We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstandingly well run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meredith House and Mews

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Meredith House and Mews to your Saves list
Meredith House and Mews
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Swansea B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstandingly well run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise Meredith House was. We booked it somewhat out of desperation because we planned our trip late and it's peak season, but couldn't have been happier with the place. The owners' attention to detail and general thoughtfulness (my girlfriend was delighted by the gluten free breakfast options) was evident throughout and it was the perfect place to unwind after three nights in a tent.

We would certainly come back if in the area again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we certainly try to meet peoples requirements, so the gluten free breakfasts are easy to do once we know they are required, which you were good enough to request when booking. Thanks you again and we hope to see you in Swansea in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    58
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
170
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Neal and Noel are the most wonderful hosts that we have met in our travels. We stayed with our young children and they were made most welcome and the hosts certainly made a lasting impression on them. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was somewhat small but no smaller than some European hotel rooms which we have stayed in. The breakfast, as mentioned in other reviews, is a highlight with great detail in preparation of cereals, fruits, juices and the hot breakfast ingredients were so fresh. We hope to stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy to accommodate families and hope that they enjoy their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is basically a B and B hotel, but these guys really know what the customer wants. Great rooms, wonderful extras like fresh cakes on arrival, decanter of sherry in room, and a wonderful breakfast. They also give up the spare rolls and cakes from breakfast to the guests to help them on their onward journey. Swansea is lovely, and if u r going there, look no further than Meredith House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macneal, Owner at Meredith House and Mews, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your very positive review and recommendation; we enjoyed meeting you and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way through to Port Arthur. The warm welcome from Neil, Lulu & Dougal set the tone. This included home baked muffins and a play with the gorgeous pooches (Lulu & Dougal) there is a guests sitting room which is beautifully appointed including complimentary sherry. Very nice!

A beautifully restored 1800's home, but with all the mod cons including:
- Free wifi
- Large plasma TV in our lounge
- fabulous selection of DVD's in our room
- LCD TV in bedroom
- hair dryer
- good bathroom products

All this topped off with a magnificent home cooked breakfast complete with a lovely (large) basket of pastries which you are encouraged to take with you.

Gorgeous.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The room I stayed in looked way better than the photo I had seen. It was beautifully decorated, soft fluffy linens and lots of them, comfortable bed, big tub with jets, and real coffee with a french press!! Neal and Noel (hope my spelling is correct) are great hosts - so nice and helpful. Not only do they make these great muffins and pastries for breakfast, they give you a little to go bag so you can take the leftovers with you for later in the day. Breakfast was just amazing and Noel was kind of enough to just make me simple scrambled eggs. There was also porridge and some other hot oatmeal or something that was delicious, fresh fruit and juices - a feast really to keep you going all day!
If you are traveling from Hobart and plan to spend some time in Richmond and/or other stops along the way then I recommend you spend at least two nights here. This would then give you a full day to really see and experience Freycinet.
Swansea is small but sweet and they have a nice long beautiful beach. A two night stay wilh Neal and Noel at Meridth House will be relaxing and good for the soul!
Thank you to both of you for making my stay comfortable and delicious!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had one night here and all the good things said about Meredith House are true. The building is historic so expect a few creaks and groans but it is beautifully appointed, clean and spacious. The hosts are fabulous and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. We were greeted with freshly baked muffins and a genuine welcome. The breakfast is amazing - lots of selections, freshly prepared and high quality. All in all a lovely place to spend a night or two.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We loved our recent stay at Meredith House. Noel & Neil, our hosts provided every service and the breakfast was to die for! Rooms were pretty as well as being clean and comfortable with good ensuite facilities. Plus it's a convenient spot to stay if you're visiting Freycinet.

Room Tip: Our room was the front north east room - great view & sunshine in the morning. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meredith House and Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meredith House and Mews

Address: 15 Noyes St, Swansea, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Swansea
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Swansea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meredith House and Mews 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meredith House is a heritage listed 1853 property located centrally in the beautiful seaside town of Swansea on the east coast of Tasmania, the perfect base from which to explore the Freycinet Region and all it has to offer, including Wineglass Bay and Maria Island. 11 en-suite rooms, four with spa bathrooms. Full breakfast is included in the tariff. Meredith House is renowned for its excellent service; we were voted the Peoples Choice at the 2006 Tasmanian Tourism Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Meredith House and Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meredith House And Mews Swansea, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meredith House and Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.