We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leven Canyon

Leven Canyon
Leven River | 42 kilometres (26 mi) from Ulverstone, Ulverstone, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Ulverstone
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
Attraction details
Queensland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were lucky enough to visit this spot after heavy rain and the Leven River was roaring through the canyon, 275 metres below. You arrive at the picnic ground first. This has picnic and BBQ facilities and a toilet. There is also a small area for overnight camping. There are 2 relatively short walks to viewing platforms. These are joined by a hand-made staircase of over 600 steps, and is a very steep climb - or descent. The views into the canyon are breathtaking. It can get very cold in this area so have warm clothing on hand.
Both walks are described as 'easy', which we found was not necessarily the case. In particular, the Fern Walk is not appropriate for the mobility-challenged. It is quite steep, even for a relatively fit person.
But it is a gorgeous spot.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular views into the canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This circuit walk was a highlight of our recent visit to the Cradle coast. It has delightful picnic area with well-built clean facilities. The track is well-formed, making this a relatively easy walk. The staircase is amazing. But the view out from the lookout is truly mesmerizing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Lived up to my Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I first saw Leven Canyon in a Full Page Photo of an old Post Magazine, and there was no way I was going to miss the opportunity of seeing this spectacular spot, and take my own Photo, which I did. Unfortunately I did the walk on my own, (not advisable ) and heading back went off the track and ended up on the side of a very scarey drop. I was fortunate to back track safely, but very shaky. This was a long time ago and I imagine the Tracks are probably better marked now days and not many would venture off on their own.. It is a Beautiful Spot as is all Tasmania. Judy P

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Must do both top and bottom return walks. Well worth it. Simply spectacular. Top section has picnic and toilet facilites.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The walk is an easy walk, and the viewing deck overlooking the cayon is stunning...There is also a longer walk but is harder on the knee,s

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leven Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Leven Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leven Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.