We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value accommodation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Wynyard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Waterfront Wynyard to your Saves list
The Waterfront Wynyard
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Goldie Street, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy a nice Tassie Wine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value accommodation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After having a rather bad day, it was so nice to check into this little gem! I was greeted by a lovely girl, who asked if I wanted a breakfast tray delivered to my room as I was flying out very early, I was also given a news paper and fresh milk. When I walked into my room I was not disappointed, well equipped mini bar, nice bathroom and the most comfortable bed and pillows ever. Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for cheap accommodation. Oh and it's only 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi strawb85

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We may be a bit retro, but we aim to please with our service. So I'm so pleased you appreciated our service as its our number one priority, if our customers are happy, then were happy. It's that simple!

Thanks again for the review
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    47
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
73
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Trip Adviser reviews helps me plan most of our vacations so Waterfront Wynyard reviews determined our North West Tassie location. Great service, spotlessly clean, gorgeous location (perhaps you could catch fish from the front door!!) but the King Bed was the MOST comfortable bed we have slept in anywhere in the world other than our bed at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi DavidA

Thanks for your great feedback. So glad you enjoyed the king bed, as we aim to have very guest have a comfortable nights sleep. We've had some great feedback on the king beds in particular, I think maybe the luxury feather toppers make the difference.

Hopefully we will see you this way again soon.
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Easy to find on the main road into town but set back & quiet.
Great views of Inglis River, golf course & sea.
Plenty of parking & short walk into town for shops & eats.
Our room had double & single bed small bathroom & kitchen. Clean but not much storage space.
Not much scope for self catering but cafe/lounge on site.
Staff very friendly & helpful, good town guide in room.

Room Tip: They are roughly all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi glenmore

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we will see you this way again soon.
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The staff were so friendly and cheery. Finally a motel that actually thinks about it's guests! Deck chairs in the cupboard for the beautiful view of the river, ironing board and iron, nice selection of tea/coffee/hot choccie. Offer to use their 2 bikes and 2 kayaks for free. We wanted to look at the family room for a future stay with our kids, was handed the key with a smile and told to take my time checking it all out. Amazing guest lounge, bar area, outdoor area with BBQ. I've put photos on aswell. Motel is on the edge of the river, you can literally go fishing 5 metres from your room. Staff were encouraging to use their equipment and nothing was to much trouble. The rooms are old style however they are ment to be! They are trying to keep it traditional! Old style BUT very well maintained and with a comfy bed and a nice flat screen tv with austar. Better than somewhere else we had stayed at literally a quarter of the price. Only thing we found was no air con, so the room was a little toasty, theres a fan but the middle of summer might be uncomfortable....however a few steps and you're in the river for a swim! Will definately be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi tassiesarash

Thanks so much for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes this summer has been particularly hot so the rooms were a bit toasty, but as you say, the free pool out the front is pretty close by!
We try hard to ensure every guest has a great stay and customer service is something we pride ourselves on. We treat every guest like a friend, and we genuinely care if you have a good stay with us. So I am so pleased you did and are thinking of coming back to stay with your family. Our bikes and kayaks and golf clubs etc are all available for guests to enjoy wynyard a bit more, so they will be waiting for you on your return!

Thanks again for the comments and we look forward to meeting the rest of the tribe next time.
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were so lucky to come across this lovely little motel on the river in Wynard and unfortunately had only planned a one night stay. The owners and staff give 110% to ensure your stay here is enjoyable. The rooms although small have everything a traveller could want and more. Even folding directors chairs for your use to sit outside your room and take in the view and the river.....With a nice glass of wine. There is a lounge area off of reception which is very homely and welcoming. Great choice at breakfast and cooked breakfast is available at an extra cost. The location is great, quiet with no passing traffic and especially for water lovers. We joined the locals swimming in the river. The pub with restaurant a couple of mins walk away. The town centre a 5 minute walk. It was very hot while we stayed there so the desk fan was a welcome relief. Not sure what a motel has to have/do to get a four star rating but in my opinion this wonderful little motel should be awarded that extra star. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Waterfront Wynard to even the most disconcerting traveller. Keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water, we actually requested to be across from the boats but we love to look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear newportaustralia

Thanks for the great review, we really do appreciate guests taking the time to share their experiences with others. We try really hard to ensure guests are happy a and comfortable and it makes our day when we get it right. The water was amazing this year wasn't it? It was a pretty hot summer, so the rooms were a bit warmer than normal, but the flip side was the natural free swimming pool out the front was really warm as well! I went swimming at the beach the most times ever this year, and the water was just delicious! Glad you made the most of the environs!

See you this way again someday hopefully
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed one night over the recent long weekend.

Staff are friendly, room/bathroom clean.

Room was more suited to the cooler weather than the hot weather. No air con, desk fan only. Room was very stuffy and hot, found it difficult to sleep.

Loved the mattress quilt toppers on the last visit, not so much this time around. Found it too soft for me and it tended to make the mattress feel hot.

Breakfast was incl in rate, continental with plenty of choices. Great range of tea!

Will stay again but only in the cooler weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi 2shea

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. The rooms unfortunately are not well designed in terms of cross breeze ventilation, not sure what they were thinking in the 60s, but an unusually hot summer doesn't help much either. We have fans in the rooms as you have mentioned, and I guess for the few days a year it is hot enough to warrant air conditioning its not really worth the financial outlay as it involves considerable rewiring to get enough juice to the rooms to run air cons as well as all the other electrical appliances. Having said that, if we are going to get summers like this years every year we might have to rethink the air cons as it was very warm this year.

We look forward to seeing you again over the cooler months.
Regards
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We only got to stay for one night which was a shame as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Tremendous location and great to see this motel rejuvenated and not destroyed! Staff very helpful and friendly. Our room had an extremely comfy king-size bed (pillow top makes all the difference), beautiful linen, fluffy towels, good coffees and teas, yummy truffles and was spotlessly clean! The bed and cleanliness are my two biggest expectations of accommodation and Waterfront Wynyard met this exceptionally well. The room had a lovely and actually comfy lounge chair, freshly painted throughout but keeping some of the original furniture fixtures. The two folding chairs are such a great idea and novelty - we sat outside during the afternoon and later with a takeaway pizza (lovely from pub) and a couple of glasses of wine and watched the river, bass strait, plentiful birdlife and people walking by and thoroughly relaxed. It is such a quiet beautiful location we wished wecould have stayed much longer. Breakfast was lovely with a varied selection of fresh goodies to choose from, my husband of course opted for a hot breakfast which he thoroughly enjoyed and we also indulged in capuccinno's from the coffee machine - all very reasonably priced extras. Only one gripe and that is the bathroom door was a little dangerous as it wouldn't close properly because the towel rail behind it needs to be moved along bit further - nearly walked into it a couple of times. Overall though we would definitely stay here again! Should be given 4 stars ****

Room Tip: Choose a King Size room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyndyc100, Owner at The Waterfront Wynyard, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear lollipop888

Thanks so much for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, except for the wayward bathroom rail! We will check this out and see about moving it! It's great when people appreciate the little things we do, as we are in the business of making sure customers and comfortable and happy, so if we have achieved this, then we we be giving ourselves a little high five at morning tea today! So glad also you appreciate the value of these kinds of properties, I feel passionate about saving them and not destroying them as I think the motel is an icon of Australia's holiday history worth preserving.

Hopefully we will see you this way again soon.
Thanks again for taking the time write a review of your time with us.

Thanks
Cyndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterfront Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Wynyard

Address: 1 Goldie Street, Wynyard, Tasmania 7325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Wynyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wynyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Waterfront Wynyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at The Award Winning Waterfront Wynyard. Situated on the banks of the Inglis River in Wynyard, this well appointed 3.5 star motel will keep you coming back for more. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, Cable Television, blazingly fast ADSL broadband internet and all the views you can handle. Relax by the fire in our lounge area and read a good book from our guest library. Our onsite guest lounge prides itself on sourcing the best local produce to give you an everlasting taste of Tassie at its best. Breakfast like a king, in our cafe with freshly baked muffins, eggs and bacon on sour dough toast or a hot cup of our Lavazza espresso for a real kick start to the day. For work or pleasure, you’ll be back to stay at the Waterfront, where the only thing we overlook is the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Waterfront Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Wynyard Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Wynyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.