We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An East Coast standout with exceptional service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meredith House and Mews

Save Saved
You added Meredith House and Mews to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meredith House and Mews
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Swansea B&B and Inns
Hobart
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An East Coast standout with exceptional service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hosts go out of their way to do that bit extra. On arrival fresh muffins and a warm welcome .. plus a good restaurant recommendation (Salt and Pepper). The Mews room had a delightful petite yet private verandah overlooking a rose garden. The room is a good size and the bed comfortable. Rooms are clean . The bathroom has a shower but no bath. The shower curtain is not quite up to the task of preventing the floor from getting very wet. Breakfast is excellent and the baked porridge a delight. They even provided the recipe. What was amazing was that an a group of english tourists indicated that all that was missing for them was some black pudding... In a trice it arrived. That is pretty good. And we were all given a doggy bag to take a few more muffins for the next stage of our journey. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    51
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
145
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nayland, Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were in unit 1 which was quite spacious, comfortable beds and quiet location. Coffee and tea making facility with fridge and sink. The tv was good and a heater was also available in the room which was useful as it was quite cold. The bathroom was a bit outdated and the shower made the floor very wet as the shower curtain didn't seem to be very effective. The breakfast was superb and kept us going all day. The two little Westie dogs were very friendly and well behaved. Our hosts were very welcoming and gave us advice on what to do in the area. We could park right outside our unit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

There is everything you could want from a B&B. Great breakfast, amazing Bircher muesli and juices (though our eggs were a little hit and miss, everything else was superb), really nice and helpful hosts, prime location within walking distance to many great restaurants (we recommend salt shaker, a new restaurant down the road), a beautiful garden, a comfy room with everything you could want, including a small fridge and freezer... Even two lively West Highland White Terriers to make your stay even more enjoyable.

If it wasn't already clear, we loved this place, and really highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Mews, which slept 3 comfortably. It had a l
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night last month and our big regret is that we didn't have time to stay longer. Our room was in the Mews section and apart from being a little small we couldn't fault it. Our hosts Noel and Neil (and Lulu and Dougall) were great and the breakfast had to be seen to be believed. The choice was overwhelming and the quality as good or better than we've had anyway. It was only our second visit to this part of the Apple Isle but we certainly hope it won't be as long between visits next time as it is a beautiful area. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed there and was recommended this place due to the superb breakfast! Homemade juices were tasty and the Bircher muesli and compote the best I've ever had! Perhaps better espresso type coffee rather than bland filtered type wouldn't go astray!!

Just a few minor glitches in what would have been the ultimate stay: more bottles of shower gel, tea, coffee and biscuits not topped up at all during length of stay. Also light fittings were extremely loose and quite dangerous. Had to read in bed at night using my iPhone torch as I didn't want to get electrocuted !
Nevertheless, I would certainly return just for the delightful breakfasts and the hosts' hospitality!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I was disappointed, if not surprised, to hear that your room provisions hadn't been replenished during your stay; if anything we tend to be over generous in this regard, so I have taken this matter up with our housekeeping staff, so that this is not repeated. As for the dangerous electrics, our property is subject to an annual electrical inspection, knowing which room you were in would have helped, which is why we ask people let us know if the have any concerns while they are here and then we can address them immediately. We use a very good brand of filter coffee, and get many favourable comments abut it, if your particular taste was for espresso coffee we could have serviced your specific request had we been asked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A beautiful property, well located, excellent attention to detail and a lovely brekky. Neil is a warm and friendly host and Noel is.........well Noel is Noel.

One piece of advise I can give is..... WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT ARRIVE BEFORE YOUR 2PM CHECK IN!!!! Nuff said!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the one near the back door that bangs each time someone comes in and out, sorry don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your compliments. I'm not sure which door you mean, although I suspect it is actually the back door at the neighbouring property, which does slam shut, and despite our requests it has not been fixed, so there is little more we can do about it.

The check in time is set at 2 p.m. because this allows us enough time between check-out and check-in to clean and service the rooms, but like most systems it fails when the human element is added.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I spent 2 nights at Meredith House. I had booked over the internet quite a while before I left the UK. Just before leaving home Neil or Noel emailed me to let me know that they would be out when I arrived but would leave me details as to access Mews unit. The unit was great with a little verandah overlooking a lovely garden.
Breakfast was excellent and enormous. i was given a plastic bag so that I could take the uneaten muffins with me. Neil and Noel are excellent hosts.
I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meredith House and Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meredith House and Mews

Address: 15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meredith House and Mews 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meredith House is a heritage listed 1853 property located centrally in the beautiful seaside town of Swansea on the east coast of Tasmania, the perfect base from which to explore the Freycinet Region and all it has to offer, including Wineglass Bay and Maria Island. 11 en-suite rooms, four with spa bathrooms. Full breakfast is included in the tariff. Meredith House is renowned for its excellent service; we were voted the Peoples Choice at the 2006 Tasmanian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Meredith House and Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meredith House And Mews Swansea, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meredith House and Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.