We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Gorgeous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meredith House and Mews

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Meredith House and Mews to your Saves list
Meredith House and Mews
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Swansea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Gorgeous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

My partner and I had stayed at the Meredith House for 2 nights while visiting East Coast of Tasmania. We had decided on booking the Meredith House after reading some fantastic reviews on the place and the place has definiltey lived up and exceeded our expectations.

The breakfast which is provoided in the morning is absolutely FABULOUS. There's the super juice (my favourite), banana smoothie, fresh fruits, museli, toast, crossiant, muffins and the fully cooked breakfast. Also, thanks to the chicks in the garden, the eggs that were used in our breakfast were all fresh.

The only slight disappointment was that we had initially booked into the Heritage Spa Suite, however, on arriaval we were advised that as they were upgrading the TV in all the rooms, the TV in the Heritage Spa Suite was not yet ready and therefore were offered Spa Queen Studio instead at a better price. We really didn't mind as we are sure we will be back one day and will get another chance of staying in the Heritage Spa Suite.

Neal and Noel were both fantastic, they had definiltey made the stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    75
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
225
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed at Meredith House and Mews for a couple of nights. We chose to stay in one of the 'Mews' apartments and were very happy with the accommodation.

We had checked out the website before hand and knew there was port on arrival - (I was expecting a small glass for each of us) - there was a carafe full!

The mews apartment had a balcony at the back leading into the most gorgeous and tranquil landscaped gardens we've ever seen. The gardens were simply stunning and so well maintained. They were full of native plants thus attracting native birds. The gardens were magic. We spent hours in them. Lush lawns, sweet smells and birds singing. Heaven.

The breakfast was hearty. So much food to choose from. The banana smoothie is to die for although the bacon was a little fatty.

We loved staying at Meredith House. The hosts were so friendly and helpful. Free parking directly out the front of the apartment.

Only one small complaint... We booked a room with a spa and unfortunately both the spa and the bathroom sink were unsanitised. There were rings of pink bacteria around the bathroom sink taps, sink hole and around the spa jets & water outlet.

Might be also good to note that the tap water in Swansea is not fit for consumption. Best to boil & filter your water first although the hosts at Meredit Mews provide plenty of chilled and room temperature water safe for consumption.

Overall we had a fabulous time at Meredith Mews. Lovely tranquil and serene place to stay. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this review, November 25, 2009
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay but concerned about the spa and bathroom taps. It is our intention to provide a clean and safe environment for our guests and wish that you had pointed this out to us when you were here. As you stated our water comes straight from the river and is not filtered in any way which means that it sometimes has a high level of silt in it, this unfortunately causes the brown staining around the taps. We have, as a consequence of your comments, reviewed our room sign-off procedures for the housekeepers and will be ensuring that this doesn't happen again. We hope that you will come and stay with us again, if only to check that we have kept our word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Stayed here in July 09 with my husband and 5 year old son. The hosts Neil and Noel were absolutely lovely and couldn't be more helpful. We stayed in the downstairs suite which had an open fire and spa. Room was spacious, nice linen and the room was tastefully decorated with antique style furniture, very cosy and comfortable.

The best part of staying at Meredith House was the breakfast. As well as the usual bacon, eggs etc to order, there was porridge, crossiants, muffins, the most divine stewed fruits, breads, jams, cereals, the list goes on. As well as orange and pear juices, there was even home-made fruit juice with ginger and even banana smoothie!

There was a knock on our door in the afternoon with home-made chocolate cake and donuts, YUM! Quite unexpected and a nice touch.

The house itself is well situated with views of the bay and walking distance to shops etc.

I'd definitely recommend Meredith House, we LOVED it! Thanks Neil and Noel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Wonderful hosts, clean rooms, breakfast's fit for kings, We stayed in the Mew's Studio's ,and we had all the privacy we needed.

Neal & Noel were the perfect hosts,we will go back again.
Well done Guys.*****

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Hosts, Neil & Noel were the best hosts one could hope for. Great cooks too! Our room in this delightful 19th Century house was beautifully decorated in the heritage style with an added benefit of a small ensuite! The breakfasts are to die for! Included in the reasonable price. Fruit juices including a mixed celery,orange, carrot one, fresh fruits, figs, peaches and blueberries, plums, prunes, yoghurt. Fresh muffins served at the table where also was fresh croissants. Homemade bread cut for toast and served with sausages, bacon, mushrooms, egg and tomato. Tea was in a lovely glass teapot.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

Compared to all of the places we stayed on our recent quick trip to Tassie (we only got to visit for 10 days this trip) this was far and away the best.
The reasons our stay in the Mews stood out was primarily due to the service provided by Noel and Neal. We were given a tour and quick run down on the room, and given the locals advice on the restaurants - what was good, in which price range and which we could hope to visit (unfortunately one of the best was closed the night we were there). The other reason this was the greatest was the breakfast that the other reveiwers have commented on. The food was great, perfectly cooked hot breakfast, great selection of cereal, juice, fruit, croissant, home made muffins. Neal and Noel even managed to find a high chair for a little girl (7 months old) and something to keep her entertained whilst we enjoyed our large and yummy breakfast. Next time we would love to be able to stay for a longer visit and have already recommended a stay in the Mews to a few friends and anyone who will listen

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

My wife and I spent a few nights at the Meredith House in December 2008. Overall we were pretty pleased with our experience there. The location is very good. The house is on a quiet street but you're just a block from the main road through Swansea, so you can easily walk to any shops or restaurants in just a couple of minutes. The house and rooms are comfortable and cozy.

Our hosts at the house were quite good and obviously keep themselves quite busy running the place. Breakfast in the morning was quite a production. In addition to the fruits, breads, and cereals on the buffet they come around to take your orders for hot breakfast items as well. The bathrooms and showers were small but functional. There are ample books and boardgames throughout the house for the guests to make use of. A computer on the upstairs landing offered free (albeit slow) Internet access. There is a small car park along the side of the house.

Overall we had a good experience at the Meredith House and found it to be an excellent base of operations for exploring Swansea and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meredith House and Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meredith House and Mews

Address: 15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meredith House and Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meredith House is a heritage listed 1853 property located centrally in the beautiful seaside town of Swansea on the east coast of Tasmania, the perfect base from which to explore the Freycinet Region and all it has to offer, including Wineglass Bay and Maria Island. 11 en-suite rooms, four with spa bathrooms. Full breakfast is included in the tariff. Meredith House is renowned for its excellent service; we were voted the Peoples Choice at the 2006 Tasmanian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Meredith House and Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meredith House And Mews Swansea, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meredith House and Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.