We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Homestead” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redcliffe House

Save Saved
You added Redcliffe House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redcliffe House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   13569 Tasman Highway, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Swansea B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Homestead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A great, delightful place to stay. Gail and Nigel are wonderful hosts, with nothing too much trouble. The rooms are comfortable and the breakast cooked by Nigel was excellent.
We will certainly stay there again when visting the East Coast of Tasmania.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in the Garden room for one night while touring Tasmania. The bathroom is tacked onto the back and is very pokey. Quite strange when the bedroom is so spacious and well furnished. In saying that, I only spent 10 minutes in there so it was no great impost. The room was tastefully furnished, the bed was superb. It was the most comfortable bed I slept in while in Tasmania. A very relaxing stay and a well presented breakfast from Gail to boot..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What can we possibly add to other reviews? This was a lovely stay with the most delightful of hosts. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, and with lots of nice extra touches, and breakfast was excellent.
Nigel sent us out hunting for wombats down by the river but all we saw were their burrows - but it was a beautiful place to be walking in, as was the garden.
In our 8 weeks in Australia we did not stay anywhere better.

Room Tip: The Garden room is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe13569, Owner at Redcliffe House, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
To hear something so kind makes us very happy.
We are glad you loved our delightful garden room.
Maybe next time for our wombats.
Cheers G&N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Travelling as a group of five adults, we were greeting by Gail and Nigel for our overnight stay. Redcille House is located about 1km from Swansea - in a wornderful rural setting (complete with turkeys, elderly dog and pet lamb. All rooms were beautifully decorated and each had its own ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and generous. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room is a good one - but the two on the ground floor are something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcliffehouse, Owner at Redcliffe House, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks Guys.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Cheers Gail and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay there. Gail and Nigel were very gracious. Super good hot breakfast!
Location is ideal for exploring the coast including a trip to Bachino to see Penguins. It would be nice if they could allow use of the kitchen for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcliffehouse, Owner at Redcliffe House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.
As Redcliffe House is our home, the kitchen is part of our private residence and could not be utilised by our guests for their own use, this is why we keep it as a Bed and Breakfast only.
Most people do not want to cook while they are on holidays anyway, and besides they would miss the lovely food on offer in Swansea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Gail and Nigel were wonderful hosts to stay with and could not do enough for you! Great gardens (and comes with a pet lamb), awesome breakfasts (bacon butties, scrambled eggs, and home made bread) and lovely rooms. Great spot to use as a base from where to check out the East Coast of Tasmania. Gail and Nigel Give great advice and insights on where to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hospitality plus! Beautiful surrounds with extremly comfortable and well designed rooms, Gail and Nigel were fantastic . We will definatley stay agin on our next trip. Breakfast every day was lovely, and Gail had a wealth of knowledge of the local area. We were so glad to have found this little beauty. See you soon Gail and Nigel.

Room Tip: Our room was a lovely french styled room, We were traveling with another couple and one more friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Redcliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcliffe House

Address: 13569 Tasman Highway, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redcliffe House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Redcliffe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcliffe Hotel Swansea
Redcliffe House Swansea, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redcliffe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.