that reflect the town's history. The Pioneers Museum is a must to discover fascinating stories of the past. The Gaiety Theatre, built in 1899, then Australia’s largest theatre, was restored and re-opened in 2006. In the late 1800s and early 1900s, entertainers from around the world, including Enrico Caruso, Dame Nellie Melba and the infamous Lola Montez, performed here for packed audiences of wealthy miners.

Zeehan is conveniently situated for discovering the Tasmanian West Coast due to our central location - 30 minutes north of Strahan and Queenstown, 25 minutes south of Rosebery, 35 minutes south east of Corinna, and 65 minutes to Cradle Mountain.

I am very surprised and very sorry to hear you thought your bed was dirty. Our housemaids are well trained and pride themselves on the cleanliness of the rooms. If you could remember the room you stayed in i can investigate further including the musky smell.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The staff at this motel were very friendly but the accommodation, although spacious, needs some modernisation; however the electric blankets helped to make it feel cosier.

We learnt from the b&b we had stayed in the previous day that a large part of Tasmania is owned by a wealthy family who live in Melbourne; they own anything with the name “Pure Tasmania” which included one of the Gordon river boat cruises. We decided to book instead the World Heritage Cruise in Strahan, the red boat for a day trip on the Gordon River; this company has been family owned over four generations and is the original cruise company. It was an excellent trip which included a buffet lunch, going to Hells Gate and Sarah Island.

Zeehan has The West Coast Pioneers' Museum which looked very interesting. We only had time to look round the Gaiety Theatre built in 1898 which is an amazing building. It is being renovated and we were told that occasionally they put on shows.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Witleyflopsybunny,
Thank you for staying at the Heemskirk Motor Hotel and for taking the time to post a review.

Yes our rooms are very spacious with cosy electric blankets and reverse cycle air-conditioning. We are currently completing a refurbishment of our rooms including soft furnishings of some of our rooms which will ensure a more modern and fresh decor.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your cruise and took time to visit the Gaiety Theatre. The West Coast Pioneers Museum should definitely be included on your next visit to learn about the rich history of Zeehan's mining boom days.

Many thanks,
Stephanie Sandor
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Very large room with double bed, 2 nightstands, couch, table and 2 chairs. Small, flat screen TV, hair dryer, iron and board, great lighting, no microwave, and no internet connection in the room, but impossibly slow (useless) connection at the restaurant. Clean and comfortable. Refrigerator, Electric kettle, 2 cups, saucers and spoons only. Tea, coffee, sugar and cookies/biscuits. No toaster. Clean bathroom, with old fixtures (hot tap and cold tap), but otherwise fine. Despite what I listed as them not having, we found the room fine and would stay again.
Counter service meals at gaming/lounge area – somewhat expensive, but adequate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Zeehan is a depressing sort of place and this hotel appears to be the only place in town to stay.The only reason we stayed was to get an early start on the Pieman River Cruise, which is thoroughly recommended. The decor is straight from the 70s except perhaps for a newer shower recess. Unfortunately there appeared to be a drainage problem in the bathroom and the whole room had a musty smell. The bathroom door had a public toilet type sliding lock so we couldn't shut the smell out.
Because of the lack of competition in town we probably paid 30% more than the room was worth.
On the brighter side the staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. The dining room meals (2 different curries) appeared to be good but I drew the short straw and paid for it by spending the next couple of days close to a gents.

Room Tip: Stay at Strahan or Corinna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydneytogo, Owner at Heemskirk Motor Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear Skigerrie,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear you did not get to fully appreciate what an interesting town Zeehan is.
Zeehan has a rich and fascinating heritage. It was known as "Silver City" of the West Coast in mining boom days when dozens of hotels lined the bustling Main Street and performers from all around the world, including Enrico Caruso, Dame Nellie Melba and the infamous Lola Montez, came here to perform for packed audiences of wealthy miners.
Today, fine old buildings, including the Gaiety Theatre, which is still used today, reflect the town's history, and the Pioneers Museum, a must visit, tells the story of the past.
Zeehan is centrally located to all the West Coast attractions for exploring Strahan, Queenstown, the Tarkine Rain Forest, Gordon River, Rosebery, Tullah, Trial Harbour, Franklin River, and Pieman river to name a few. This is an area rich with natural attractions.
Yes our Sri Lanklan chefs curries are good, but can be spicy!
I would very much appreciate if you please advise which room you stayed so we can investigate if there is an actual drainage problem.
With thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zeehan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heemskirk Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heemskirk Motor Hotel

Address: 1-25 Main Street, Zeehan, Tasmania 7469, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Zeehan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zeehan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heemskirk Motor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Heemskirk Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heemskirk Motor Hotel Tasmania/Zeehan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heemskirk Motor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.